My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Many Mirrors

21 Comments

                   

Which identity, do we project.

Which one, to protect.

On any given day?

                                 

Will it be, who we really are?

Or who we feel we need to be?

Fitting the confines of life’s present space.

 

Many moods, many mirrors.

Reflecting the changing tide.

Evolving, aging; required and real.

 

When do we reveal our true mirror identity?

And when do we shroud it’s glare?

In darkness, slate and smoke.

 

Only our real self is worthy.

Seeking, always seeking.

The courage and perfect place.

                                      

Identity.

A precious, indelible possession.

To be guarded; only carefully shared.

 

In our hearts.

One answer.

One key.

Will dwell.

Waiting….

                                               

“Many Mirrors” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Photo courtesy of: flickr

Writer’s Island (Matinee Muse) prompt for May 2nd: Identity

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

21 thoughts on “Many Mirrors

  1. right this moment i do not like who has taken over my mirror,, and am anxiously awaiting the return of “me”………

    but i do so love mirrors,, not to look in so much as to watch them reflect…..

  2. Hi Geraldine. First thanks for your visit and comment at Politics Plus.

    This is excellent work. I like the way you bring out how our differing roles can occlude our true selves.

    I’m afraid WordPress does not give me the ability to use animated avatars. 🙂

  3. girl did you see that glowing review of you book over on chapter and verse??? how good does that feel!!!! next amazon order i will get me one too,, i am not a vegetarian,, but i need to have a healthier diet,, i spend so much time sitting and writing….

  4. I agree with you! At times we do select an identity for a given situation. Sometimes the act is conscious; sometimes unconscious.

    Interesting write!

    Gemma

  5. I really enjoyed this poem and it held many truths. Well done!

    I really want that purse mirrior. 😉

  6. I particularly like the idea of deciding which identity to project and which one to protect. Beautifully phrased. You’ve done it again!

  7. All of us have multi-faceted identities. We take on or the other at any point of time. It depends..

    I like the mirrors!

    dog and (wo)man

  8. Hi Paisley, I hope that the reflection you see evolves into one you truly like to look at and feel comfortable with. I think it’s so important to like ourselves, whether we are looking as good as we would want to or not, at any given time. I’d like to shed 15-20 lbs. a LOT but I still think I’m looking pretty darn good for a middle-aged woman and yes, I do compare myself to others in the age-group, sad but true.

    Yes, I am aware of Billy’s lovely review over at Chapter and Verse, re: my cookbook, Not Just for Vegetarians. Hope that some of my readers will stop by to read it too. Hope you like NJFV if you get a copy, I think you really would! 🙂

    Hi TomCat, Welcome to MPP. You have one interesting blog happening over there. The avatar is just the real fun part LOL. I’m sure you have a very loyal readership, animated kitties or not!

    Hi Gemma, It is sometimes a conscious decision and sometimes not but we all spend our days with an image perceived by the outside world. Maybe that’s why I still enjoy being alone a lot. No pretense or image to worry about. I try not to, anyways, worry that is.

    Hi Tammy, Glad you liked this poem and I agree, the purse mirror is to die for. I really liked this photo! Old mirrors are so cool, aren’t they? These look to be. 😉

    Hi Selma, Thanks dear Selma. Actually that’s how I feel when I read a new post over at Selma in the City ‘you’ve done it, again’. Kindred spirits yes!

    Hi Gautami, Yes, we certainly do have multi-faceted identities but I do believe that by far our most genuine and real is the basic and beautiful best we can be. How’s that for a tongue-twisting sentence? 😉

    Thank you for your comments; always appreciated, G

  9. “Which identity, do we project.

    Which one, to protect.”

    a question always on my mind..

  10. more thoughtful thoughts 🙂
    I don’t worry about identities. I guess I’m past that. I do remember though how stressful and tiring it was when that was a concern. I can even remember when I made a conscious effort to quit being concerned about identities and what/who I seemed to be pleasing or projecting. It was like a breath of fresh air to release that.

  11. That picture with that poem is just perfect.

  12. Our true identity only carefully shared … beautiful … we all adapt to different situations … but it’s the times when we can be our true self that give the most fulfillment

  13. Hi Rambler, Whether we think about it consciously or not, I think this is a daily struggle for most people. Giving away too much of our ‘real’ selves can often be hard, sometimes not even advisable. I like to just ‘be ME’ totally and completely but that’s not always possible. Some people just don’t make me comfortable to be open with.

    Hi Diane, Well done! It is a breath of fresh air to truly be ourselves. I guess that’s one of the best parts of blogging, we get to communicate with kindred spirits. And most we would have never met otherwise. Magical! 🙂

    Hi Carrie, I loved this photo, it was exactly what I had in mind when I thought about writing this poem. LOVE flickr!!!

    Hi Fenny, Oh, that is so true Fenny.

    Thanks so much for your visit and comments, always appreciated, G

  14. Excellent questions – and images!

  15. Outstanding photo, and lovely lines to match!

  16. Great posers . Something we ought to sit ourselves down and ponder over from time to time . Like spring cleaning , it would clean the unnecessary negativity . Often when we do make time to see the true picture of our selves , we may find the strength to make the changes for better or the determination to let go hurt which only taints and burdens us. All of which will help give us a clearer and stronger identity.

    Loved the post.

  17. What a great photo for this poem!

    Thank you for the “reflection” on our sometimes fluid identities.

  18. Hi Constance and thanks!

    Hi Billy, Thanks, I loved this photo too, it was just what I was looking for!

    Hi Shubd, Welcome to MPP! Excellent observations and thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Jason, A reflection indeed. I’ve been pondering this poem myself, this past week. Our identities do ‘shift’ a bit, throughout any given day don’t they? It’s only when we are masking our true identities too often or too much do we encounter real problems, in my opinion. Then it’s time to make some serious changes on how we are living and who we interact with, on a daily basis. If we can’t ‘be our true selves’ most of the time, something’s gotta give.

    Thank you all for visiting and for your comments, most appreciated. G

  19. poetically spoken so beautifully… and those mirrors i dig that idea… might have to change my wall somewhere… always wonder who shall i be today… myself… sounds like a great idea… always try to remember everyday is a brand new dawn for change… moment by moment… when the change is so subtle so small we may not notice right away… sometimes sneaking off, or coming aboard… it’s an awesome life, don’t you agree!!!…

  20. Love the line “In darkness, slate and smoke.” I find it funny that a mirror shows the truth yet most cannot see it. Two people can look in a mirror and see totally different things. A person can look at their reflection during different parts of the same day and see a new person each time. What is it that doesn’t allow us to see the truth in our reflections yet is so willing to believe the lie we project onto them? I must reflect on it. *grin*

  21. Hi One More Believer, Thanks for your visit and kind words. I agree, sometimes change can be so subtle we may not be fully aware.

    Hi Ruinwen, Thanks for stopping in dear Ruinwen. I also liked the line, very much, seemed very descriptive. I love to be ‘just me’ but sometimes we can’t just relax and be ourselves, depending on who we are with. 😦

Thank you for your comments!

