My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Money!

12 Comments

                                        
“I don’t care too much for money.
Money can’t buy me love.”
                                            
“Give me money, that’s what I want.”
                                                        
“Money don’t get everything it’s true, what it don’t get, I can’t use.”
                                             
The Beatles sang about it.
Even they couldn’t make up their minds up, about IT.
                                                        
If money is: “the root of all evil”
Why are?
 so many EVILS…
…the result of,
the lack of:
           
M-O-N-E-Y.
                                   
Money +
      
+Choices
+Options
+Privilege
+Status
+Security
+Control
+Changes
+Insulation
                                               
Money – 
          
-Greed
-Unkindness
-Unlawful
-Out of control
-Risky Business
-Risk of Business
-Stagnation
-Isolation
                                                    
“It’s only money.”
                          
Well….
I’ve been with the haves +
And, the have-nots
I’d much rather have it,
than not.
                                             
What does $$$$ represent to you?
                                                       
                                   
“Money” – Geraldine H. Hartman © 2008
 Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

12 thoughts on “Money!

  1. Money is an energy like any other. It can be pure and good or evil and vile…but it depends on the intent of the individual. That’s why I strive for Financial Serenity. Money comes in and out of our lives but it is how we treat it that makes the difference. Pax. 🙂

  2. Geraldine, This is thought-provoking. I think enough money to be modestly comfortable is a good amount. Money isn’t evil in and of itself, of course. It’s knowing what enough is, as in all things.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Money represents freedom for me.

  4. The meaning of life and all it’s expressions,
    Is different to each holding hand,
    What I see that may bring me light,
    may not be the path you choose to ride,
    but the truth behind the things we have,
    the things we need to live, love, and grow old,
    becomes stagnent and an unpaved road,
    if the truth we see has harm to it’s ending,
    the light will not rise and the story will grow cold,
    for what we do with the necessities of life,
    represent where we will go,
    what we will find,
    the people around us,
    to live happy,
    or a lie,
    for me the happiest things money can not buy,
    I want to be comfortable and have a nest egg
    so I am warm and dry,
    but in the end,
    one can be their own best friend,
    or the enemy you see,
    thought provoking yes,
    the meaning is many,
    but the paper is just paper,
    and in then end you have only your soul,
    your heart,
    your mind,
    to guide you,
    yes, you need money,
    some of us will have more walls to climb,
    more woes because the green is denied,
    you do the best you can,
    and pray and hope for the best in the end,
    But how you see anything in life,
    comes in many forms to the different eyes,
    Life has many circles,
    if you reep evil,
    that is what you sow,
    Good or bad
    look in the mirror,
    through the eyes of the soul,
    what is your door,
    only you know.

  5. i too have had it and not… and now i have just enough to survive and none to squander,, but i have more time than money at any given moment… and i am more or less contented at last….

  6. Money itself is not the “root of all evil,” it is the Love Of/For Money, i.e. greed, that is the root of all evil.

    Money…..well, if I have it I can share it, so I’m better off having than not having! 🙂

  7. Money can’t buy happiness!
    OK
    Give me the chance to prove it!

  8. Hi Ruinwen, Good points R. Money has such a personal influence in each of our lives, in this world anyways.

    Hi Sandy, Glad you enjoyed this poem. I was amazed by the number of comments at your blog, well done! You have such a loyal readership.

    Hi Jason, You’ve got that right Jason, spot on!

    Hi Gemma, Wow, that’s quite a comment. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on money and beyond. Are you considering starting a writing/poetry blog too?

    Hi Paisley, Good to hear. I’m still of the opinion that a bit more than we really need, of the ‘greens’ is always a good thing. When the ‘rainy days’ arrive and ohhhhh….they do, it’s nice to have a sizeable ‘cushion’ to get through a rough patch. They can last a lot longer than expected.

    Hi Michelle, Yes, sharing is one of the best parts of having a surplus. I’ve always been a generous person, I truly do love to give gifts, helping out someone in need, etc….again one of the pleasures of having money.

    Hi Steve, And welcome. Sounds like you might have a blog post percolating on this subject…. I will look forward to reading your thoughts on money too.

    Thanks everyone for stopping by, G 🙂

  9. sad part about money is that its neither everything nor nothing…

  10. Hi Rambler, Looking at that another way; perhaps that could be considered a + at least it seems that way to me. G

  11. Very provocative post, G. Like grass, money is always greener on the other side. Back when I had a lot of money, I didn’t have any time. Now I have a lot less money and I still don’t have much time. But the time that I do have is under my control vs. someone else’s control. Right now it seems like a fair trade but I bet when I’m retiring I won’t say that.

  12. You must be Canadian! I grew up there, so I recognize the currency. Graphically itt’s much “prettier” than US dollars. :~D

    I believe that the Biblical reference says it’s the “love of money” that’s at the root of all sorts of evil. However, your observations that it’s the “lack of money” that creates evil is profound as well.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    e-Mom @ Chrysalis

Thank you for your comments!

