My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Tanka Moment: Spring Thaw

17 Comments

geese-tanka

This is my first attempt at Tanka  poetry. I hope I followed all the “rules” LOL.

Wishing you are all a wonderful day and here’s hoping that spring is arriving where you are. What a renewing time of year! :)

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

17 thoughts on “A Tanka Moment: Spring Thaw

  1. I don’t know much about the tanka form, I’m afraid, but this is just gorgeous. Did you take the photo? I love it. Amazing that part of the lake is still frozen over. Very nice!

  2. I so love when the rain comes! Nice poem, Geraldine! Thanks.

  3. A gorgeous capture of the ‘seam’ of winter/spring. Lovely!

  4. Such an amazing photo of the battling seasons. Love the line, “Winter’s debris now in view.” Great poem! :)

  5. Hi G,

    I love that poem, and the picture fits it perfectly!

    Thanks to the intro to a new (to me!) type of form poetry. My poetic moods, rare that they are, express in form poetry like haiku. I’m glad to have another option like Tanka to work with!

  6. I’ve never heard of tanka. I’m going to try it! And I like the combination of your poem and the picture.

  7. Hi Selma, This is an archive photo I had, actually taken in the province of Saskatchewan where we previously lived years ago. It is a lovely photo isn’t it? I’m glad you enjoyed my words to accompany too. :)

    Hi SandyC, Nothing like April showers eh? Coming soon…

    Hi Sue, What a great word to describe this transition. Thanks Sue.

    Hi M, It was rather fun to experiment with this type of poetry. I’d like to keep working on more tanka poems and hopefully I’ll get better at it along the way.

    Hi Beth, Glad you enjoyed it Beth. Nice to “see” you again.

    Wishing you all a wonderful weekend, G

  8. Hi Ruinwen, Your comment got “stuck” in the spam filter for some reason. Glad you enjoyed the poem. I like that line in particular too! ;)

    Hugs, G

  9. Lovely words, describing the image perfectly.

    New Prompt & Prompt News Post

  10. I love this tanka poem. lovely :)

  11. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    This post is getting daily hits in recent weeks. A lot of people waiting for the big thaw to begin!!! Happy Spring. It’s on the way. :<)

  12. Good day Geraldine, what a nice tanka sure a nice one … and this was your first attempt? Awesome. I am hosting a daily haiku meme at http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com and at that weblog I have several other features. For example ‘The Tanka Shrine’ it’s a feature about Tanka and the goal is to write an all new tanka inspired on a given Tanka. As I was preparing an episode of the Tanka Shrine I ran into your wonderful Tanka … and I took the freedom to use it for that new episode of ‘The Tanka Shrine’. If you don’t want that please let me know …

  13. Lovely tanka… Hope I can do it justice in an inspired tanka.

  14. Pingback: Carpe Diem tanka – Harbinger of spring | Björn Rudbergs writings

  15. Pingback: Carpe Diem Tanka Shrine: “Ice slowly recedes” | Writing To Be Noticed

  16. Pingback: Carpe Diem Tanka Shrine: Ice Slowly Recedes | consciouscacophony

  17. Pingback: Ice Receding | purplepeninportland

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers