My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Stop and Chill Awhile!

10 Comments

Almost the same time of the summer, two years ago, I posted this lovely  photo over at Veggies…. to happy reviews!

 (sorry, this photo has been removed on flickr)

Seems that other “wilted bloggers” LOL at that time apparently also found blessed cool relief gazing at this snowy winter wonderland scene. 

Seems to still work for me!  😉

I’m looking at this photo right now, feeling cooler by the minute, in spite of the continuing sweltering heat and humidity, here in Interior BC.

If you are also suffering through a heatwave where you are, I truly hope this helps a bit.

Happy Fourth of July (it still is here ) and have a safe, wonderful weekend!  G   🙂

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

10 thoughts on “Stop and Chill Awhile!

  1. Ha! I remember it well. This past winter was the worst we have experienced in the past 25 years! But your photo is very beautiful and winter has its blessings, as well as it coolness. I find myself taking a moment to pause now and then in the busyness of summer and think to myself, ok, I will save that project for the winter when things are slower and I will be spending more time indoors. Each season has its own blessings and I wouldn’t want to do without any of them.

    We are looking forward to 27C today, not a bad temperature. Hopefully it will be a wonderful day as we will be spending it outdoors at a country auction.

  2. No, no, no, no snow. Although the really funny thing is I had a dream it was snowing this morning in Florida. I was running around taking pictures to prove that it was really snowing.

    I love the heat though.

  3. Wow…what a fabulous picture!

    The last couple of days have been comfortable, but the few before that got up to around 100 F (37 C) by dinnertime. No evening strolls along the canal those nights….I would have melted! 🙂

  4. Stunning G and it did the trick. 😉

  5. Oooooo! Geraldine, thank you very much! So cold and wonderful! But ya know, I’d be complaining about the snow if it were winter… can’t win! 🙂

  6. I much prefer looking at winter scenes in summer! The snow looks magical and ethereal …during winter, I look at it quite differently. It means shovelling and cold, although I quite love playing in it!

    My dog would happily look at this photograph – he’s sweltering in the heat. We’ve only had two really hot days so far. We seem to have missed the heatwave that passed through BC and Edmonton (at least my niece was complaining about the heat). I love it though…

  7. Thanks for this, Geraldine. I’m off to find a sweater. This really is a spectacular photo.

    (PS I am trying to update the prompt suggestions for Andree to add to the calendar. If you get a sec, would you see if your suggestions are there? If not, please resend. Sorry if I messed up!

  8. How I would love to be a part of that magical winter scene. It never snows in Sydney. I can almost hear the sleigh bells in the distance. What a great idea on a sweltering day.

  9. Whoa! That was a delightful little break. I feel cooler already. 🙂

  10. Hi Ann, After visiting your blog many times already, I have even more interest in seeing the Maritimes. What a great province NB sounds to be. And of those amazing butterflies. Of course, not in winter LOL 😉

    Hi Brian, Welcome! LOL that’s a funny dream. I love snow just not the icy streets to drive on that usually go with.

    Hi Michelle, I’m guessing CA you are referring to? Never know where you are with your travels back and forth. 37, yikes!!! I hope it’s cooled down. It has here a bit.

    Hi Tammy, Good to hear!

    Hi Mary, It’s the universal language isn’t it, the weather! We all chat about it, good and bad.

    Hi Kate, Ah…the Saskatchewan winter, I remember it well. It certainly teaches you the art of defensive driving though. If you don’t, you’d be spending weeks a year at the repair shops. LOL. 😉

    Hi Sandy, No need to bundle up, this is definitely only a mind-chill. It does kinda help though, doesn’t it?

    Hi Selma, NO snow, ever? I can’t even fathom the concept. If you ever really want to experience winter, Canada is the destination to pick. And make sure to plan to visit me while you are here ok!

    Hi Jason, Great to hear.

    Wishing you all a beautiful and temperate day, wherever you are, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

