My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Life’s Garden of Weeds

15 Comments

     
Life’s garden of weeds.
Sometimes the stalks grow high.
The leaves unruly and untamed. 
Crowding out, vision and view.
On (too) many a day.
Hard to see above.
To hang on.
To survive,
to tell the tale.
But weeds have a lesson to teach;
unique and of themselves.
They remind us that what we see is not always…
what we get.
What we perceive often hides,
the true picture and full story.
Searching for the serenity and beauty,
 to be found.
In the access and opportunities denied.
Perhaps, the road not travelled.
It is there, although at times,
hard to understand.
Often seen as trials; impossible to bear.
Life’s garden of weeds.
Futilely, we pull, strain and tug.
Instead of finding the patience required to,
wait out the tough times.
Once again,
to bask in the sunshine.
A re-awakening required.
There are no mistakes.
Only weeds… into flowers.
Soaking up the seeds of growth.
Sharing their timely and timeless light.
            
“Life’s Garden of Weeds” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Dandelion photo courtesy of: MaryAnne- Miss Woolly Knits
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

15 thoughts on “Life’s Garden of Weeds

  1. i keep forgetting to tell you,, you need to add the comment script to your single post page.. if you don’t know how i can try and walk you thru it.. there is no comment button when we arrive at a perma link address on this blog,, we have to go back to the main page to comment,, and some people probably just think you don’t have your comments turned on….

    and my little comment on the post is…… some of my favorite “flowers” are weeds……….

  2. i guess that it is is that the comment box is so far after the post,, i never noticed it … so you don’t need the button after all… i just need to freaking pay more attention…… duh….

  3. “Weeds into flowers”–the image brings all of this together. Your poem brings dignity to the day and makes me feel less alone. Thanks.

  4. Lovely ode to the humble and much maligned dandelion – one of my favourite flowers.

  5. There’s wisdom in what you write. Serenity and beauty are worth finding. I don’t know much about botany but I bet there’s a fuzzy area between flowers and weeds.

  6. On the subject of finding your comments, I’m finding it much better since I added you to my blogroll.

  7. Beautiful thoughts, Geraldine. Perhaps the weeds should be celebrated too.

  8. Excellent! Lovely!!!
    And that particular “weed” – Mademoiselle Dande Lion? Has so much to teach us…about life, and health, and what we should recognize as “wealth” – not dollars at all…

    Beautiful poem, friend.
    (((Hugs)))

  9. Great poem! A weed is just a flower that’s a victim of prejudice. It is neither good or bad only our thinking makes it so.

    I really like this line. “Perhaps, the road not travelled. It is there, although at times, hard to understand.” 🙂

  10. What lovely words that I can fully appreciate. Thank you for your touching support! XXOO

  11. Good one Paisley LOL 😉 glad you enjoy weeds of all types. And glad you found the comment box, wherever it went!!!

    Hi Sandy, So good to hear. I have the same experience, reading the blogs…usually one in particular for any given day ‘speaks’ louder than some of the others. If that makes any sense!

    Hi MaryAnne, Thanks for sharing your recent dandelion story via email and of course this lovely photo. Wonderful!

    Hi Carole, There is a fuzzy area between “weeds and flowers” of all types, isn’t there? WP is indeed acting up these days! It took me 2 hours to update my cookbook review page on Veggies….today, it should have taken 5 minutes. Wonky indeed!!!!! I want the ‘old’ WordPress format back…waaaawaaa…I’m not the only one complaining either.

    Hi Jason, Thanks so much. I think that’s just what I did! 😉

    Hi Sallee, So glad you could stop by. She is a lovely lady indeed!

    Hi Ruinwen, Glad you enjoyed this latest offering. I’ve been thinking about this idea for quite a while. Then I saw MaryAnnes lovely photo and thought I should put it into words.

    Hi Tammy, And thank you for your wonderful comments and support too.

    Glad you could stop in and thanks so much for commenting, G

  12. I like the line about finding the patience to wait out the tough times. This is almost prophetic when applied to my life at the moment. And I agree about the weeds – everything is beautiful in its own way (just like the Ray Stevens song.)

  13. I really like the plants that so many people dismiss as weeds, your poem is thoughtfully written

  14. I appreciate this very thoughtful poem….sometimes weeds get a bad rap. I think it was Emerson that said, A weed is a plant whose virtues have not yet been discovered. And I forget who said, If you hunt for flowers, you will find flowers; if you hunt for weeds, you will find weeds.

    Sorry I haven’t been by your blog(s) in a while. I had to make a last minute trip to NC to visit my parents and wasn’t able to blog, but I’m back now. I’ll miss you at Veggies but will check out My Poetic Path from time to time to see how you are instead. I hope you, Joe, & the kitties are doing well!

  15. G,

    Yeah, for weeds are flowers, too. What makes life more interesting are the imperfections that define who we are and what we are. The weeds are like the inner beauty we have just waiting bloom and it highlight the goodness in us when we do.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

Thank you for your comments!

