My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

In Praise of Getting Older

16 Comments

We all gripe about getting older, at least some of the time.

But what about all the good things that come along with aging?

Letting go of the trivial things and people in life.

Forgiving our “mistakes”  and wrong turns along the way.

Standing up for our beliefs and convictions.

Being unafraid to stand alone, if need be.

Giving insecurity the shove that it deserves. Right off the radar. ;)

Finding out the difference between mere intelligence and wisdom.

Seizing each and every day!

Accepting ourselves, warts and all.

Accepting what we can change and what we can’t.

                                         

It’s my list and I’ll take it! :)

Please DO add your own praise for getting older in a comment!

**

Also written for the One Single Impression prompt: Insecure

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

16 thoughts on “In Praise of Getting Older

  1. this is excellent and so true. interesting photo too.

  2. I,’m 53, have no intention of looking 35, I’m curvy, and I like my body, I eat what I want, I do what I want, and I don’t lie. I can stand for myself with honour, discretion and wisdom. I’ve finally recognized master manipulators, and they can’t harm me anymore. I’ll stand alone because I like to. I don’t need companionship, although an occasional visit is nice. I know who I am despite what some have decided I’ve become because of my breakdown but I feel no need to explain myself or make myself understand I am who I am and my only wish is to get even nicer (if it is at all possible) and I love my sense of humour,and I think Geraldine rocks

  3. Beautifully written Geraldine. Love the photo also, it was just made for your words.

  4. PS: I forgot to include one of my own pluses for getting older. One would be finding out that there’s always things to look forward to, no matter what age we are at. That’s a nice feeling.

  5. i think in getting older we gain perspective and understanding that make slife a bit easier and get a little closer tot eh rhythm we are supposed to live at…ha…really great picture…

  6. Hi Joe, Thanks and I do agree re: the photo. When I saw it over at Flickr, my first thought was: perfect! :)

    Hi Lorraine, Sounds like you are feeling good about where you are at in life and who you are. That’s a great place to be. And thanks for the lovely compliment!

    Hi Teri, Thanks so much! Are you stopping in at OSI this week?

    Hi Joe, Thanks for adding that plus! Yes, there is always something to look forward to or there should be, at any age. That’s what keeps us going and getting us out of bed every day. ;)

    Hi Brian, Yes, and it’s an ongoing process, I totally agree.

    Happy Week, G :)

  7. Great words. I’d add a more mature humour to the list.

  8. I agree….wise words!

  9. A perfect poem for getting older! It’s great being able to do what you want and toss insecurity off the radar!!

  10. A lot more patting comes with age. Seats on the bus or tube too. Doors opened for you and deference in ques also.

    It seems to me that the aged go extremes on feeling either secure or insecure as shown by there exhibit of degree of confidence in the task or subject at hand.

  11. I cannot but agree more! Old age is God sent golden years!

  12. Hi Tony, I like it! ;)

    Hi Sandra, Thanks Sandra.

    Hi Robyn, Welcome to MPP. That line is my fav in this poem. Being shy, insecure…all those emotions that can cause so much despair when we are younger, gone!!! Not every day for me yet but for the most part. I love it!

    Hi Jim, I’ve always had men holding doors open for me so I guess that will just continue now. ;) LOL I think good manners are a part of living in a civilized world, at any age. I agree with your second line completely. The secure route is always so much better. If we can’t get more secure as we age about ourselves, when?

    Hi Harshad, Golden years, the best….that is so nice!

    Happy Week, G

  13. wonderful Geraldine…for me it is an evolution of all that you said above… mostly loving my life just as it is, not feeling an urgency to fix formerly perceived imperfections… embracing the good in myself and everyone.

  14. It is easier to tolerate people and recognize those that you can easily love.

  15. Hi Vandana, Welcome to MPP and thank you!

    Hi Laura, Excellent points Laura, thanks for sharing.

    Hi Lisa, True Lisa and what a lovely way to put it. :)

    Happy Week and Weekend, G

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers