My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Attic Tales

15 Comments

attic pic to use

Treasures, memories and secrets.

They all abide here.

Left to languish in a fine mist of dust.

What stories these walls could tell.

                                                                                                           

Steamer trunk:

Fragile love letters.

Entwined histories, tied in a scarlet ribbon.

Now for someone else to read, to ponder.

The faint, still lingering scent of lavender.

Petals: pressed between pages.

                                                        

Dolls in their finery.

Dresses, trimmed in satin and lace.

Delicate linens, lovingly embroidered.

Jewelry from star-lit nights.

Faded photos of smiling, hopeful faces.

                                                                                    

Dainty, rose-pink teacups.

Tarnished, tiny spoons.

A book of Grandma’s favourite recipes.

Conjuring up her kitchen.

Reading between the lines.

                                                          

The old attic.

A restful place on hurried days.

Transported from a sunny afternoon.

To another place and time.

Communing with the spirits.

Some, still left behind.

♥♥

Written for the March 10th Woven Dreams prompt: Attic

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

15 thoughts on “Attic Tales

  1. Geraldine, this was so lovely and made me nostalgic. Just beautiful! Oh…I like the attic prompt. I’ll have fun with that one :)

  2. I love this Geraldine. We were on the same page but you said it so beautifully. Your attic sounds like my childhood one, and looks like it too. :)

  3. Wonderful poem and capture! :-D

  4. Magical poem. Attic is a great prompt. Gives you a feeling of nostalgia.

  5. Oh I wish I had an attic where I could sit and dream and reminisce.

  6. This will be my favourite forever, where’s your link and why oh why won’t it show my photo?

  7. Hi Talon, I think you did have fun with this prompt, loved your interpretation! :)

    Hi Teri, Great minds eh? I love attics and thought it would be an interesting choice for a prompt. So cool that you can share a sketch too!

    Hi Jackie, Thanks so much.

    Hi Joe, Ahhh…thanks a lot.

    Hi Lorraine, I just tried my link and photo, worked fine. Maybe try again for the photo if you’d like, your link is working fine though. :)

    Happy Sunday, G

  8. oo dang…will have to work this in later this week….for me it was my grands basement…man it was sucha treasure trove…so much to excite the mind in going down there…those places do channel the sprits for sure…smiles.

  9. What a beautiful and magical image of days gone past. You conjured up such lovely reminiscent moments and treasured memories in your poem. Hugs! :)

  10. What a wonderful attic and what a lovely, magical poem! And the photo matches it perfectly! :-)
    Have a great week!
    xoxoxo

  11. This filled me with so much nostalgia…thank you :)

  12. What a lovely attic…I’ve never actually see a house anywhere down here with a real attic…could you imagine the treasures.

    Jen

  13. Hi Brian, Sounds like you had a lot of fun down there. ;) I hope you’ll share some of your memories with us over at Woven Dreams. And yes, the spirits do remain.

    Hi Ruinwen, thanks dear friend. So glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Vesper, I had quite a time finding a suitable attic photo, thought it would be easy. Loved this one from over at Flickr and I do think it goes well with my poem. thanks so much for your kind words and xoxoxo back to you. :)

    Hi Keith, I’m so glad!

    Hi Jen, I think attics like this are rather hard to find, unless you live in an area with older homes that haven’t had a lot of renos upstairs. Again, when I was looking for a photo I saw some AMAZING rendos for attics that were so beautiful. But I like the ‘before’ pic in this case, most of all. ;)

    Happy week to you all, G

  14. Lovely poem – it conveys so well the quiet of items stored away and forgotten, yet those items could probably tell such tales if only they could speak.

  15. This is a beautiful poem, Geraldine to a wonderful prompt. Every word here is a visual image of all that we see in the ‘attic’. Your poems are beautiful. Love them all.

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers