My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Serendipity!

18 Comments

journal and book safe 001

 Find the perfect word.

When it all comes together.

Serendipity!

♥ ♥ ♥ 

In spite of some very hot temps. here in BC during July; it’s been for the most part, a very productive four weeks!

It’s magic when that perfect: word, phrase or sentence comes to mind, isn’t it? :)

Hope you’ve had a wonderful July too.

♥ ♥ ♥  

“Serendipity means a “happy accident” or “pleasant surprise”; a fortunate mistake. Specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it. The word has been voted one of the ten English words hardest to translate in June 2004 by a British translation company.[1] However, due to its sociological use, the word has been exported into many other languages.”

definition courtesy of Wikipedia

 ♥ ♥ ♥ 

Written for the August 4th Woven Dream’s prompt: Serendipity

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

18 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Serendipity!

  1. I’m glad you had a creative and beautiful time off, Geraldine. It is awesome when the words flow like that.

  2. Wonderful interpretation of the prompt! :-D

  3. now if only things comes easily but then we wouldn’t have that serendipity mment.

    have a sweet day.

  4. That one might be a hard one. :) I wondered if you were picking up again with new ‘word prompts’ after returning from a month’s rest. Hope it was restful, and enjoyable. I may post one or two other ones before this week’s word prompt post, but will work on one through the week. :)

  5. WOW creativity simplicity and serendipity, G, that’s awesome…mine is of a different colour, of course lol

  6. oh yeah…dont you love it when it all fall together…like finding that last piece of the puzzle and it all makes sense…smiles…
    glad to be back at wD

  7. Hi Kim, I agree. I had no problem being inspired by this prompt, given how July went here. ;)

    Hi Jackie, Thanks friend.

    Hi Lissa, But if it all came easily all the time, would that be a good thing? I’m not sure. I think part of the magic of creativity of any kind is stretching ourselves to go beyond what we thought we had to offer.

    Hi Joyce, I loved this prompt. I’m sure you’ll come up with something wonderful Joyce! :)

    Hi Lorraine, Loved what you did with this prompt L and thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Brian, So true Brian, so true. I’m glad you’re back at WD too!

    Happy Week, G

  8. I like this word and it’s great how you turned it into a haiku, love it.

  9. The word has always fascinated me although I’m not sure why. Is it the rhythm, the way it rolls the tongue, or the meaning? Guess I’ll never know for sure. What you did with it is GREAT.

  10. Is this not revelation aha moment, when everything come together? wonderful prompt, Geraldine…thanks for visiting my blog! nice to meet you :)

  11. oh; i know that word; what a grand little haiku you put together; have a nice week

    much love…

  12. Just to look at that lovely notebook seems a wonderful inspiration enough… :-)
    I’m glad that you had such a great summer, Geraldine!
    xoxoxo

  13. I love this word and all it signifies. This is a perfect haiku for it.
    I admit I forgot to do the prompt this week, out of practice. lol

  14. Hi Joe, I’m glad you liked it! I love this word too. :)

    Hi Val, And how cool it worked with the 5 syllables for the last “line” of my haiku. ;) That doesn’t happen very often. Thanks for your lovely compliment Val, you made my day.

    Hi Irene, Pure magic at times, I agree Irene. Thanks for stopping by.

    Hi Gillena, Thanks so much Gillena. I love your name btw, don’t think I ever mentioned that before. I’ve never known any other Gillena’s.

    Hi Vesper, That particular notebook is filled to the brim. ;) I’ve got notes, scraps of paper, computer files, notebooks all over my office…for someone who considers themselves to be very tidy and organized, it all goes awry when I’m writing. I just want to get those ideas on paper, any paper as soon as I think of them. LOL

    Hi Teri, Thanks Teri. Speaking of prompts, HUNCH is up next Sunday and it’s yours!

    Happy Week, G

  15. hey great to see you. i’m glad you also had a good break from blogging.
    i love the words of serendipity. this is now my theme for the day, moving forward without expectation and being pleasantly surprised. thanks:) great to see you and cheddar.

  16. It’s always a pleasant surprise when the words come together in a burst of inspiration. Glad to see you back from the brief hiatus.

  17. Love your haiku, Geraldine! It’s hard to believe July has bid us farewell already! Have a lovely weekend! Lauren

  18. Hi Ed, And so great to see you blogging again, you’ve been missed. Serendipity is a wonderful inspiring word, I agree.

    Hi Rae, Thanks Rae, it’s good to be back. I always miss blogging when I’m away.

    Hi Lauren, And how nice to see you again lauren. I hope your project came together even better than expected. :)

    Happy Weekend, G

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers