My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Bleeding Hearts

25 Comments

 

 

 

 

Delicate beauty….

 

Brilliant passionate hue.

 

Droplets of tears.

 

Drawing near to us.

 

The sweet scents of summer.

 

 

The bleeding hearts.

 

Capturing the essence of beginnings.

 

Possibilities to ponder.

 

Nature and self, to renew.

 

 

Fragile and fleeting beauty.

 

As with all hearts.

 

Brought to fruition by the deep, warm blood.

 

Slowly seeping;

 

to nourish and sustain.

 

 

The bleeding hearts.

 

Perfectly framed in tender green.

 

Captured for the moment.

 

Once again we savor;

 

their timely, graceful charms.

 

 

 

The Bleeding Hearts © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

 

Flickr photo I had used of a Bleeding Heart plant, no longer available. It was a beauty, too bad.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

25 thoughts on “The Bleeding Hearts

  1. This is wonderful, Geraldine. I especially like the lines “Fragile and fleeting beauty./As with all hearts.” because it says so much about our lives. This beauty is so slow in coming and requires so much soul to make!

    Thanks for sharing this with us at OSI. It will be up first thing Sunday to inspire the group.

  2. What an amazing photograph to inspire your poetry. Beautiful piece!

  3. I really love this. It’s so awesome.

  4. Truly beautiful post, Geraldine! Very inspiring. The words too touched my heart!

    ravages of time

  5. Just beautiful. I especially enjoyed “Captured for the moment”. For me, this can be applied to all things in nature: the change of seasons, all things growing and all things breathing. I’m grateful for each captured moment, no matter how fleeting.

  6. Stunning photo!

    And beautiful, reflective words.

  7. What a magnificent poem. ‘Capturing the essence of beginnings’ is my favourite line. Thee is definitely an essence in beginning anything, indefinable yet somehow tangible. You are quite a poet!

  8. Hi Sandy, Thank you for your kind words. I was honored to have my prompt used at OSI. I am enjoying reading all the other works being created from this prompt too. Thanks also for all the hard work that you do, showcasing and encouraging other people’s writing,including mine!

    Hi Tammy, Isn’t flickr the best! This was such a beauty of a photo it really inspired me to write a lovely tribute to the bleeding hearts.

    Hi Noah, Welcome. Thank you so much. I am going to add you to my blogroll today; thanks for adding MPP to yours!

    Hi Gautami, You are so sweet! I am glad that my poem struck a chord with you.

    Hi Will….Thank you and welcome. I am also grateful for every moment, especially as I get older. They get more precious and fleeting, don’t they?

    Hi Sallee, Thanks for stopping in and glad you liked the latest offering at MPP.

    Hi Jason, Perhaps an idea for one of your amazing stacking projects? Your photos are getting more stunning every time I stop by. Glad you liked the poem too.

    Hi Selma, Thanks dear and so glad you liked this poem. I feel that my poetry writing is evolving and it’s so good to be back to it, after a looooooooooong hiatus.

    Hugs and thanks so much for your comments, G 🙂

  9. Such beautiful flowers inspiring such beautiful prose. This was a great prompt and I too am enjoying reading how everyone interpreted it.

  10. Beautiful Geraldine! Such a marvelous, sensitive job for your prompt “bleeding.” Thank you! 😀

  11. My son and daughter-in-law gave me a bleeding heart plant 2 years ago for Mother’s Day. It is so beautiful this year!

  12. Hello, I have a poetry website and blog, and I would like to know if you would be interested in exchanging links.

    I have linked to your site from:

    Free Poems.

    and

    Poem Poem Poem

    If you would like to link back, that would be great!

    I have also created a blog where you can register and publish your own poems and stories. I would love to have your contributions if you are so inclined. The blog is

    Your Poems Your Stories.

  13. That photo is stunning and the poem you’ve written is so lovely. 🙂

  14. Hi G,

    Marvelous poem….and personally timely as I was just outside a couple days ago checking out my Bleeding Heart plant and anticipating it’s beautiful blossoms.

  15. Hi Vixen, Thanks for your visit and your kind words!

    Hi Mary, You are so kind, thanks very much.

    Hi Sandy, Welcome and thank you.

    Hi Cricket’s Hearth, They are such beautiful plants aren’t they? So inspiring for me too. Enjoy.

    Hi Anna, Welcome. I have added your link to my blogroll, thanks for the link back from your blog too.

    Hi Ruinwen, Thanks for stopping by and your kind words.

    Hi Michelle, You are so nice, thanks M! Did you get my latest email?

    Huggs and thanks for your visit and comments, greatly appreciated, G 🙂

  16. An utterly gorgeous posting all round. The colour tone in your pic is quite amazing!

    Answering your comment on my blog, I believe my digital pics possibly take time loading. I have counted an average of 10 seconds to load the page.

    I guess that is a bit long, but hopefully you are patient and its worth your time.

    Gemma

  17. ..it’s a beautiful poem and a lovely photo Geraldine..thanks for sharing it and for the fantastic prompt..

  18. Just catching up on blogging. Sorry that I missed this prompt. The paradox of beauty in this poem is stunning.

  19. Beautiful photo … lovely poetic images! Thanks for sharing. It took me a while but I managed to come up with an idea and posted this morning at Sacred Ruminations.
    Hugs and blessings,

  20. Hi Gemma, And thanks so much. Yes, your blog is definitely worth the wait!

    Hi Zoya, Thank you for your kind words. Glad you liked my prompt suggestion. I thought it was a word that could inspire many takes. Love your first name btw. Welcome to MPP, hope you will visit again soon.

    Hi Carole, Welcome back. Hope you had a great trip and well deserved rest. Huggs to you and your mom too.

    Hi Storyteller, Welcome to MPP. I am glad you enjoyed this prompt. I will stop by to read your take soon.

    Huggs and thanks for visiting MPP, G 🙂

  21. It won’t let me comment up above for “The Return.” It was a beautifully layered poem and again you chose an amazing photo to accompany it. hug

  22. Hi Geraldine, I loved the poem , and also the wonderful photo. I’m here from PWB. I will look at more of your work, as it is pouring rain outside today.

Thank you for your comments!

