My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Tanka Moment: Budding Spring

21 Comments

bud tanka

Written for the March 24th Woven Dreams prompt: BUDS

Happy Spring! :)

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

21 thoughts on “A Tanka Moment: Budding Spring

  1. Amazingly beautiful especially to one buried in snow…ww

  2. I wish. We have thick snow to welcome spring. Methinks they’ve cancelled spring this year! Lovely picture though.

  3. very cool….we have buds on our trees….but snow in the forecast for this weekend so i hope they will be okay…i will be glad when spring arrives for good…

  4. Gorgeous, Geraldine! Pink blooms are my favs :) I’m glad someone is getting Spring! :)

  5. Hi Lorraine, Oh how you’ve been pummelled with snow down East, this year! I hope it’s over soon. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Val, Oh, it will come. Under that snow, things are beginning to happen. ;)

    Hi Brian, Sounds promising Brian. Yes, for good is what we all need!

    Hi Talon, This is a file photo Talon. It’s not quite that spring-like here yet but there is no snow except high up on the mountains. That usually lasts into April.

    Happy Spring and Hope to See You at Woven Dreams tomorrow to keep the spring thoughts blooming! G :)

  6. oh i love how the world changes with spring arriving and the parks are full with people, scents and sound again… our trees have buds already but it’s a freezing cold day today

  7. The photo is beautiful and your Tanka poem goes with it perfectly. Like spring bursting with color, scents and sounds.

  8. Snowing here today. Can’t wait to see all of these buds. Great tanka. It makes me hopeful.

  9. we did not get the snow….thank goodness…still might get a bit tonight, so i am soaking it up while i can….

  10. Your tanka made me happy for spring!! Love it.

  11. Hi Claudia, I do too. It’s a ways to go here though but temps. are expected to hit the double digits here this week so buds should be popping up and open soon. ;)

    Hi Joe, I hadn’t written a Tanka for quite a while, this beautiful file photo inspired me!

    Hi Lisa, I’m not sure what state you are in Lisa. I know you’re not alone though. So many places still covered with snow. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Brian, Soak it up and enjoy Brian!

    Hi Teri, Thanks so much Teri.

    Happy Week and Happy Spring, G

  12. That is a beautiful photo of the blossom. I wish I could believe it was Spring though. The weather is certainly not behaving like it is here.
    Maggie x

    Nuts in May

  13. Spring is such a refreshing season!! I love it! You put it sooo nicely.
    We are enjoying ours, it comes in stages. Some are leaved, others still budding.

    ‘Great Minds.’ :) They ran together today, to the tanka world. I like yours.
    ..

  14. joy radiates in words and colour

    much love…

  15. Your poetic verse brings alive the images and pictures of a beautiful spring to unfold before us. :)

  16. a lovely spring sonnet
    so happy that you have buds….
    congrats on the kindle, i know people do love them.

  17. Hi Maggie, You’re not alone, that’s for sure! So many people still talking about lots of snow where they are.

    Not to rub it in, but we had a glorious sunny day here in BC, with temps in the double digits. Smiles were everywhere! ;)

    Hi Jim, Seems to be the week for lots of Tanka poems, how cool is that. Great minds indeed. ;)

    Hi Gillena, Thanks for your kind words and spring-like prompt!

    Hi Joyce, I’m so glad. I love Tanka poems, I enjoyed writing this one too.

    Hi Tammie, Thanks Tammie. Yes, I’m lovin’ my Kindle, never even planned to own an ereader but it’s been such a positive experience to date, having my new Kindle.

    Happy Week, G

  18. What beautiful words and colors you paint in a world of white and gray. I will keep hoping for Spring. Hugs! :)

  19. Spring is a special time of growth and renewal. After a cold winter, we wait in anticipation. I enjoyed your poem, it got me thinking of the seasons changing.

  20. What glorious pink! I could look at it the whole day. Thank you!

  21. Hi Ruinwen, So many people still blanketed in snow! :( It’s definitely time to shed the warm woollies and bring on the warm, sunny days! Hope it get’s there for you soon. Hugs back to you my friend.

    Hi Rob, It certainly is all about growth and renewal. It’s already budding and warming here in BC, but Spring tends to show up quite early here. :) Nice to see you here again.

    Hi Vesper, I love pink, I was happy how this photo came out too! Thank you, for all your encouragement and kind words, it means a lot!

    Happy Wednesday, G

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers