My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My Coming of Age

3 Comments

 
                                                                   
The following is a post, written for my other blog: Veggies, Crafts and Tails  in 2006.
                                                                    
I thought it was a fitting “follow-up” post here; in response to some of the comments re: Yin/Yang/Love/Life. Also to share a small part of my own personal journey. Getting to where I am, for the most part (and thankfully): “comfortable in my own skin” to loosely quote the famous French phrase.
                                                    
I am including the original readers comments for this post as well; some very thoughtful and thought-provoking ones
                                                                                      
Question for the men reading this post: Do you also grapple with your own ‘coming of age’ ? Not in terms of the make-up and hairdos of course LOL, but in other ways? Do share your thoughts on this topic.
                               
                                    
My Coming of Age
                                                                                                     
What does it really mean to  ‘grow up’ especially in terms of our appearance ?
                                                   
I don’t know about most of the visitors to my blog (the women in this case) but it took me a LONG time to like myself and how I look on a daily basis, without the makeup and hair done just right (or at least aiming for ‘just right’).  
                       
                                                                                     

This candid photo was taken a few weeks ago by  Joe. I don’t have a stitch of makeup on, neither does Mitzi LOL… And I actually LIKE this photo (so does my darling Joe, bless him ).

                                                

It ain’t glamorous, I have looked better…. but it’s what this photo represents that is most important to me. To quote an advertising favorite, ‘you’ve come a long way baby’.    

                                                  

Being able to share this photo with all of you, to actually like this photo..yes, I have come a long way.  

                                    

In my younger days, I wouldn’t have taken the garbage out without doing my hair and having at least some ‘paint’ on; NO WAY would I have allowed a photo to be taken.  

                                                     

Perhaps it’s as the French say it so well, ‘to be comfortable and happy in one’s own skin’ (or close to that). I am now, and there   is a satisfaction and peace that comes along with it.    

                                                                                            

Yes, I still love to ‘glam it up’ when the time is right. I’d also like to knock off a few stubborn pounds around the middle, but I’m working on that too. I feel healthy and vibrant (most days!!) and my definition of anyone looking good these days is more about those qualities than anything else      

                                           

Most of all, I am happy to finally be able to love myself for who I am. Even how I look.To appreciate the good things about ME that I am proud of and happy to be, on the inside and out. I am glad to feel I have grown up and grown into who I was meant to be….It took a while but I guess that’s an accomplishment in itself and one that a lot of people never seem to get to or enjoy.

                                     

My coming of age….better late than never. 

                                             

23 Responses to “My Coming of Age….”

  1. on May 10, 2006 at 12:50 pm1 Jamie

    congrats! That is a big step for us ladies to take….like ourselves inside and out. I personally think it has something to do with age. As I get older I care less about what others think and more about how I feel about myself.

  2. on May 10, 2006 at 3:32 pm2 zee

    It is a big step, one which isn’t easy, but getting there is such a blessing! Congratulations, G!

    I’m happy with who I am, inside and out, and also with where I am in my life. When focusing on myself I think more about healthy and fit. Sure, there’s still a couple of pounds I’d like to drop, and perhaps I’m not as toned as I wish, but it doesn’t preoccupy my thoughts. I’m happy all around.

    Still, pictures of myself are not very high up on the list (which is food for thought), and the fact I’m usually behind the camera doesn’t help either. I prefer shooting beauty elsewhere anyway, LOL!

  3. on May 10, 2006 at 4:01 pm3 Caroline Brown

    Ah, it’s good to put a face with your blog-voice. And your face reflects your inner peace and & satisfaction with your life and who you are. You should feel be proud, you HAVE come a long way!

  4. on May 10, 2006 at 5:30 pm4 Geraldine

    Dear Jamie, Zaida and Caroline, Thanks for your comments and kind words…I debated about doing this post but Im glad I did, I think a lot of women can relate, at least I hope so.

    Jamie: Good point about not caring as much about what other’s think…Im still working on that one.

    Zaida/Zee, As always so nice to hear from you, and for your nice comments about me looking good in your email…thanks for ALL your positive feedback.

    Caroline, That’s how I feel too, I would like to put faces to my blog friends, now you’ve seen me, scrubbed clean LOL….Thanks re: the inner peace, its not always there but I hope it will be more often and soon. Im trying!

    BFN, G )

  5. on May 10, 2006 at 6:27 pm5 Kim

    I LOVED LOVED LOVED this post. So intimate. This is a beautiful photo of you (and Mitzi!) and you look so serene and comfortable. I love it when writers post photos of themselves and their families and their homes in their blogs. I myself am not that comfortable yet, but I’m working on it! I applaud you for posting this intimate photograph of yourself and celebrating YOU.

  6. on May 10, 2006 at 7:12 pm6 Geraldine

    Thank you so much Kim, for all your kind words and compliments. As I said in my previous comment, I debated about doing this post but I really wanted to express these feelings and also to find the ‘nerve’ to ‘bare it all’ LOL….in the photo….I know I wouldn’t have a few years ago.

    I LOVE stopping by Carolina Purl. I think it’s cool when you post photos with shades on…..when/if the time is right for you, perhaps you will show up one day sans shades. Either way, you’ve had some terrific posts and I look forward to more …… Have a great day. BFN, G )

  7. on May 11, 2006 at 4:35 am7 Beth

    Geraldine, that is a very nice picture! I posted a picture on my blog a while back, and it was hard for me to do. Funny, by my everyday appearance one would think I don’t care how I look, but I do. I guess I just don’t care enough to do much about it. ) I know that my family and friends love me for who I am, not how I look. That’s a precious gift!

  8. on May 11, 2006 at 12:26 pm8 Geraldine

    Thanks Beth….As I said in a previous comment, it is nice to put a face to a blogfriend, I will have to go over to Felt….and check your pic. out!

    Thanks for stopping by. G )

  9. on May 11, 2006 at 12:55 pm9 Vegan Momma

    You are beautiful. You are definitely at peace. -)

  10. on May 11, 2006 at 12:58 pm10 Caroline Brown

    Thinking about this post some more, I think you should make a static “About Me” page and put this pic on it. This is your thousand words, as they say.

    Something is going on with “Turdpress” on my end, as I’ve begun to call it….it’s doing something funny to your last two comments. Now I can’t see them, and in the sidebar it’s saying they’re made to “test posts” not the actual posts. But anyway, I know you made some comments, thanks for visiting EFG!

  11. on May 11, 2006 at 1:16 pm11 Geraldine

    Hi C….I noticed that too, tres weird, I didn’t think you had deleted my witty tidbits LOL…Im glad they aren’t sending that particular pain in the ….my way so far. What I don’t like about wordpress is how the text can move on its own, when trying to do a new post, that one drives me crazy, I think Im all finished, then all the lines are running together.

    I would actually like to separate the pages, Home etc…not sure how to do this I don’t want to lose my pages, also About, adding photo, good idea
    but I might hold off with more of these changes until I switch to my new blog. Have been trying to find out if I can import my archives to TypePad, so far, no definite answer from the blog gods….
    Thanks for stopping by, G. )

  12. on May 11, 2006 at 4:27 pm12 Caroline Brown

    Oh, now I see you do have an about, it’s at the bottom of the bar. Yeah, maybe when you make the “switch” you can have more features, more pages if you want. As of this minute your comments have been restored on EFG, but they seem to be coming and going so who knows what the problem is.

  13. on May 11, 2006 at 4:46 pm13 Geraldine

    Maybe we should start our own blog hosting service…what do you think Caroline??? We know all the ‘bugs’ to work out, after our WP adventures, what do you think??? Nah, maybe not, wouldn’t have time for the good stuff, like cooking and gardening and reading and blogging and knitting etc…….LOL
    Ive been on this computer too long already I think!
    BFN, G )

  14. on May 11, 2006 at 4:54 pm14 Lanae

    What a wonderful post! I’ve been trying to be more *comfortable* (dress, in my skin) and not wearing “paint”. It’s a terrific feeling when you look in the mirror and realize you are beautiful just the way you are (and what a relief not to have to stress about it so much)!

    You and Mitzi are beautiful!

  15. on May 12, 2006 at 5:09 am15 Veggie Guy

    I love this photo of my two beautiful girls.

  16. on May 12, 2006 at 5:32 am16 email friend Elaine

    Geraldine I have watched and listened to you since you first started your blog. I remember how anxious you were about starting it. Your integrity and sincerity
    has come shining through. The picture of you and Mitzi is such a telling picture, peaceful and confident. Your blog has given you the venue you needed to help you live with your stress. Congratulations, please give Mitzi and yourself a big hug.

  17. on May 12, 2006 at 12:41 pm17 Geraldine

    Dear Joe, Thanks for being so sweet, always. Huggs, G and M )

    Dear Elaine, Thanks for your kind words, compliments and encouragement, very much appreciated. Yes, blogging has been great, for more reasons than I expected. Part of the fun is ‘meeting’ so many interesting people along the way. Hope you will continue to stop by. Hugggs, G and M. )

    PS Mitzi meows….thanks humans!!!

  18. on May 12, 2006 at 3:54 pm18 Tania

    Geraldine,

    This beautiful post brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and joy, and for inspiring me to continue growing and learning to appreciate myself for who I am. Joe and Mitzi are very lucky to have you in their lives!

  19. on May 12, 2006 at 4:07 pm19 Geraldine

    Hi there Tania, Your comment almost brought tears to my eyes! Thank you so much, appreciate your kind words very much. You are a very talented and caring person ( I can tell from reading your blog) all the people who share your life are very lucky too!!!

    BFN, G )

  20. on May 12, 2006 at 5:46 pm20 Tanna

    Terrific coming of age…and I think we only get there by coming of age. How long we keep that teenage image of I’m not _____. Have you see the poem “When I’m an Old Woman, I shall wear purple…” written by Jenny Joseph. It’s beautiful and so are you!

  21. on May 12, 2006 at 5:47 pm21 Tanna

    Terrific coming of age…and I think we only get there by coming of age. How long we keep that teenage image of I’m not _____. Have you see the poem “When I’m an Old Woman, I shall wear purple…” written by Jenny Joseph. It’s beautiful and so are you!

  22. on May 12, 2006 at 6:24 pm22 Geraldine

    Hi Tanna,Thank you for your kind words. I located the poem you referred to, thought I would share it with Veggie…readers. Some thoughts to ponder, about being wise and free enough to be just ME, that’s for sure. BFN, G )
    PS I love the word wisdom…..covers a lot of ground. Here’s the poem:

    Warning

    When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandles, and say we’ve no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
    And run my stick along the public railings
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
    And learn to spit.

    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
    Or only bread and pickle for a week
    And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street
    And set a good example for the children.
    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

    But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

    Jenny Joseph

  23. on May 13, 2006 at 4:03 pm23 paperclips

    funny how what really matters isn’t somthing you can buy or really can get outside of yourself. A simple concept that is hard, for many, to get! Great pic & great message!

    ~Heather

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

3 thoughts on “My Coming of Age

  1. this was a beautiful piece of yourself you shared with us here today… one thing i want to mention,, in my experience,,,, just about the time i got comfortable with how i looked in the raw so to speak… i started getting visibly older,, and once again,, the insecurities and poor self image set in… so i am in the process of struggling with tat now… i am hoping this too shall pass…

  2. It’s no wonder we have a hard time liking ourselves when we are criticized from very early childhood for almost everything we do … and then teachers start to whip us into discipline by barking at us all the time … and then the modern world is geared toward superficialities. It’s a wonder any of us find a “good place,” but I loved the story about this part of your journey. The activities you mention in your blog sound like they ground you. In my book, you’ve found heaven 🙂

  3. I love this! And I love your photo. True beauty comes from within…and your zest of a life well lived truly shines through this pic. 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

