My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Fog…..

8 Comments

Softening the edges of the story.
Bringing mystery to the land and sea.
Once here, now gone.
Silently experienced, the long cool stare.
Deeply and longingly.
Given up, but with despair.

                                                   
On foggy mornings.
A subtle change in the air.
Awakenings.
Charged with possibilities.
Floating, drifting, inspiring.
We see ourselves in a different light.
Harshness gone, souls bared.

 

                            
On foggy evenings.
Romance reigns.
Return the 40’s of Bogart and Bacall.
Trench-coats and lamp-lit corners.
Stolen kisses and seductive sighs.
Dreams to passions to words.
                 All there.                 
                                               
The fog,
Takes us to another time and space.
A brief, fleeting journey.
Until the next embrace.
Of voluminous vapours and veiled visions.
              The intrigue ours alone, not shared.            
                                                      
The fog,
Often described.
At times and perhaps, at best.
Yet to be captured.
An enigma to remain.

                                     

 

‘The Fog’ – poem: Geraldine H. Hartman © 2008

 ‘Fog at Steveston Harbour’ -photo: Klaas F. © 2008

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

8 thoughts on “The Fog…..

  1. i can tell you don’t live anywhere around san francisco… we just want the damn stuff to burn off!!!!! LOL

    well written and full of graceful images… you had me at bogey and bacall!!!!!

  2. Fog is a powerful companion.

  3. Thank you for writing this one.
    i love fog …and it was beautiful in your poem.
    i loved the description of the 40s and the manner of utterance this poem implies.

  4. Hi Paisley, LOL we do indeed live a long way from San Fran…I don’t like driving in fog, I’m guessing that’s why you aren’t crazy about it appearing. Glad you enjoyed my poem anyways.

    Hi CGP, Thanks for visiting. I enjoyed checking out your blog too.

    Hi Ruinwen, Your comment re: voluminous vapours….should have landed here. Thanks and glad you enjoyed the imagery.

    Hi Jason, I do agree. I love to experience the fog, we don’t see much of it, here in Interior BC.

    Hi Shakir, Welcome and thanks for the kind words. The 40’s is my favorite movie era, last of the true glamour onscreen.

    Thanks for stopping in and sharing your thoughts, G

  5. I really like the 4th stanza. Fog transforms a landscape so completely, it is the closest I can get to travelling through time.

  6. Ooops! The comment above is mine, not Jason’s. I forgot to change the username… wouldn’t want to put words in his mouth, you know.
    🙂

  7. Welcome to the island! Unless I missed you before at some point…lol
    We are looking to move to the west and fog is supposedly rampant there, I can picture it now with your descriptive words!

Thank you for your comments!

