My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Melody of Life

28 Comments

                                
Mother’s: sigh.
Baby’s: cry.
Hushed by a gentle,
Lullaby.
 
Starlit, summer nights.
Giggles and childhood fun.
Round the campfire.
The old tunes draw everyone.
 
Teen’s rebellion; IPODs blare.
Feet flying fast. 
As passions flare.
In perfect rhythm, to the latest:
 Metal Stallion?
 
Sweet scents of lilac spring.
As young lover’s dance.
Hearts in time to;
tender notes of romance.
 
Mid-life’s song.
The beat goes on….
Hips a swayin’
While the golden groove keeps playing.
 
Old folk’s bliss.
Holding hands; they reminisce.
Bittersweet memories of their Autumn’s,
First Kiss.
 
The melody of life goes on…
Song to song.
As the years roll along.
Sealing memories in their own special way.
Pressed between pages that will never fade.
 
*
 
“The Melody of Life” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Photo: Courtesy of Flickr
Written for the OSI prompt for June 22, 2008: Melody
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

28 thoughts on “The Melody of Life

  1. The melody of life plays on in many keys and with many different rhythms. But it is our melody, and we should never forget to keep at least a fragment of song in our hearts.

    Adore the “atmosphere” of your pic to complement your words.

  2. The Melody of Life_thank u Geraldine for this progression of notes from minor to major ..

  3. Upon reading this, when coming to the end I wondered about where were the grandchildren, but then upon rereading I found them, at the beginning of course! How wonderful! It is ‘circular’ with the first lines of the mother’s sigh and babies cry beginning all over again. Just push replay! Lovely!

  4. This is a wonderful poem – it is music in and of itself!!!! Right on! x)

  5. life’s melodies.. the beat goes on……

  6. Geraldine,
    This is full of love for life and gentle humor and beautiful insight. What a way to wake up on a Sunday! Thank you, dear poet.

  7. I absolutely love this, Geraldine! The circle of life in song. Someone should put this wonderful poem to music!

  8. I love the walk through each phase of life.

  9. Really lovely. There is a music to our lives. Love it.

  10. A lovely poem.

  11. Hi Gemma, I thought about what kind of pic. I wanted to use with this poem and there it was, on Flickr. LOVE this photo and I agree, it does seem to compliment what I wrote.

    Hi Zoya, I like that…from minor to major!

    Hi Ann, I’m glad I didn’t leave anyone out. 😉

    Hi Rachel, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much.

    Hi Paisley, It does indeed.

    Hi Sandy, You are such a sweetie! Thanks for your continued support and kind words. It means a lot.

    Hi Barb, GREAT prompt, thanks for the inspiration and your very kind words!

    Hi Teric, Welcome and thank you.

    Hi Liza, Welcome to MPP. There is music always, if we stop to listen.

    Hi Sandy, Thank you.

    What a nice way to wake up on Sunday morning. I posted my poem late last night (early Sunday morning here in BC) while I suffered through another endless night of insomnia. Your kind words and visits to MPP mean so much. Thanks again. Now I’m going to check out your takes on: Melody! G

  12. This is just a beautiful poem. I love the progression from age to age. Something about those first three lines particularly delighted me, though.

    That photo is just magical.

  13. Your poetry is always moving. I loved your melodic journey. Bravo!

  14. Love that last line. Very nice image.

  15. I love how you ending the poem with an image that lasts beyond the last notes.

  16. The ending is perfect.

  17. Wonderful! The life circle is a melody, indeed!

  18. this reads so softly on the tongue, just like a melody…and how true that each phase of life carries its own tune. very nice!

  19. Hi Raven, You are so kind, thank you!

    Hi Tammy, Your writing is always so touching too. Thanks Tammy!

    Hi Patricia, Welcome. I was thinking of that line from the song by Elvis Presley: “memories, pressed between the pages of my mind” and it inspired me to write what I did.

    Hi Pam, Welcome to MPP. I hope it does! Thanks so much.

    Hi Spacedlaw, Welcome, thank you for visiting and for your compliment.

    Hi Tumblewords, I totally agree.

    So nice to read your comments and a big welcome to all the new visitors at MPP. That’s what I love about the prompts. So many new blogs to check out and of course it’s great to see new comments here at MPP. Always appreciated. G 🙂

  20. PS to Miss Mays, Welcome. Your comment “slipped in” while I was writing my replies above. I was trying to achieve that lightness and softness that you describe, while writing this poem. Thanks so much for mentioning that observation. G

  21. Geraldine,

    I loved this! I have four children ages 8 to 20, and your melodic lines brought them to mind. I also thought of myself, in my mid life world, and of my parents. This poem says so much. Life really is “song to song”. Thanks for this!

  22. One of your very best, Geraldine!
    (((Hugs)))

  23. To everything there is a season – you have captured that thought so well in your poem. The melodic quality of the rhythm is fantastic, just like a song. I actually think this would work well set to music. Absolutely lovely!

  24. Hi Bellavia, How nice that you thought of your children reading this. Glad you enjoyed “the music”!

    Hi Sallee, Thanks dear! What a lovely compliment.

    Hi Selma, I try…sometimes I succeed to put all the components that I want to include in a poem, together. Judging by the comments I’ve received, I seem to have done well, this time. For me, that’s so inspiring. Thanks Selma for your continued encouragement and friendship and all the inspiration I find, over at SITC. It means a lot!

    Hugs and wishing everyone a great day! G

    PS: Yesterday, I actually did stop and smell some roses along the way and thought of all my blog buds when I did. A great little moment to reflect on good things. 🙂

  25. What a perfect way to capture the melody of life, from the “mother’s sigh” all the way to the “memories pressed between pages that will never fade.”
    I love the line about kids following another “metal stallion!”

  26. This is a beautiful poem – I love how music follows us from birth until death and beyond … it’s always there in one form or another.

  27. Ah … what a lovely poem for this week’s prompt … and the illustration reminds me of my mom playing the piano for us at home. Life’s memories do go on indeed.
    Hugs and blessings,

  28. Hi Kathie, Thanks for the nod re: “metal stallion” ! Didn’t know if this was a good description or not re: the latest music “god”. Welcome to MPP.

    Hi Kate, It does indeed.

    Hi Storyteller, Welcome to MPP. My mom played the piano too. Thanks for bringing a nice memory to mind. One of my 60 fav things LOL. 😉

    Hope you are all having a great day, G

Thank you for your comments!

