My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The White Rain

19 Comments

Enveloping, encompassing….

it begins.

Touching more than skin and sight.

Seeping into the mind and soul.

The white rain.

 

More than reality, dreams,

or mere thoughts.

Beyond reason.

It takes over the moment.

Changes and shifts, the perception of the day.

Five senses,

now fully engaged.

 

Warm spring shower.

Icy needles of sleet, mixed with snow.

Beautiful.

Gentle or forbidding.

The power to destruct.

More often to sustain.

 

The white rain.

It is, a state of mind.

Or lull in the storm.

Always,

a subtle part of nature’s fantasy.

*

“The White Rain” © Geraldine H. Hartman 2001/revised 2008

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

19 thoughts on “The White Rain

  1. This is an excellent poem that I have now read many times. Wow

  2. well now that i know you like it,,, when and if,, i will send all of mine your way!!!!!! this was lovely….

  3. I really liked the way it ended..
    “The white rain.

    It is, a state of mind.

    Or lull in the storm.

    Always,

    a subtle part of nature’s fantasy.”

    the sense of uncertainty regarding the purpose is very well brought out

  4. Geraldine,

    Lovely elements put together in words in a poem that celebrate the rain.

    Poems like this makes me miss home more coming from a country of constant rain showers.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  5. This was a very gentle piece. It pulled one in very softly. Well written, and a well chosen graphic image… 😉

  6. Wonderful repetition of sounds – like rain falling. And the picture that fits it.

  7. I really like that picture! Great capture.

  8. Outstanding photo!!!!!!!! And yes, white rain is a frame of mind. Beautiful poem.

  9. This describes the day we had…..what a beautiful poem! 🙂

  10. Love the photo!! I like when nature mixes things up and surprises us. Sleet against the daffodils, snow flakes on the dogwood blossoms. All part of the excitement of changing seasons. Glad I live in a temperate zone!

  11. Hi Tammy, Thank you and welcome!

    Hi Paisley, Send all the rain you want this way. Rainy days energize me!

    Hi Rambler, Glad you could stop in.

    Hi Jeques, And I wish you well too.

    Hi Rob, Welcome. It is a gentle poem, isn’t it? I tried to convey a softness throughout.

    Hi Granny S, Welcome. Good to hear I succeeded in that respect.

    Hi Jason, I LOVE this photo! 🙂

    Hi Billy, Thanks so much. So kind.

    Hi M, Thanks, so glad you had a lovely rainy day.

    Hi Aine, Glad you could stop by. Yes, the photo is amazing. Truly white rain, must have been difficult to capture.

    Thanks for stopping by, G 🙂

  12. Your words and the beautiful picture, persuaded me that rain, or at least ‘white rain’ is beautiful.

  13. A beautiful poem and picture to go with it. It shows the duel nature of water perfectly. And like water which is transitory, you’ve shown how white rain can effect our perceptions. Just beautiful! 🙂

  14. Hi Watermaid, I love, love, love rain. Not too many people I talk to do. I think they miss the beauty of rain that I see in so many ways: the power to grow and nourish the plants and Mother Earth, the softness of the sound of rain, the scent (still good so far!!!) after the rain, the energy in the air, charged with negative (I think?) ions that give me so much more ‘get up and go’ than a hot summer day does (those drain me, big time). Anyways, there’s my weather report and rant. Thanks for coming by WM and I am adding your other blog to my blogroll, hope you include MPP on yours too. 🙂

    Hi Ruinwen, Beautifully put as usual, you have such a way with words. I could definitely see you starting a writing blog. Any plans?

    Huggs, G 🙂

  15. Hi Geraldine, I’ve arrived here because I’m having difficulty finding where to comment on your ‘Conversation’ piece. I agree about hot weather sapping energy. I don’t like getting rained on because it usually happens when I’ve just washed my hair, and makes it curl in ways I don’t want.

    I have added you to my blogroll. I will now try to navigate to the other comments.

  16. Hi Carole, Thanks for your new comments and for adding my blog to your blogroll.

    I also noted that ‘glitch’ re: comments. Clicking on ‘home’ at top of page, should rectify this and bring you back to a page with comment options.

    Don’t understand WP anymore, it use to be so ‘glitch free’ LOL. So much for progress eh? 😉

    BFN, G

  17. You are the featured poet today at PWB- October 14th.

    Thanks for being a part of our blogroll.

  18. I love the ‘in the moment’ feel of this poem. The photo is amazing and the poem seems to be full of raindrops falling. I’m here from PWB.

  19. Beautiful, enjoyed reading you; and Sarah at PWB is doing such fantastic job promoting poets.

Thank you for your comments!

