My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Miracle of Sleep…zzzzzzz!

17 Comments

classic ched 7

Mr. Cheddar really knows how to power-nap! :)

Unfortunately, I’m no stranger to lack of sleep or insomnia. :(  A very common problem apparently.

Not only does insomnia rob us of feeling our best the next day, it also takes away the many, many benefits of what happens to our bodies while we sleep. 

Here is one of many articles online about the benefits of a good night’s sleep.

When I do have a poor sleep at night, I try to fit in a nap during the day.

Naps can also be beneficial, you can read more about that here, including some do’s and don’ts for naps.

Here’s to getting our nightly requirement of zzzzz’s! ;)

Also posted for the June 2nd Woven Dreams prompt: Insomnia.

PS: On a completely unrelated topic, is anyone else having problems with WordPress, when trying to changing font colors?

Example: I tried to change the text showing in grey above to black, several times (and I did save the draft) and it kept reverting to grey. This only happens on a sporadic basis but it’s a pain!  Why they have grey as a default font color, I will never understand. :(

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

17 thoughts on “The Miracle of Sleep…zzzzzzz!

  1. Mr. Cheddar knows the secret of getting some decent sleep! :)

    I’ve always been a napper. I tend to be a night owl (just the way I’m built, I think) and napping keeps me sane!

  2. I can see that Mr Ched has NO problem with insomnia!!! He is so curled up in dreamland I had to look twice to see where his head was.
    I won’t be able to play tomorrow, darn it. Road trip again.

  3. Ched is a great napper but when he’s up he’s really up.

    Insomnia is not good, I don’t like it when you have a sleepless night. We all need a good night’s sleep.

  4. I used to have sleepless nights and would worry that I might fall asleep and be late for work. Later in life I kept telling myself that it didn’t matter if I was late for something… and that cured me. Psychological?

  5. To sleep like a cat can you imagine…..anywhere anytime, I love it

  6. Lucky Mr. Cheddar! A little cat nap has gotten me through many afternoons!

  7. I find if I work hard; I sleep hard. Clearing my mind at night helps too. If I have too many thoughts I will take a flower essence and do a puzzle; that always focuses my mind on something else. Hugs! :).

  8. ha. my cat could sleep anywhere…but at night that is when he prowls and gets in his trouble…while we try to sleep…until we have to break it up…lol

  9. I love naps – they get me through the day! I wish I could curl up like a cat but if I did I would get locked in that position and would need assistance getting out of it! Unfortunately, I will not be participating in this weeks prompt due to several health issues that are ganging up on me so I gotta take a break. I hope everyone has a great week ahead. :-D

  10. Hi Talon, I tend towards being a night owl too, although I know it’s not the healthiest route to go. But I agree, naps are the way to go, if we need to supplement our nightly zzzzz….

    Hi Teri, Isn’t this an adorable photo! My idea of complete and blissful relaxation. Ched sends a headbonk to his US Auntie and we both wish you happy trails! :)

    Hi Joe, Insomnia can be very draining I agree. :(

    Hi Val, Oh, that is interesting Val. Perceptions can help I lot, certainly did in this case, I’m glad! :)

    Hi Lorraine, They are lucky aren’t they? Are your cats big on naps? Ched sleeps quite a bit but certainly not the 2/3 of time that they say most cats do, I’d say more like 1/2 or even less. He’s an active boy!

    Hi Robyn, Me too!

    Hi Ruinwen, That’s my downfall on many a night, too many thoughts racing through my mind. I usually get up and get busy on the computer or reading my Kindle until they pass. Good advice about the flower essence, thanks dear friend.

    Hi Brian, When I had 4 cats, they were often up and prowling around in the darkness, it was kind of cool actually, a little feline security force LOL. ;)

    Hi Jackie, I’m SO sorry to read about your health issues Jackie. I know you just made a big move, sounds like you need time to regroup and reenergize. I hope you feel a lot better and very soon. Take care and come back to Woven Dreams when you can.

    Happy Week, G

  11. Thanks Geraldine! I’ll be fine it’s more of an annoyance and inconvenience than anything else. Extreme weather changes make my body go completely nuts. Thanks again, your kind words are very much appreciated. :-D

  12. I hear you about insomnia — it is quite irritating!! But the kiddos don’t seem to have that problem … they are expert nappers as well!!

  13. I wish I could sleep like Mr. Cheddar. :) I also have insomnia and sometimes it is too much coffee in the day, or just like I said in my poem, my ‘brain will just not shut down.’ Then, I will lay awake for hours and try not to think about anything, but sometimes cannot help but think of some idea forming in my head for a future post, or story.

  14. Hi Jackie, A big change in environment is a factor too I’m sure. And I hear ya, re: the extreme weather. :( I hope you’re feeling much better and very soon. Take care.

    Hi Becca, Kids and cats, the ultimate nappers! ;) And you certainly have lots of cats napping where you are, don’t you Becca!

    My thoughts are with you during the difficult time you are going through. You take care too.

    Hi Joyce, I don’t drink regular coffee anymore so that does help. I don’t mind a night where lots of creative ideas come to mind. It’s the nights where I have sad or frightening thoughts that I could do without. :( But as I mentioned at your blog, I’ve noted quite a few of my blog pals up and on their computers, late late at night, when I am too. Maybe we should start an insomnia chat room. :)

    Happy Week and Sweet Dreams, G

  15. I’m all for napping…kind of doing a little of that lately, Boo got us up at 4 am again…Mr. Cheddar, any suggestions?

    Jen

  16. I love you Mr. Cheddar!

    ALOHA from Honolulu
    Comfort Spiral
    ~ > <3

  17. Hey there, Geraldine!

    Just wanted to follow up with you about the cure to my insomnia. With mine, the cause was more spiritual than anything else. I mean, I was getting an average of 2 hours sleep a night, and I was a walking zombie for a long time. No kidding! My wife was the one who suggested that I should pray about it. Once I did that, I felt a heavy load lift off my shoulders.

    The other thing I now do is use a half-hour prep time before going to bed to allow my body to wind down. During this time, I dim the lights in my bedroom, get my PJs on, and wash up. Making the bed really helps a lot too because somehow my brain begins to call it a night as soon as I do that. By the time I hit the sack, I fall asleep right away only waking up seven hours later.

    I might suggest to try different things. A friend of mine had a bad habit of playing video games before going to bed. Then he’d wake up 3-4 times a night wondering what was keeping him up. I read somewhere that the brain needs triggers to get it to release its chemicals that would put the body to sleep. Bright lights is a no-no. That would include staying away from laptops, computers, TVs and other devices before going to bed. Kindles are fine, since they’re not backlit unless it’s the Kindle Fire. Another friend of mine had always turned on the news before going to bed. Guess what? Bright light, brain awake.

    I’d also suggest chronicling food intake and sleep patterns. Some folks eat heavy before going to bed and wonder why they’re up all night. Some eat too little and they’re up all night too. So, a food journal helps narrow down the causes and effects. And you know, sometimes it’s something as simple as eating diet pills laced in caffeine. How much caffeine? Some of the medications have the equivalent caffeine content of 12 cups of coffee in one table.

    Anyway, let me know if any of this stuff helps. I should have just made this another blog post! :)

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers