My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Dollhouse

16 Comments

   
                                           
 Little girl…..
Peeks in the window of her very own house.
The dolls, waiting at attention.
Silken eyelashes and glassy bright eyes.
Silent, yet real.
                                  
The tea set, at the ready.
Receiving visitors, you graciously pour. 
Cookies from mommy’s oven.
All shapes of yummy to share.
                                      
Images on a TV screen.
The grainy memories of happier days.
Little girl in white.
Veiled, white gloves and posing in prayer.
The solemn moment passes.
Then laughing, with delight.
                                                                      
Little girl.
More real than ever.
Looking into your eyes.
What do I see?
My soul, my essence, always there.
                                         
Innocence and dreams lost.
Yet you will remain.
Waiting to surface.
To be released.
Little girl to woman.
In the dollhouse of my dreams.
                                                         
                       ****                          
‘The Dollhouse’ -poem: Geraldine H. Hartman ©2008
Dollhouse photo courtesy of: Flickr
                                                             
PS: Submitted to Writer’s Island  as part of this week’s word prompt invitation. This week’s word: Deja vu.
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “The Dollhouse

  1. Lovely! Dollhouse of my dreams – such a poignant and, yes, deja vu-like image.

  2. You have a doll house, I have a garden. We’ll never get back, but I think innocence and dreams are “renewable resources.”

  3. This takes me back to my dollhouse days; they were so real at the time. Lovely image and words.

  4. There is always a little child inside us. This piece conjure up a sense of nostalgia to every grown up girl.

    During my recent home-coming, I am so surprised to find my mother going back to buying dolls. Oh, the child in her resurfacing.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  5. Hi Tumblewords, I’m glad you enjoyed this visit to my past. Loved stopping by your blog too.

    Hi Richard, We might never get back but hopefully we never lose all that made us the children we started out as. I will look forward to visiting your garden too.

    Hi MaryAnne, I’m glad you took a trip back in time via my poem.

    Hi Jeques, That is so touching about your mom.

    Happy Easter and thank you all for stopping by, G

  6. “In the dollhouse of my dreams” – we have all been there, we have all had them, or is it deja vu?

  7. I recently bought toys for kids and along with that I bought two dolls for myself.

    You post took me back!

    Welcome to WI!

    dancing comes full circle

  8. Such a wonderful poem Ger, I know it makes you smile and feel good inside remembering those memories. That’s what good memories are all about.

  9. I enjoyed the poem. It uses nice images. I never had a doll house though, since I’m a guy. I used to play with my cars and toy soldiers. Oh, hours i could fill 😀

  10. that was so visually delightful geraldine… i love doll houses and the fact that you inculcated it into the life of a young girl as she matured made it especially meaningful in this poem

  11. Hi Cricket, I think it’s actually both. Some images from the past just seem to stay with us and continue to be so meaningful. That was the case for me as I wrote this poem.

    Hi Gautami, Glad you enjoyed the trip back in time and I am so glad I found Writer’s Island. Love the ‘prompts’ and all the great writing I’ve been reading over there. Wonderful.

    Hi Joe, So true and thanks dear.

    Hi Manictastic, Glad you enjoyed my work . Dolls or not, it’s still all about the feelings we had when we were young, isn’t it?

    Hi Paisley, Thank you so much. I am such an admirer of your work. Glad you are enjoying mine as well.

    Hi Constance, It appears your comment was for this poem but somehow ended it up in the wrong place. Thanks all the same and glad the reality was there for you too.

    Thanks to all of you for your comments and support and also in sharing your own work.
    I am so glad I decided to begin another blog (in addition to Veggies, Crafts and Tails). Getting back to more creative writing and interacting with such talented writers online, has been a true gift.

    Happy Easter, G 🙂

  12. G, wonderful stuff. I can’t relate to your little girl Doll House because I was too busy climbing trees. Lovely images to remember.

    toujours, whew, I hit the right keys this time-lanie-bd

  13. Lovely post. Poignant and beautifully written.

  14. Beautiful imagery. This line was my favorite
    Veiled, white gloves and posing in prayer.

  15. reminds me of my childhood dollhouse. I like the phrase ‘all shapes of yummy’

  16. Just delightful! I especially like the lines,

    “Little girl in white.
    Veiled, white gloves and posing in prayer.”

    Powerful image and I could see myself as a child in your poem’s setting. Sweet!

Thank you for your comments!

