My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Understanding Photo DPI

9 Comments

Have you ever wondered how to change the DPI (dots per inch) of a photo and what it actually means? I did!

I’ve been reading a lot of different posts/articles about this topic and happily found this one that really answered all my questions and in an easy to understand, non-techie way.

It’s actually really easy to change the DPI of a photo but there is definitely a right and wrong way to go about it.

If  you click on some of the other topics at  ALL ABOUT PHOTOS  you’ll find a wealth of resources regarding digital photography.

Hope you find this is helpful too! :)

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

9 thoughts on “Understanding Photo DPI

  1. Hanging head in shame… I didn’t even know what DPI was! I like the photograph though, the bike is extra special with the white and yellow design.

  2. very useful tip especially for beginners.

    hope you have a sweet day.

    p.s. love that bike in your header

  3. As a professional photographer, you realize really quick that handling digital files is the same as handling physical photographs – treat them respectfully. Some people have totally destroyed their digital files and that’s always heartbreaking!

    Great advice, Geraldine!

    Hope the sun is shining your way.

  4. Very helpful – thank you!

  5. Looks like a lot of helpful information there, Geraldine. I have often had questions on the digital photography and tech terms I did not know much about. Thanks for sharing the article and website.

  6. Hi Val, Don’t feel bad, a lot of people don’t know what dpi is or if they’ve heard of it, don’t really understand how it works. I found this info. very easy to understand and helpful, unlike some that I had read.

    Glad you like the new header, I fancy having a bike like that. ;)

    Hi Lissa, Yes, good tips, I agree. And a good day back to you.

    Hi Talon, What a good way to explain this and I agree. photographs can be precious things, either personally or professionally. They need to be handled correctly; including when it comes to editing them.

    Hi Jackie, Thanks Jackie! But I’m guessing you already knew all this. ;)

    Hi Joyce, There is a lot of good info. at that site, I agree, not just about dpi. I’m keeping this one in my favs. maybe add it to the writing resources links on my sidebar too, in future. So glad you found this helpful.

    thanks for your comments and visits, always appreciated, G

  7. There’s so much to learn when it comes to digital photography. Sounds like a great website to help with questions. You’re smart to have figured this out but I’m not surprised that you did.

  8. I do but I think it’s good to refresh my memory every now and again. ;-)

  9. It oh good better today couldn’t leave a comment yesterday find this very helpful although I’m not technically inclined from the first time I held a camera I think I was 12 I fell in love with photography and I learned it my way, LOOK LIKE SHOOT but def interesting!!!!! and worth knowing so thank you

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers