My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Return

20 Comments

the return
Cottage in the woods.
You draw me, ever closer.
Vision of my dreams and longings.
Softly soothing;
sweet childhood memories.
 
Recaptured innocence, wonder and peace.
Beckoning.
Calling from years long past.
Summer’s sparkling, halcyon days.
Simple, yet wiser ways.
                                   
This solitude brings no sadness.
Only retreat from the madding crowd.
Long overdue.
Painfully delayed.
 
I will open my/your heart.
With key in hand.
Deed in pocket.
To rest, renew, remain.
 
The return.
Captured, blissful reality.
Savored, treasured completion.
Fully and finally gained.
     ***       
                                  
“The Return” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
From the poetry collection: My Poetic Path. Selected Poems 2000-2010
Also submitted for the OSI prompt: Peace
Photo: courtesy of Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

20 thoughts on “The Return

  1. Beautiful photo and beautifu poem!!

  2. I love this poem. So peaceful and tranquil. Great photo too.

  3. This is extraordinary m’dear, everything I’ve wished for, you’re a star

  4. Beautifully done. Tranquillity all round.

  5. One needs a place to feel that peace we all crave.

  6. Simultaneously earthy and breathy. Beautiful work. Very effective.

  7. Hi Teri, Thanks for your kind comment.

    Hi Joe, It’s actually one of my favs from the traditional poems I’ve written. :)

    Hi Lorraine, You’re a star too. Thanks sweet L ! :)

    Hi Tony, We can never find enough of that can we?

    Hi Lisa, When I’m feeling stressed, I often picture a place in a forest like this. A Walden Pond of sorts to contemplate…

    Hi Ron, I love your comment, thanks so much. :)

    Wishing you all a week of peace and good things, G

  8. I like the opening of heart to renew and rest at last ~ Lovely share ~

  9. lovely light in the photo, lovely words too

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  10. oh what a wonderful place…cool picture….and i would love a retreat to a place like that it looks so magical….renewal indeed…

  11. a wonderful place for solitude!

  12. A perfect place for solitude and peace – I would love a cottage in the woods. Nicely written.

  13. from time to time we need some space and place to hide from the crazy world.
    afterwhich we are renewed :-)

    happy new year

  14. yesterday my computer didn’t work luckily my brain child, my son who’s working and studying (last semester alleluisa) into we design fibxed it for me, but I expect like the previous one that this too one day will just stop and erase everything, I know this ’cause even since I was child whether I wore a watch or be around anything electrical it blew. A gift? I think not..I can’t wear a watch and anything electrical that I’m near and that I touch eventually stop working. It’s that darn chemical imbalance in my body and for those who believe it’s invented, let me wear their watch for a few days, it will never work again……

  15. Lovely image and concept. Those of us who have such a place are fortunate indeed.

  16. Hi Grace, Thanks for the lovely comment Grace.

    Hi Juliet, This photo seemed to fit exactly the picture in my mind that I had, writing this poem. I was lucky to find it at Flickr at the time. :)

    Hi Brian, wouldn’t we all!

    Hi Robyn, I agree. Nice to see you again.

    Hi Rae, Thanks so much. I’d love a place like this too. Maybe my poem will help to manifest it? ;)

    Hi Totomai. So true.

    Hi Lorraine, Sorry about all that Lorraine. Maybe you should read this poem for a little respite from the computer woes. ;) Hope you enjoy it, if you do.

    Hi Aprille, Welcome and thank you! I love the spelling of your name. April is one of my fav. names.

    Happy Week, G :)

  17. totally blissful and such a peaceful feeling , just by reading your words !
    The image was right on .. much captivating :)

  18. I loved it sweetie can’t you see my first commet? You responded to it ahahahh

  19. Hi Ladynimue, Thanks for your lovely comment, most appreciated.

    Hi Lorraine, I usually only read up to the last time I commented on the list when I have a lot of comments (smiles) and I missed your first one when I mentioned this. You still seemed a bit stressed so maybe a re-read was a good suggestion anyways! ;) We can never have enough peace can we? I like the typo for comment in your second one anyways, gives it a whole new dimension, out into the great beyond maybe!!! LOL, I’m in a good mood, can ya tell?

    Happy Week, G

  20. I know this longing for peace. What a beautiful poem.

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers