My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Yin/Yang/Love/Life

13 Comments

                      Taijitu     

  It’s about balance….

The changing seasons of life.
Breath in, breath out.
Expansion>
Contraction<
The circle that slowly goes…
Round,round,round.
                           
It’s about love….
Changing faces/places/spaces.
Who we are and what we give, today.
Is not.
Who we are tomorrow.
We seek.
Shall we find?
Or shall we lose?
Again.
                           
It’s about life….
Choices: made and missed.
Lives with limits.
Far better to be lived,
Fully and finally,
Free.
                                
Are we ever sure?
Can we ever, truly know.
Who we are.
Who we are meant,
to Be.
                                                                       
Yin/Yang, a constant.
As it should be.
As it must be.
Moving life forward.
Relentless….
Coursing through our veins.
Until the last breath that we take.
                                     
Connecting, interjecting,dissecting and rejecting.
Meeting of the minds.
Bleeding of the hearts.
Yin/Yang/Love/Life
                                     
“Yin/Yang/Love/Life” – © Geraldine H. Hartman 2008
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

13 thoughts on “Yin/Yang/Love/Life

  1. Its the mystery of life to know who we are and the only thing mysterier could be how can we be comfortable with what we are…

  2. What a lovely poem. The balance of opposites is ever present yet people only want to see the happy side of life. Without the shadows the light wouldn’t seem so bright.

  3. I like the punctuation, and the wisdom.

  4. i for one need to be reminded of this… i got very used to being young and beautiful and living an easy life as a result of those two very shallow things… it is difficult to fit in,, when you no longer see you when you look in the mirror……

  5. Very good questions, all eternal. A poem cosmic in proportions. Nicely done.

  6. Yin and yang is a constant and yet it exists because of variable tensions between lights and shadows! Your poem beautifully explores that idea.

    Unlike Paisley, I have never felt really beautiful, except through my writing. A mirror has never been a friend of mine.

    And just like Paisley, I need to accept who I am. That’s been a work in progress for most of my life.

    Gemma

  7. Hi Joy, It takes a long time to be comfortable with ourselves (if that ever completely comes to be?) and it is an ongoing, lifelong struggle to reconcile the roads taken and not.

    Hi Ruinwen, Beautifully put, you do have a way….

    Hi Jason, I really worked on the punctuation, wanted to make it a part of the rhythm of this poem, more so than most. Glad the wisdom is there for you too.

    Hi Paisley, The beauty of youth is so fleeting and definitely does not define who we really are. I like myself more now, that’s why I took the plunge and posted the pic. of myself (my avatar photo) with not a stitch of makeup on, for all the world to see. What a liberating feeling it was to click that link that sent this photo out into cyberspace for the first time! And then to be told by so many people that they love this photo of me. You will understand, as a woman, I’m sure.

    Hi Billy, Thanks so much. I like your cosmic travels this week so much! In another vein, of course. LOL

    Hi Gemma, It is indeed a work in progress for all of us. It certainly is a biggie to conquer, isn’t it?

    Thanks for stopping by and for your insightful comments, G

  8. “A meeting of the minds, a bleeding of the hearts.” I really enjoyed your poem. I can relate to paisley to a point. I was the “pretty little thing” for a major part of my life. But unlike paisley, my looks brought me pain instead of the easy life. To combat the unwelcomed and oft times forced attentions of men, I have allowed myself to put on a shield of armor in the form of many extra pounds in hopes of detracting attention. Of course I did not consciously do this, it was more an act of survival, as a therapist once told me. My plan worked, I must say. And now I may never have a meeting of the minds and a bleeding of the hearts. But life will move forward!

  9. This is very wise, very beautiful. You have me thinking of how rare it is to find lovers who do this, who genuinely interact. I think so often people simply stick together because they can. This is a great piece.

  10. Geraldine,
    I really like this poem, it expresses very well I think the crux of life. And especially I feel as a person gets older, the yin/yang experience (ebb/flow maybe) becomes more apparent.
    This has left me with somethings to mull over and I like that feeling – contemplation (?)
    Thanks for putting this up on your sidebar, or I would probably not have come across it!
    Brenda

  11. Although I’m quite late on this, it does serve to show the “perennial” nature of your writing. It was true thousands of years ago, and is still. Good evil, pleasure pain, all extremes experience as if the same. The paradox of always being in balance – no matter how unbalanced we become!

  12. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    This is a poem from the archives that continues to get a lot of page read each week. Thought it was worthy of an encore on the Home page. 😉

    Have a creative and meaningful week, G

  13. Now I’m in balance 🙂 Beautiful written, Geraldine 🙂 Pawkisses for a Sunny Day 🙂 ❤

Thank you for your comments!

