My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My Two Favorite “Summer” Books

8 Comments

Every summer, I re-read these two books.
They are two of my all-time fav books and perfect for summer reading.
Here are my mini-reviews of these classic summer/beach reads:               

The Quest for an Authentic Life

Beachcombing at Miramar by Richard Bode.

I bought this book several years ago and after reading it once, proceeded to immediately buy numerous copies to give away as gifts. I was that impressed.

One close friend carried this book around in her purse for weeks. When she needed a ’stress break’ she would pull it out to enjoy a peaceful page or two. Another friend stayed up all night, not able to put the book down until the last page was enjoyed. I can relate, it really is that good.

For me, this was a life-changing book and one that touched me deeply.  The story of Richard Bode’s journey from the rat race to a peaceful and contemplative life on a California beach at Miramar. A dream that for most people remains just that. Bode went for it. Gave up his high-paying, high-pressure job and left behind the life he had always known (including a marriage that wasn’t working any more) to find himself. To live out his dream of a life filled with meaningful and one- of- a -kind “memory” days.

Beautifully written, this is a book you will never forget. A rare glimpse and chance to share an extraordinary life transition along with the author. I highly recommend this book to add to your summer reading list. In case you haven’t read it already.

***

Summer's Lease

Summer’s Lease by John Mortimer

If lighter reading with plenty of laughs is what you are looking for; perhaps this next one will be more your cup glass of iced tea…
One of my all-time favorite summer novels is John Mortimer’s: Summer’s Lease

This is the travel journal of an English family. Mother Molly: plump, disillusioned with her marriage and the demands of motherhood; decides to respond to a rather cryptic newspaper ad for a Italian vacation rental. She takes a rather bold step (for her) and rents a “villa” in Tuscany for the summer and so begins the tale…

As one reviewer on Amazon so aptly put it: ” A delicious Italian dish; sun-drenched and garlic-scented novel” .

I won’t spoil the story. If you are looking for a fun, entertaining and well-written summer novel with a touch of suspense, romance regained and even strange water-shortages abounding….. you may want to give this one a try.

I’m looking forward to another visit to Tuscany this summer!

Happy Reading and DO share some of your favorite summer books in a comment.

I’m always on the lookout for a good read, I bet you are too!  ;)

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

8 thoughts on “My Two Favorite “Summer” Books

  1. I fancy the first book, Geraldine, although I haven’t heard of Richard Bode before. Of course, being a lover of all things Italian, John Mortimer’s book might prove to be worth reading. Thanks for the recommendations.

  2. I’ve read Beachcombing at Miramar, a while ago. It’s a good book. I’ll have to give it another go.

  3. PS: Summer’s Lease sounds funny, I’ll have to read that one too.

  4. Thank you for the reviews. They both sound very interesting.
    I’ve stocked up on Edgar Rice Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard and others on my Kindle… I’m ready for the beach… :-)

  5. Those sound like good, fun books. I will make a note of those. I am now reading one of Daniel Silva’s again, The confessor. He writes mainly the espionage, spy and suspense type thrillers which I really get into. But, I do really enjoy some good romance types, like those written and made into movies of Nicholas Sparks. We have most of his. I am a big fan of the Jason Bourne movie and book series too, and have many of those and the DVDs. I like the suspense thriller types with the CIA, Mossad, etc.

  6. Both sound like awesome reads, Geraldine. Going to Italy is on my bucket list…we’re hoping to go next year so I have to read that Summer Lease book to get in the proper mood :)

  7. Hi Val, I think you’d enjoy both of these. Two very different summer reads and both memorable in their own way.

    Hi Joe, You heard all the LOL’s when I read Summer’s Lease, I know you mentioned that. Hope you find those parts as funny as I did. It’s an intriguing story with a lot of twists and turns. Mystery, comedy, travel, family…

    Hi Vesper, Thanks for the recommendations, will keep those in mind!

    Hi Joyce, I’m not really into spy thrillers but never say never. I’m a new convert to Michael Prescott’s books and he writes crime thrillers. He’s such a good writer that he had me hooked in spite of my former book preferences when it came to genres. Thanks for the suggestions. :)

    Hi Talon, Oh yes, you must read Summer’s Lease if you are planning a trip there. The story tells a lot about some famous paintings and places in Italy. Along with a great story!

    Happy Reading, G

  8. Two really great reviews. Summer’s Lease sounds like something Mom would have liked. We once planned a trip to Italy for a school project; it was sad we never got to go. It was one of the places she always talked about. Hugs! :)

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers