My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Fleeting Hours

29 Comments

Life goes on….
Like a carousel.
The days, into months, into years.
And finally; ready or not:
a lifetime.
 
Life’s fleeting hours.
Sand: Through the hourglass.
Sun: Warming the dial.
Each moment;
lived, used up, never regained.
 
No dress rehearsal.
We do our best.
Sometimes our worst.
With thought to time passing; perhaps not.
Milestones and mishaps.
Strides and stumbles along the way.
 
Life’s brevity brought to mind.
When loved ones leave.
And leave us behind.
But only for that moment.
Reminded of our own.
So limited and precious measure of Time.
 
*
“The Fleeting Hours” © 2008 Geraldine Hartman
 Photo: Courtesy of Flickr
Written for today’s OSI prompt- Transience
 
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

29 thoughts on “The Fleeting Hours

  1. I’m really moved by your poetry and this is no exception. Death is to remind us to live and I need to do a pantoum on this line soon.

    Bravo!

  2. Photo and poem are perfect compliments! Thought provoking poem.

  3. This is beautiful. The photo is a wonderful partner to the poem.

  4. Geraldine, what a beautiful photo! And what a heartfelt poem! I love it! 😀

  5. This is quite moving, perhaps because I have recently lost a brother. I love the perspective of the photograph, almost as though time were a crossroads on the garden path.

  6. funny,, but my only real experience with grief,, just made me want to get all of this nonsense out of the way that much quicker… it made what ever it iswe are doing here seem so cold and immaterial… i cannot help but wonder why that is…

  7. Nice imagery in a moving poem. I can’t help but think of Tim Russert at the moment.

  8. Especially poignant right now with Russert’s passing…what a wonderful life he live – what a treasure he was…

    Beautifully stated, Geraldine.
    (((hugs)))

  9. I enjoyed the way you implied the image of the carousel in the last stanza. May the sun warm all our fleeting lives. Thanks.

  10. Excellent! I love the photo and I found the poem very moving, especially since I lost my dad recently.

  11. “Life goes on like a carousel”, or sometimes like a roller coaster and we are never prepared for those sudden twists and turns that we sometimes get thrown into… your poetry reminds us so well what so often we are not prepared for. Lovely, transcience it is for sure!

    Thank you for having visited my butterfly site and your fine comments left.
    My poetry offering is at: nature tales

  12. your philosophical words of life are woven so beautifully with symbols of hope

  13. Hi Tammy, Thanks for your encouragement and support. I also am moved by your posts; on a regular basis.

    Hi Kathie, Welcome! Glad I provided some “food for thought”.

    Hi Raven, Thank you. I was so inspired by this gorgeous, unique photo.

    Hi Mary, Thanks so much!

    Hi Will…., I am so sorry to hear of your loss.

    Hi Paisley, I also ponder/struggle with what life’s purpose is, some days.

    Hi Carrie, I wasn’t familiar with this man (here in Canada) seems that he had a very loyal following in the U.S. though.

    Hi Sallee, Thanks so much.

    Hi Sandy, What a lovely sentiment to wish all of us! I second the motion.

    Hi River, Welcome. I am truly sorry for your loss.

    Hi Ann, Welcome to MPP and glad you enjoyed my poem. Your butterfly blog is AMAZING! Loved to visit. 🙂

    Hi Bello, Welcome to MPP. Thank you so much for your kind words.

    I appreciate your comments and support very much.
    Hope you will visit again soon. G

  14. An excellent observation!

  15. One great photo. I kept looking it. Your poem fits it.

    Life goes on a carousal is such a great line…Your poems are always a journey of sorts..

    yearning</a

  16. Someone said ‘Time is a harsh mistress’ – not sure who it was but it has always stayed with me. Losing people, growing older, changes, the passage of time, these things are hard to come to terms with. You have captured the sense of poignancy that marks so much of our lives very well. I, for one, feel better, knowing that what I feel, so many others feel too. There is comfort in the shared experience. A very beautiful poem.

  17. These are deep insights into realities we all share. I really like the way you wove a circular motion into your words and the image. Wonderful job all around…. peace.

  18. Wonderful linkage between the photo and your words.

  19. Very moving, G, as always…..
    🙂

  20. Hi Sandy, Thank you!

    Hi Gautami, I like the idea of my poems being a journey. All writing is in a way, isn’t it? For ourselves and for our readers (hopefully) too.

    Hi Selma, Thanks for your continued support. I feel that way too, when I read many of your posts. It’s great to be understood and to feel common bonds. I totally agree.

    Hi Christine, Welcome. Thanks for the great prompt this week at OSI and your kind words.

    Hi Jason, I was inspired by this amazing photo. I’m glad the words ‘fit’.

    Hi Michelle, Thanks dear!

    Your comments and visits are much appreciated, G 🙂

  21. And why must that carousel gain speed each year?…

    I wish it still moved as slowly as a summer day for an 8-year-old.

  22. Sundials have always fascinated me. This poem is a wonderful read.

  23. Hi G., Very insightful poem about the passing of time. it makes me remember how long it takes Christmas to come when you’re a kid and now, it comes so fast I can hardly get cards and gifts taken care of. The poem at first made me a little depressed but as it “sits” with me, I see it more as a gentle reminder to enjoy the time we have left and live life to its fullest.

  24. Your poems and pictures are very true to the heart.

  25. Hi Aine, I hear ya! So, so true. 😦

    Hi Pam, Welcome and thanks for your kind words.

    Hi C, I’m glad this wasn’t too depressing to read. I didn’t write it with sad thoughts in mind; rather as you said a gentle reminder to make the most of the time we have. Thanks for your continued support.

    Hi Gemma, Thanks dear G!

    Your visits and comments are always appreciated. Do stop by again soon,G

  26. I so remember how I felt the first time I rode a carosel. I mostly remember the music, more than the movement. You have pinpointed the effects of all the starts and stops in time with this amazing poem. Thank you for this! Sorry so late in posting, a very eventful week here in the east!

  27. Very enlightening poem, Geraldine.

    You gathered many elements that best describe the transience of time, of life. You succeed to make them work like beads to a strand and the collected thoughts is this precious piece of poetry.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  28. Hi Bellavia, Thank you so much for your kind words. I also remember riding a carosel as a child, it was magical. Life is all about starts and stops isn’t it?

    Hi Jeques, Great to ‘see’ you again. I like your description of the progression of this poem, thanks so much.

    Hugs, G

  29. Hi, G! I’m catching up on my blog reading and this poem has really touched me. Lately I’ve been feeling like life is zooming by faster and faster. You are so right about there being no dress rehearsal for life! 🙂 Hope you are doing well.

Thank you for your comments!

