My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Thoughts at Twilight

14 Comments

dscn1152

                           
Twilight…
The day, whispers: “goodbye”
As the earth turns towards.
Another horizon.
                      
The sun sinks slowly past.
The brilliant cobalt line.
Day returns to Night until…
Night returns to Day.
                           
To capture this moment.
Recorded in memory; suspended in time.
The beauty, the sadness.
Often, an empty place.
                           
If such beauty can exist.
If only for the blink of an eye.
How can our inspiration fail us.
Or fail, to bloom?
                                 
Awestruck, lost in the majestic colors.
The magic skies.
Heavenly music for the senses.
Between the day and the oncoming night.
                                                     
Sienna skies, crimson red, glorious hues.
Lovingly burnt to perfection.
We stop and stare.
For a moment, lost in prayer.
                       
Our twilight times.
Life, the years, the dreams.
Passed but not lost.
Beyond this horizon.
                    
Twilight…
Becomes you.
And will,
Be come….
You.
 
    “Thoughts at Twilight” poem and photo © 2008        
 Geraldine H. Hartman
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

14 thoughts on “Thoughts at Twilight

  1. Awesome photo with the most beautiful words to accompany! This is truly a wonderful piece of work. Bravo!

  2. oh that is a beauty… i love photos that overwhelm our senses… very creative the way the story unfolds… it is a wonderful surprise…

  3. This poem is inspirational and indeed ‘How can our inspiration fail us’? I love the word play at the end as well.

  4. I like the play of words and perception in that last stanza, which brings all of this wonderful poem together like a sweet dream. God bless.

  5. Stunning. I glean much of my inspiration from nature and the beauty that surrounds us. I often personify day and night too and I love how your day whispers ‘goodbye.’ Brilliant piece!

  6. “Sienna skies, crimson red, glorious hues.
    Lovingly burnt to perfection.”
    Love those words.. Beautiful picture…

  7. Lovely thoughts and promises.

  8. The brilliant cobalt line…I like the painting in those words.

  9. I am awestuck at the beauty of that photo. Lovely poem. Sienna, crimson and cobalt are wonderful hue discriptors that evoke memories of sunsets past. 🙂

  10. Hi Billy, Thank you for the kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed this poem and the photo. Your work continues to inspire me.

    Hi Pie (Sorry, your first name escapes me right now), Isn’t that the best part about writing, when a poem or story unfolds as we write or type it. The last stanza did just that.

    Hi Watermaid, I am so glad you did!

    Hi Sandy, Thank you so much.

    Hi Selma, Thank you for your wonderful, complimentary comment. Much appreciated.

    Hi Gemma, I love using a lot of colorful, visual terms in poetry, this photo certainly was inspiring to do so.

    Hi Tumblewords, They are indeed.

    Hi Jason, And it was from my own dabbling in painting that this line came from.

    Hi Ruinwen, Glad that the poem and photo struck a chord with you. Hopefully, lovely memories of sunsets past, too.

    Thanks so much for all the compliments and encouragement. 🙂

  11. The poem and picture remind me of our trips along the Oregon coast and the many sunsets we watched.

  12. The elements work in harmony together achieving perfection. It gives a certain quietude, and soothing ~ both the words and the image ~ like a balm to the soul.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  13. Awesome photo! I like the repetition of twilight! Sorry to get here late!

  14. you make it sound so beautiful.. and yet i find myself scared to death of ever being there for the “twilight” of life…

Thank you for your comments!

