My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

PS: ( The Lady of ) the Night Train

13 Comments

I really enjoyed writing The Night Train.                    

It was wonderful to read your comments and emails and know that I had rather skillfully built the suspense into this work. I think we all have our personal favs. in terms of what we write.  This for me was also a story very close to my heart and one I had planned/hoped to write about for a long,long time.                                  

The blue-eyed lady on the Night Train  was in reality: my beautiful mom, Helen.

Our family has been connected with the Canadian railways for many, many years; my grandfather was an executive with the CPR. Travelling by train was the classy way to go, in those days. My mom and her immediate family took many a trip, via the trains and they travelled first class, with “all the trimmings”.

Personally, I still love train travel; I’m just sad to see so many of the lines no longer in use.

But I digress….The man (don’t recall his name, or even if my mom  actually ever mentioned it) was heading to the oilfields of Alberta. He did indeed “check out” my mom’s shapely legs; watching below the curtains of his berth, as some of the passengers along the way, embarked the train that night. My mom was headed to B.C. for a vacation,from her home in Manitoba.

They subsequently met the next day and than had a romance, much of it via written correspondence, after their ‘chance’ meeting on that train.

I don’t know all the details but he did eventually ask my mom to marry him but she declined.

I wonder where this man ended up? He certainly gave me, via my mom’s recollections, a great beginning to a mysterious romantic interlude, to write about and share.

If you are familiar with long-distance train trips, you will understand the mystery and romance of rail travel, even now. Not the same as during this elegant period of the 40’s but still a special mode of transportation.

It’s not always the destination that’s all important, is it? It’s can also be about ‘getting there’.

Thank so much to all of you who commented on this story. 

And now the mystery of the Night Train is revealed…….      

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

13 thoughts on “PS: ( The Lady of ) the Night Train

  1. oh how absolutely wonderful to know it is a true-ish story… i loved it when i thought it was purely fiction… and i love it even more now…

    i just came from the dollhouse,, and on the page that is linked to from PWB,, there is no comment button… just wondering about that…..

  2. What a lovely postscript. I wonder what happened to that man. It’s so wonderful to know that stories like that can actually happen in real life.

  3. Wow, I’m even more mesmerized that it’s based in truth. And also that you chose the man’s perspective. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  4. What a super story! If possible you just breathed even more life into your “Night Train”. 🙂

  5. Oh no wonder I didn’t guess who it was. What a lovely surprise though. And how wonderful of you to honour her by writing about her in this way. Lovely.

  6. I love to hear the background of a work of art. What a wonderful story! So glad ypu posted it!

  7. Hi Paisley, I’m so glad you enjoyed this story. Of course for me it was very special to be able to write about a true experience that was close to my heart. I loved this story when my mom told me about this train trip and subsequent meeting. Tres romantic! 🙂

    Hi Selma, As a friend of mine put it so well, ‘without romance, what would life be?’ I agree and also that it’s great to realise that it happens all the time in ‘real’ life and adds magic to our lives. Sometimes for a long time, sometimes not. Always memories, never forgotten.

    Hi Jason, You are so kind ! Wow, I am flattered by your comments. I thought I’d stretch myself a bit and write this from the man’s point of view. Glad to hear that I struck a chord with my readers.

    Hi Ruinwen, You are such a dear R! I am glad to read this too. 🙂

    Hi Diane, Glad you liked the story, I know my mom enjoyed it too. We were so close, our thoughts still connect, almost daily. Ever present.

    Hi Billy, Thank you for all your encouragement, most appreciated.

    Glad you all enjoyed this PS to the Night Train. I am so honored to have such wonderful, talented people stop by my blogs. G

  8. Great story, I was half right–I guessed it was your mom and dad. much more mysterious to think it was a nameless stranger.

  9. Thank you for filling in the “rest of the story”. A true sign of a wonderful piece you have written is when those reading want to know more!

  10. Way to go C! You certainly were on the right track. Speaking of my dad, I don’t think he ever heard this story. 😉 Somehow, I don’t think he would have enjoyed it that much.

    I totally agree Cricket. It’s been so gratifying to read the great comments about this story. Truly inspiring.

    Huggs, G

  11. One of these days I would like to ride on a train!

    My dad (who is 90 now) worked in the office of the DL&W (Delaware, Lackawanna & Western) Railroad back in the 50’s.

    As kids, we would go “downtown” (in the village), sit on the bank by the tracks and wave at the engineers and other persons on the trains. 🙂

  12. Geraldine,
    I plan to come back this evening and read your story.
    It sounds intriguing!
    Brenda

  13. Ah!!
    Well, good that she choose your Dad, right!
    Brenda

Thank you for your comments!

