My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Scented Recollections

14 Comments

151

Early summer.

That heady scent.

The lilac trees, bursting with blooms.

I stop on the top step before heading to school.

To breathe in the sight and smell.

 

Exhibition week.

Walking through the fairgrounds.

Clinging to a large pink bear.

My dad and I stop for candy floss.

Popcorn and corn dogs, permeate the air.

 

Campfire burning.

We gather ‘round.

Another chorus of the old tunes.

Listening to ghosts stories.

While marshmallows burn on birch twigs.

 

Christmas at Grandma’s

Relatives from near and far.

Gather at the candlelit, festive table.

Savoring all kinds of tasty treats.

From the kitchen, a waft of apple pie.

                                                                                                       

Santa Monica beach

The ocean looms larger than expected.

The furious waves.

Wall of water.

Salt, warm sand and French fries.

  

Last glance in the mirror.

Still avoiding what I know is true, inevitable.

The eyes tell all and mirror the soul.

I touch pulse points with Obsession.

And think about, my current one.

 

Saying farewell but not goodbye.

Arranging the yellow roses I knew you’d love.

Feeling your hands guiding mine.

Sadness mingles with memories of happier times.

I breathe in the scent.

I remember yours.

 

Walking through the fresh snow.

Pine trees and crisp clean air.

Serene, breath-taking beauty.

A stop on the Riverdale Bridge.

Yukon dreams, on my mind.

 

Scented recollections.

Bringing back a time, a place, a moment.

Often more poignantly than words or photos.

Gathered through the years.

Recorded for all time.

♥♥

Written for the June 23rd Woven Dreams prompt: Perfume

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

14 thoughts on “Scented Recollections

  1. Memories captured forever in words. Lovely.

  2. Wow that is quite the perfume in words and photos, I love it!

  3. oo la la…touch the touch points with obsession and think about my most recent one…ha….ah scent def invokes the memories….all it takes is a whiff….

  4. You touched on so many key components of fragrance in our lives, Geraldine, from the bittersweet to the beautiful.

  5. We were on the same page with the lilacs but I love all your scented recollections. Wonderful.

  6. Hi Valerie, Thanks so much!

    Hi Lorraine, So glad you enjoyed this poem L!

    Hi Brian, I married very young and then was divorced for a long time, enough said? ;) Live and learn…

    Hi Talon, I had a lot more come to mind but I thought this was getting rather long as it was. ;)

    Hi Teri, I love lilacs so much. The memory of those two lilac trees by our house when I was just a little girl is so vivid, even now.

    Happy Week, G

  7. Those are all good poems, the memories and perfume, scents, and escence is seen and smelt through all. Just posted mine, too, but also posted another chapter of my story this morning so is the first time for me to post two in one day. :) Not sure which will be enjoyed the most, but probably the roses and Haiku, as my story chapter is maybe too long for some or too boring for others. Ha. Anyway, have a sweet smelling week, Geraldine.

  8. This post is so fantastic! I love it! :-D

  9. Oh how I love the scent of lilacs in spring. What a beautiful beautiful scent. Scents transport us to magical places don’t they?

  10. Hi Joyce, I’m glad you enjoyed this poem. And I am certainly enjoying your novella!

    Hi Jackie, Thanks friend, what a lovely comment. :)

    Hi Keith, So true Keith, magical places and memories can be brought to mind with scents.

    Happy Week, G :)

  11. tiny montages of memories drifting on wind with scent along for the ride… sigh….

  12. and oh btw… love love love yr header…. !!!!!

  13. Love this poem. Brings back memories, how interesting how scent can do that.

  14. Hi Ms. Pie, So nice to see you again, here and at Woven Dreams! And I’m so glad you like my new header, it is kind of fun, isn’t it? :)

    Hi Joe, Our sense of smell is a powerful thing, I agree.

    Happy Wednesday, G

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers