My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Butterfly….

16 Comments

                            
Butterfly….
                       
Finally free to fly again.
Up above.
Far from the troubles and sadness.
This world had been for too long.
         
You are with me…
Day by day.
Tangible.
Your presence stronger than ever.
Your touch, always within reach.
               
As you flit among the flowers and the trees.
Sharing your beauty.
A miracle of grace and rebirth.
No longer sadness, only joy and release.
               
As the spring becomes the summer.
May you bask in the warmth you loved so much.
Skim the lake, savor the scents, seeing clearly.
And being all that you were, once again.
              
Up in the blue, blue skies.
And in my heart.
Forever and unchanged.
Butterfly…. 
You shall remain.
                                                               
Dedicated to my mother:
Helen Ruth Hartman, who passed on in May 2007.
                                        
‘Butterfly’-poem © Geraldine H. Hartman 2008
Monarch butterfly photo © Caroline Brown
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

16 thoughts on “Butterfly….

  1. What a beautiful and loving tribute.

  2. Very beautiful……and touching.

  3. Maybe your mom has more in common with the butterfly than you know. The monarch that leaves its summer home is not the same monarch that actually reaches the overwintering site several months and many thousand miles later–it’s actually the next generation. Monarchs have short lifespans and die en route. But somehow–one of the great mysteries of nature–the 2nd generation of monarchs is guided to complete its parent’s journey. 🙂

  4. Thanks Ruinwen and Michelle, I appreciate your comments very much.

    That’s amazing C. I had read that butterflies (all types) have very short life spans but I was not aware of this particular trait of the Monarch type. That is a miracle isn’t it? My mom has been released and reborn so indeed there are similarities there. Thanks for sharing this.

    Huggs, G

  5. Amazing photo! Lovely poem! What a wonderful tribute! I think the highest honor you can give to your mother is to use your God-given gifts, as you have done.

    Blessings,
    Linda
    Nickers and Ink – poetry and humor

    http://nickersandinkblog.blogspot.com

  6. This is very beautiful. It makes me think of my own mother’s garden. God bless. Wishing you peace.

  7. Beautiful tribute! Beautiful!

  8. Welcome Linda, Sandy and MyBellavia and thank you all for stopping by.

    I have enjoyed visiting your blogs too and will be back to read more soon. Huggs, G

  9. that was very beautiful geraldine.. i am always envious of people who can write such lovely poetry based on nature,, i just do not have any affinity with it,, i would love to,, but i guess in this case the words don’t lie…..

  10. I love butterflies, they are very symbolic too, lovely tribute to your Mum

  11. A loving tribute to your mother. I’m glad you’re receiving solace by creating these lovely words for her.

    Diane

  12. Hi Geraldine,

    Such a lovely idea to start this blog. As you already know I write as well. The clarity of night contest was very nice. I have been writing poetry for many years and have a few I may post on my blog as well. Your poems are very poetic in nature. They speak to the soul on what you are writing about. Each poem one writes tells a different story to whom ever is reading it, sometimes it may be the same story. It is interesting to me to see peoples views on how they breathe in the words.

    Gemma

    http://www.invitationfrom-gnewvegan.blogspot.com/

  13. What a beautiful poem and a great tribute to your mom.

  14. Gorgeous picture and verses!

  15. Hi Paisley, Thank you for your kind words. I am inspired by nature themes. I guess we are all drawn to different topics and that’s a very good thing.

    Hi CGP, I hope my mom agrees. I sensed her presence as I wrote this poem. She loved butterflies, so much.

    Hi Diane, Thank you and yes I did find comfort in putting my thoughts into words.

    Hi Gemma, I totally agree. We all take something different from life’s experiences and our unique interests.

    Hi Jadey, Thank you so much.

    Hi Jason, Thanks for your continued support.

    It’s great to read your comments. Hope you will stop in again, soon. G

  16. touching as the photo… every year these two butterflies come to my garden.. i will think of your mother’s tribute when i see them this spring… my mom passed away a few years ago and this has blessed my socks off and given me great comfort… thank you

Thank you for your comments!

