My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Friday Funnies! ;-) Week 1

10 Comments

Welcome to:

Friday Funnies!

Week 1 

velveeta box

This is a story  (click to watch the news video) that made me LOL this week. I hope it does for you too. :)

Apparently, there is a ‘cheesy meltdown’ happening in the U.S., with a rumour of Velveeta shortages looming.

And with the Super Bowl coming up very soon, that means a possible “dipping disaster” of major proportion for Velveeta dip lovers everywhere!

I must be living a sheltered life (at least in terms of football party snack foods) but I didn’t even realize that people ate Velveeta anymore. ;)

This was a staple when I was a kid.

We loved it on :

Grilled cheese sandwiches, in mac and cheese, or a slice/chunk, straight from the box.

And always cut with the Kraft wire cutter that we got free, from sending in box tops. Anyone remember those???

Not to offend any Velveeta fans, but this is IMO, one strange “food” and far from any cheese that I’m familiar with now. I still remember that strange, rubbery texture and unique flavor. ;)

But apparently, there is a whole new generation of Velveeta lovers who are seriously addicted to this Kraft classic.

Who’d a thunk it?

Goes to show, with enough hype and thanks to Facebook etc. anything can be sold and in HUGE quantities too. ;)

***

If you’d like to participate at:

Friday Funnies!

Leave a comment, with a link back to your own blog post.

Share a funny: story, poem, photo, sketch, quote, cartoon…it’s all good! 

***

A mention of

Friday Funnies!

at your blogs would be appreciated too.

Use the button and link from the top of the sidebar if you’d like to. Easy peasy. ;)

I’m looking forward to reading your funny posts.

And do stop by to visit and enjoy other participant’s posts too.

We can never have enough laughs and good energy! Thanks for  sharing! :)

Velveeta box photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid blogger and vegetarian cookbook author. I recently published the first volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker and my first novel: Third Chapter, Second Chance, a midlife romance story. I am also the author of: Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons and My Poetic Path. When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! :<) I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs. Thanks for stopping by. Namaste!

10 thoughts on “Friday Funnies! ;-) Week 1

  1. lol Velveeta, really? gosh I thought that way gone, my mistake..i always blog before \i read but maybe \i can put something on my animal blog, although Margie’s not back but i’m sure she won’t mind, let me see if can find something funny lol

  2. here we go again stop putting on my photo stuff, it’s on http://Cats,Dogs,andallWeLove@blogspot.com

  3. Since I am a grown up now, :D , I have graduated to a variety of taste, texture, types of milk, and other sundry things in my cheese. Yet there are times when only Velveeta will do. LOL! I did not realize that there was a shortage. Thanks for the warning!

  4. Who’d have thought that Velveeta would have caused such news!

  5. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Geraldine, I LOVED the video clip!!!!

    And I agree with you so much….

    “one strange “food” and far from any cheese that I’m familiar with now. I still remember that strange, rubbery texture and unique flavor. ”

    To me, Velveeta tastes like plastic cheese! Honestly, I find it so gross.

    Thanks for sharing the funny. Enjoyed!

    Have a super weekend, my friend!
    X

  6. Do we even get to buy, [not that I would] that plastic stuff here in Canada? And there is a commercial where they mix it with Rotel? and make a awful looking dip…shudder.

    Never had it, never will, at least I can hope. Velvita shortage…snort…bet they made that one go viral so they could increase sales.

    Jen

  7. Yes Lorraine, Velveeta, strange but true.

    And thanks for your Friday Funnies! post, it was so cute. ;)

    I hear ya Becca, and I’ve grown up ‘cheese wise’ too. ;)

    I was amazed Carol, this story made me laugh!!!

    Where do you post new posts Carol? I took a look around your pages today but can’t figure out where you usually post.

    It IS like plastic Ron, I agree. It has the weirdest texture and flavor too. But we sure ate enough of it, when I was a kid. Can you relate? ;)

    I saw that commercial with the Rotel (what is that stuff, some kind of chilies?) It looked pretty gross to me. But as I said above, seems that anything can be sold, if there’s enough hype behind it! Velveeta apparently is still great, with a lot of people.

    Happy Weekend to All, G

  8. This is a hoot, a great start for Friday Funnies too. I didn’t know people still ate Velveeta anymore either. I do remember it as a kid though.

  9. ha! i didn’t eat velveeta my entire life until my wife made it soon after we got together. now it’s a staple. it’s a treat indeed!:)
    also, congratulations on all your success. you are an incredibly versatile writer. i’m looking forward to getting a kindle myself so i can get some, one in particular, the year of crafts, as my wife is into that.
    wishing you a wonderful 2014:)

  10. Amazing but true, it’s still a big seller, after all these years! But you didn’t have one of those cutters Joe, I’m amazed by that too. LOL

    So nice to see you again Ed and thanks for your kind words re: my writing and books/ebooks.

    You don’t have a Kindle yet?? Oh, you just have to get one, and soon. I’d recommend the Paperwhite or Fire HD, those are the two we have and just love them both. I enjoyed reading your new poetry ebook on my Fire this afternoon, btw! ;)

    A Year of Crafts was published a long time ago, it’s only in print form and probably no longer available except from resellers now. But I have lots of other books and ebooks that are available, all my newest ones are on the sidebar here.

    Happy Weekend to All, G

Thank you for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers