My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Conversation

20 Comments

 

The first call.   

  The last call.   

  

The circle- the circuit- spliced together- torn apart.   

     

  Sometimes we win. 

   Sometimes we fall.  

 Always completion,

of a sort.    

 

 Hello!  

   Good-bye?  

  *Godspeed*  

From the heart <>   

 Don’t cry……    

                                                                       

“The Conversation” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Writer’s Island  (Matinee Muse) prompt for April 25, 2008 : Completion

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

20 thoughts on “The Conversation

  1. Sometimes we win.

    Sometimes we fall.

    Always completion,

    of a sort.

    ever so true,, and win or lose the “prize” is the same…..

  2. Very neat! Covent Garden if I’m not mistaken

  3. How sad but there is always an ending. Clever!

  4. ‘Hello’ and ‘Goodbye’ are very much a part of my life since my children grew up. Very thought provoking.

  5. Very true. Circuits begun and ended. A part of life. Nice match with the pic 🙂

  6. What a great post. Sometimes we should just take time enjoy the silence on the other end just enjoy knowing someone we care about is on the other line not hurry through the conversation knowing that we only said hi and goodbye

  7. Love your snippets of communication and showing how they maybe even go in never-ending cycles.

    Gemma

  8. Wow, I love the minimalistic nature of the poem, and that it still packs so much punch! Nicely done. 🙂

  9. Less is more fits this piece … very good! Love the picture too 🙂

  10. Now that is good. That is really, really good, particularly the part about how even when we fall it’s a completion of sorts. You can write, oh yes!

  11. Hi Paisley, A phone call (the important ones at least) are always about completion, aren’t they? I’m a bit puzzled about the “prize” being the same, do tell?

    Hi Keith, Welcome. Yes, that’s what the flickr man said LOL. Isn’t flickr a great resource? What a great way to showcase wonderful photos and to share.

    Hi Tammy, Thanks, yes there is.

    Hi Carole, Isn’t it great we have so many ways to keep in touch; makes it easier to be apart.

    Hi Billy, Glad you enjoyed both!

    Hi Jadey, Now that is thought-provoking! I need to work at that; sometimes listening comes hard for me. 😉

    Hi Gemma, Just what I was trying to convey.

    Hi Constance, Ditto for what I said re: Gemma’s comment. Thanks so much.

    Hi Fenny, Welcome. Less can be more, can’t it? I’m finding that as I visit writing blogs. Some of my fav reads are very brief and succinct and also very good.

    Hi Selma, What a lovely compliment. Thanks so much.

    So glad you all could stop in and leave a comment. Thanks so much, G

  12. g- i was expounding on the subject and allowing the phone call to represent life… everything you said here can just as easily be applied to life… and when i read it that first time… and again today… it still is….

  13. G,

    It is amazing how you were able effectively simplify some complicated thoughts in life in a minimalistic poem with an interesting metaphor that everybody know too well and yes to achieve a certain understanding and enlightenment in the end.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  14. hello/goodbye…what a way to complete.. :)..nicely done

  15. Very effective, Geraldine! I like the clipped communication.

  16. Perfect! The photo is wonderful and you took the conversation right to it!

  17. Hi Paisley, Thanks for stopping by and explaining this a bit more. I appreciate the feedback and insights.

    Hi Jeques, That is what I was trying to achieve. Glad I succeeded and this poem rang true for quite a few readers.

    Hi Rambler, Thanks so much.

    Hi Jason, Glad you enjoyed this one Jason. Sometimes less is more!

    Hi Tumblewords, Thanks so much.

    Glad you could all stop by. Thanks so much for your visit and comments, G

  18. “Always completion of a sort” are evocative words for me. So many things are complete yet never quite closed. I like this poem very much.

  19. Thought provoking words, “The circle- the circuit- spliced together- torn apart. ” 🙂

  20. those writing prompts are great seeds for creating such a nice variety of thoughts

Thank you for your comments!

