My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

In My Kitchen

8 Comments

In my kitchen, I create.
Breads to rise and cakes to bake.
                              
Here, I stir…..
Knead and saute.
Spoons and knives, in happy disarray.
                                        
In my kitchen, I am Queen!
Baking cobblers, date bars and other sweet dreams.
                                                    
Soups and salads, lovingly prepared.
With a smidge of spice and a dash of flair.
                                                                                                   
Blissfully, I’m lost….
In heady aromas and tastes.
A world of flavors and delights to partake.
                                                                                     
I am home.
Oh so free.
This truly is, where I am ME!
                                                                                   
The stress of the day is left behind.
It’s time to create, all problems resigned.
                                  
Pity those who can’t boil an egg.
Seeking culinary skills, they will often beg.
                                                 
The chemistry of cooking, a wonder to share.
It’s almost like love, but with calories…
Oh dear!
                                                         
In my kitchen, safe and warm.
A haven…
….’flour heaven’ ?
So glad to be home.
                                               
*
                                       
“In My Kitchen” -poem: G.H. Hartman © 2008
“Potato Raisin Scones” -photo: G. H. Hartman © 2006
                        
PS: In case you are craving a fresh baked treat, right about now, here’s the link to the recipe for these delicious scones.
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

8 thoughts on “In My Kitchen

  1. Can I come live with you? 🙂

    I love homes with warm, well used kitchens. I suppose it reminds me of wonderful “kitchen chats” with my mom when I was young.

  2. I love to cook on the weekends when I can make dishes that take time. I feel like when I rush during the week there isn’t time to add enough “love” into my meals. 🙂

  3. Those scones look good!

  4. Hi Aine and Jason, How about a visit instead! It might be a wee bit cramped LOL. 😉

    Glad this poem brought back some good memories for you Aine. Always great when writing can do that, isn’t it?

    Jason, the recipe link (from my cookbook)for these scones is at the bottom of the poem….so get that apron on and head to the kitchen! I’m assuming you cook???

    Hi Ruinwen, Adding love to all our positive pursuits makes such a difference, doesn’t it? Thanks for bringing this to mind.

    Have a great week! G

  5. looks real tastee… thanks for supplying the recipe.. was wonderin what i was gonna do w/all those potatoes…

  6. Hi Geraldine,

    For in the kitchen I feel the same,
    A place where I can create my own change,
    Visions that come to life,
    Artistry of one’s own domain,
    Endless creations are at one’s reach,
    Satisfaction to the palate of the mind, body and soul,
    A wonderful expression of one’s imagination,
    coming alive in your own home.

    Gemma

  7. Hi G., the kitchen poem is great. I love how you’re connecting your interests of cooking and poetry via your blogs.

  8. Hi Pie, They really are delish! I’ve had several reviews (all good!!!) written about this particular recipe. It’s rather unique for scones, I believe.

    Hi Gemma, Awwww…that’s so sweet! Thanks for sharing your love of cooking too.

    Hi Caroline, It is an unexpected pleasure to combine my love of cooking with my passion for writing. It’s all good, I hope!!!

    Hugs and Happy Cooking, G

Thank you for your comments!

