My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Ode to Mr. C

19 Comments

                   
Mr. Cheddar, what a guy.
He’s the apple, of my eye.
Fair of face and coat of shine.
Being with us; by design?
 
Mr. Cheddar, you aim to please.
You melt my heart.
And run like the breeze.
What did we do when you weren’t here?
So glad you were waiting.
Goodbye to despair.
 
Mr. Cheddar, my little man.
Eyes so green.
With many a fan.
You are a survivor of sad, suffering ways.
Still your heart remained open.
To happy times, better days.
 
Mr. Cheddar, I saw you there.
In my dreams, you would sit and stare.
Waiting for your time of release.
Now you are safe and far from grief.
Never again to be hungry or sad.
You’ve come home.
We are so glad.
 
“Ode to Mr. C” © 2008 Geraldine Hartman
Photo of Mr. Cheddar © 2008 Geraldine Hartman
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

19 thoughts on “Ode to Mr. C

  1. g.. i am saddened by this.. i feel like you are accepting of his loss,, but i am saddened still…….

  2. Hi Paisley, If I am understanding your comment correctly you think that Mr. Cheddar is passed on. I am happy to say he is not. He is a lively, happy guy. He survived so much to get here, to a safe and happy home. It’s sad, yes but I am so glad that Mr. C and so many other pets have the resilent and forgiving spirits that they do, to accept love and to trust again.

    Mr. Cheddar truly is a miracle and he is very much alive! 🙂

  3. oh i am so glad.. i felt like you were releasing him,, as if in death… i have two older dogs,, 11 and 9 and i guess i am a bit obsessed with losing them…….

  4. Wow Paisley , you are FAST on the keys! Thought I should clear this up. Mr. C is about 4 (we think) and Ms. Mitz is 20 YEARS YOUNG and she is still acting like a kitten. I hear ya re: your dogs. I die a little, every time one of my pets leave this earth. G

  5. Mr. Cheddar is such a wonderful little guy, a real trouper !

  6. Mr. Cheddar is one loved friend! This is a wonderful poem, Geraldine. Makes me love your cat, and my world is one of dogs and rodents (guinea pigs).

  7. What a beautiful poem for a guy who deserves it…..and is lucky to have you as his family!

  8. I have always been a dog person until four years ago. I rescued a farrow cat with half a tail and call her kitty kitty. She was VERY skittish but now she sits on my lap and gives kisses.

    Your poem touched me and I really got it! 🙂

  9. He is adorable. Cats are special creatures, indeed. I was really moved by your poem.

  10. I am a cat lover and Mr Cheddar has a way of looking that is very like that of Jack, my own dear tabby. My previous cat, Alice, lived to seventeen and came from the RSPCA (Royal Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals), which ha a place near us for strays, animals that have been ill treated or whose owners can’t look after them any more. Alice, who was a tortoiseshell, belonged to an old lady.

    I have visited my other blog and read your comment. The support of others, like yourself, is a great comfort. I am going to start writing my journal at:
    http://wheretherainbowends.blogspot.com/ Thank you for visiting.

  11. A lovely living tribute to a special friend who’s beautiful jade eyes are wise beyond his years. 🙂

  12. Hi Joe, He is indeed a real trouper and aren’t we lucky to have him as part of the family!

    Hi Sandy, If you met Mr. C in person it would be love at first sight, I’m sure. He is so handsome and such a character too.

    Hi Michelle, Thanks M, that’s so nice of you to say. We have tried to provide a very good home, for all the pets we’ve had over the years.

    Hi Tammy, So nice you helped a dear feline in need. I love hearing stories like that. I am glad my poem touched your heart.

    Hi Selma, Adorable indeed and again, so glad you also found my poem touching.

    Hi Watermaid, Glad you enjoyed this visit with Mr. C. I am adding your other blog to my blogroll too. Will stop by again soon.

    Hi Ruinwen, Mr. C has seen a lot with those beautiful eyes some good, some bad. I have promised him that I will always take care of him and that he will never be alone or neglected again. He seemed to understand too.

    Huggs to all of you and also to your four-legged pals, G and Mr. C 🙂

  13. What a charming fellow is Mr. Cheddar! Love the poem!

  14. Geraldine, I can tell in reading this that both you and Mr. Cheddar were meant to share your lives. Your tender given words, match his friendly eyes.

    Years ago, before marriage and kids, I had two cats, a brother and sister. I named them Romeo and Juliet. Juliet fell off a chain fence, and ended up at the MSPCA hospital for a week. I didn’t think she would make it. Her tummy looked like a road map. She eventually came home and was back to her old self about one month later. Within a few days of that, she was struck by a car and died. Her brother followed a year later. I guess we lived to close to a very busy street. Soon after, I found a small, long haired orange kitten and named him Cortley. My roommate kept him when I got married, and he lived a good long life.

    Today, we have a bichon “Scooter”, who is going on twelve. We got him because the kids have allergies, and he has hair, and not fur. He is starting to go blind. I can’t let myself think of him leaving us. He is my fifth child.

    We also have two very old goldfish that my son Thomas absolutely loves.

    I would someday so enjoy having a cat again. They are wonderful companions.

  15. A beautiful ode to a beautiful Mr.Cheddar 🙂

    Thanks for adding me … I added you to my blogroll too!

  16. Hi Billy, He is a charming lad indeed! Right now he’s sitting on my lap, ‘helping’ me to type this. LOL 😉

    Hi Bellevia, Sounds like you are a real animal lover. I can so relate.

    Hi Fenny, Glad you enjoyed my tribute to ‘the big orange guy’ and thanks for adding me to your blogroll too.

    Huggs, G 🙂

  17. This is especially poignant for me. We just lost one of our furry beasts some time this past weekend. He was a difficult cat to love, but we did our best. He had no indoor manners, yet we tried.

    I noticed he’d been losing weight and acting a little off.

    Now I know why. I still miss him, even though he was difficult. I still look for him at the window where he would tap-tap-tap to let me know he wanted to come in for a snack.

    I hate not knowing what happened. Maybe he found another family, one with better food and a high tolerance for cat-spray.

  18. Hi Karen, Welcome. I hope your lost cat is at peace and safe, wherever he is, in this world or the next. Sorry to hear of your loss. Huggs, G

  19. Aww- that is sooo sweet! He’s lucky to have you! And that picture is gorgeous!!! I will miss you~ Please stay in touch!

Thank you for your comments!

