My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Day at the Park

16 Comments

I don’t allow myself (sigh…) too many days to just relax, regroup and reflect. The most recent exception to this “rule” happened a couple of weeks ago when I spent the day at our local park by the lake.

Here are some of my photos and thoughts throughout that special day which was the first anniversary of my mom’s passing:

The paths wind in and out of the various areas of the park. Plenty of places to stop and rest awhile (which I did) enjoying a cup of coffee and the stillness and serenity, early in the morning.

 

Only a few people out and about that day. The beach was quiet with the water still much too cold for a dip. Lovely views to enjoy though!

Another view of the lake to savor and to ponder.

Finding my perfect “spot” to sit and reflect. Later, I worked on a charity crochet project, as the sun beamed down gently to keep me warm.

A ” fan” of bushes decorated the shoreline as I enjoyed the bliss of no watch to watch, no schedule to think about.

The day was mine.

This lovely, solitary daffodil bloom beckoned me to capture it’s beauty. I felt the presence of my mom close by and throughout the day. The daffodil was one of her favorite flowers. This one was for her.

The benches adorned with tributes to loved ones passed on. This one in particular captured my attention. A loving daughter or son remembers their beloved father. Passed on much too soon but obviously, not forgotten.

It was a magical, special day. I spent most of the time, happily alone with my thoughts. Writing, crocheting, reflecting and relaxing.

My one conversation was with a young mother, strolling along with her baby daughter. She stopped to chat and I was glad to share some time with them. I hope that I chose the right words to say to her. She seemed to need encouragement in her new (overwhelming at times) role as a mother. She also went on to share how precious her own mother was to her and to sympathise with my loss and sadness, as tears filled my eyes.

This young mother spoke to me with words that brought my own mom even closer to me that day: “ I will never be the same person again. I will worry about her forever.” I think she’s going to do just fine, in her new role as a mom.

 I hope to enjoy another day in the park, just for me (and guilt-free) very soon.

And to my mom, Helen:

” You are always in my thoughts and in my heart. I love you.” G 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “A Day at the Park

  1. The hair raised up on my arm as I read this post. What a beautiful way to honour your mom and I felt she was there with you. HUG

  2. Geraldine, I sympathize. I lost my mom in 2001. I’m still finding notes and lists around my house from when she lived there. It’s nice to have these little pieces of her. I’m glad you find beauty in the park and think of her. And as you can tell from my blog, I write a lot of poems about my mom and our relationship.

    Lovely memorial post. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I think you did exactly the right thing that day – for yourself, for your mom!

    And what lovely photos…a very very special place, indeed!
    (((hugs)))

  4. this was really a touching post,, and a glowing tribute to your love for your mother….

    also g,, i had to change my domain name to whypaisley.com so please change your links and or feed as necessary…

  5. Beautiful, beautiful tribute.

    And the photo of thewillow in the second photo is gorgeous!

  6. The photos were spectacular! Your words touched my heart down deep. I could feel your love jump off the screen for your Mom. I’m glad you had such a beautiful day to reflect. *hugs* 🙂

  7. I noticed your comment at Writers Island and clicked on it because my mom was named Geraldine.
    Your tribute is very touching and the pictures a perfect accompaniment.
    So glad I found you.

  8. Hi Tammy, My mom’s presence that day was so tangible. And I felt that my one conversation that day with the new mother was also for a reason. It was a very memorable, bittersweet day.

    Hi Constance, That is so touching re: the notes etc. What treasures they must be for you to have. I have a particular sweater of my mom’s that I wear a LOT these days. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Sallee, Thanks dear. I felt so strongly this was how I was suppose to spend that particular day.

    Hi Paisley, Glad you enjoyed this tribute/post. I have updated your link .

    Hi Jason, Thanks so much. That tree is probably my fav in the whole park. I love weeping willows.

    Hi Ruinwen, You are such a sweetie! I hope my mom read along. I wrote a long letter to her that day too.

    Hi Francis, Welcome and thank you. I enjoyed my visit to your blog too.

    Huggs and thanks everyone for your kind words and visits to MPP. G

  9. Geraldine,
    It’s wonderful you took time to be alone with your thoughts to remember your mother. It’s important to be with those who have moved on. I do believe they continue to love us and to share the road. Your reflections and your photos are stellar, as ever. Thank you very much.

  10. This is a lovely tribute to your mom, Geraldine, and a perfect way to spend a day in reflection. I hope you will allow yourself to relax, regroup and reflect more often.

  11. This is such a fitting tribute to your Mum. What a beautiful, tranquil spot to pay homage to her. I would feel incredibly blessed if I could walk in a park like that on a regular basis. I am so moved by this and so glad you felt able to honour her in this way. I am sure she is smiling right now.

  12. Beautiful pics! I especially love the mountains, tree, and beach!

  13. Hi Sandy, I also think it’s important to honor and remember in a ‘present’ way, the people who have passed on. they are still with us, only in a different space. Thanks for your lovely compliments.

    Hi MaryAnne, Yes, I think I will have more ‘reflection’ time. I felt renewed after this day in the park.

    Hi Selma, It is a lovely park, especially when it’s not crowded with sports teams, blasting music in the background. So hard to find real quiet where we are now. That day was blissfully tranquil. Thanks for your kind words and all your encouragement and support. So nice!

    Hi Billy, Thanks, I agree.

    Your comments and visits, always appreciated. G 🙂

  14. Geraldine, what an excellent post! Excellent. Having lost my dear Mom I can fully understand your feelings. Sounds like there was some very healthy mutual support that day.

    Diane

  15. Though it’s too early, I hope you saw monarchs. 🙂

    Your photos are lovely and so is the story of your day at the park. I think your mom would be happy that you commemorated the day by doing something to bring yourself inner peace and to connect with others by helping them share their burdens.

    Take care G!

  16. Hi Diane, Thanks for your kind words and for your support and understanding. I received several emails about this post as well. Readers sharing their own thoughts on connecting with loved ones passed on. Very touching.

    Hi C, No monarchs that day but we did see a blue butterfly (type?) recently which is VERY unusual here in Canada. I’ve been reading a book on the different types of butterflies and their habitat areas, we are so limited in Canada as to the ones who make their way here. 😦

    Thanks for your kind words and continued support. Huggs, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

