My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Vanished!

17 Comments

Gone in the blink of an eye.

The empty swing, still swaying in the afternoon breeze.

Leaving only questions and despair.

As life fades to black.

 

Beware, the predators.

Waiting, seeking their innocent prey.

Silent, evil power.

Shrouded in the persona of non-descript and ordinary.

Seamlessly blending with the mundane of:

“just another day”.

 

A young life, cut short.

Precious sons and daughters.

Never to be replaced.

 

Toy soldier, standing guard.

Dolls, sitting on a shelf.

A film of dust, softens the lifeless features.

Untouchable.

Constant reminders of unbearable loss.

 

Gone in 60 seconds.

As if a wisp of smoke.

Another troubled soul.

Rises up to join the sky.

 

Be wary, be diligent, be ever on guard.

Code-Amber.

May this loss.

Never be yours.

 

“Vanished” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

17 thoughts on “Vanished!

  1. How do people who lose their children in this way ever recover? It is horror beyond imagining. What a profound piece. I experienced a slight shudder as I read it.

  2. Geralidine,
    That took my breath away. The image took me to a Margaret Wise Brown story and the lines took me to cummings’s goat-footed balloon man. And then tragedy. Powerful stuff, Geraldine. Thanks.

    (Your prompt of “bleeding” will be upon on Sunday, May 18, at One Single Impression. Would you write something for that prompt? If you will, we would need it by this Saturday morning.)

  3. Wow. So chilling.

    You’ve aimed this message like a laser and cut straight through.

    The photo was perfect too.

  4. Geraldine,
    Thanks for your kind comment on my poem. If you would allow us to publish your poem and a link back to your site, that would be great. If you also have it here, even better. That way it’s in the loop one way or another!

  5. that was really intensely moving.. i do not know how parents live thru something like that…..

  6. Yes, “Chilling” is the word I came up with.
    And a resolve to watch my grandson a bit closer…now that he’s spending so much time in my own care.
    Exceptional poetry, dear!
    ((hugs)))

  7. I actually had chills go up my spine when I read this. A great poem on a horrible subject.

  8. Hi Selma, I am glad that the impact I was trying to achieve, seems to have come through, loud and clear. It is a horrible subject but it’s one that we all must be aware of and vigilant to try to prevent.

    Hi Sandy, Intense reading yes, I agree.

    I am looking forward to participating in the next prompt; thanks for featuring my suggestion.

    Hi Jason, That is exactly the kind of intensity I was hoping to achieve. It is a morbid, frightening topic. I felt that there was no room to ‘mince words’ or minimize on this topic. Thanks for your very descriptive compliment.

    Hi Paisley, I don’t know how they do either. I think an experience like this would kill me.

    Hi Sallee, Do keep your precious grandson within your watchful eyes, always. It only takes seconds for a predator to appear and disappear, with a child snatched away. Horrible but true.

    Hi Ruinwen, It is chilling isn’t it? I hope that my poem makes people think and be even more careful with their own children and those in their care.

    Thanks so much for your insightful comments, G

  9. What a powerful yet beautifully written poem. Wow!

  10. This is wionderfully written poem. It makes a powerful impact. Actually we need to get that acroos. You did that very well here.

  11. G,

    The world could be so cruel sometimes and it excuses no one ~ what pains us the most is seeing children suffer the same missfortunes. If only we could shield them. We need to work to make this world a safer and better place to live and spare the children from the cruelty of the world. I think it is our responsibility to be vigilant and safeguard our fragile future.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  12. Hi Tammy, Thank you for your kind words.

    Hi Gautami, Glad that I achieved my goal. That’s always such a good feeling to touch people and feel that they have shared your feelings and thoughts, in a particular work. This was a tough poem to write but meaningful and something I that I’ve been thinking of writing for quite a while.

    Hi Jeques, Yes, we must all be vigilant. I just squirm when I see parents and guardians ignoring their children. walking far ahead of them etc, in public. How tragic the consequences can be.

    Thanks for your insightful comments, always appreciated, G

  13. Simply terrifying . . . but such an important warning and so well told.

    Blessings,
    Linda

    SIMPLY SNICKERS – weekly poetry prompts

  14. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    After seeing a beautiful little girl sitting alone in a store doorway yesterday, while her parents (I’m assuming they were her parents) were sitting a long distance away, having lunch and not even watching her closely ; I felt compelled to reblog this poem/post.
    So many of these tragedies may never have happened, if parents/guardians had been more diligent and careful.
    Seeing things like this bothers me so much….
    Beware, the danger and the predators.

  15. A very sad reality, one that happens all too often, here, there, and everywhere. No place is exempt from such tragedies.

  16. This is cruel and hurtful and ESSENTIAL, I love the message you bring here, because it is of the outmost importance that people stop looking for fear of being embarrassed , because you know well it could be nothing, I’ve spotted a beige van, I saw it stop by a young woman, the man talking to her, she shook her head and hurried away, there were other kids on the street, I have the police on my cell phone, and I called them immediately, I told them what I saw gave the best description I could, and they said they’d be right there, this is the second time I’ve seen this man, I’ve seen him looking at me too, maybe he knows i took a picture…but if I’m walking and a man any man follows a child I follow too and take photos until I’m sure that there are no possibilities…But I still see that beige van occasionally, and I’m keeping my eyes open no child should ever live through that hell….this G. is crucial, I’m so glad you wrote about it, it’s terrifying …and maybe people will stop thinking it’s important not to look like a fool. I’d rather be the biggest fool in the world than see another child, young woman, or any others abducted . So thank you Geraldine…

  17. So true Joyce, so true. But when tragedies like these could have been averted with parents/guardians just keeping a more watchful eye on their young children, that is even more of a tragedy and there is no excuse for this kind of behavior. That is what really bothered me again and so much, seeing this little girl in the doorway the other day, that I mentioned on the reblog of this poem.

    It IS essential Lorraine, to get the word out and keep getting it out there. If my poem helps one (hopefully a lot more than that) parent/guardian to be more diligent and careful, watching their children, I’m happy for that.

    It is never foolish to step in and try to avoid tragedies like these, never! Better to be over cautious. It could save a child’s life. If you go back and read the re-blog on my home page, you will see a comment from Genie about stepping in to help too. And she made a very good point, ALWAYS get a license plate, it may help a lot.

Thank you for your comments!

