My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Ruby Tuesday: Pizza Anyone?

13 Comments

Here’s my red pic and post  for this week’s Ruby Tuesday.

We got this pizza stone as a gift last Christmas and have yet to even get it out of the box, much less use it.

 As many of you already know, as a cookbook author, instructor and passionate vegetarian cook; I like to cook and bake most foods/dishes/edibles from scratch

Lately though, pizza has been an exception (especially with the killer heat, here in Interior BC right now).

Take-out pizza rules, at least for a little while longer.  😉

I did offer up some pizza suggestions (including a homemade pizza dough recipe that is never fail)  over at Veggies,Crafts and Tails, many moons ago from my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians that you might want to try as well.

Here’s some pics of the yummy homemade results and a link to recipes and the post too.

 

I’ll be looking forward to “scratch” pizza again, this time using the stone, hopefully sooner rather than later. From what I’ve been told, these pizza stones make a wonderful crispy crust (in a non-commercial oven) possible and easy to achieve.

I’ll keep you posted on the results! And do let me know if you’ve used one of these pizza stones yourself and how it worked.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

13 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday: Pizza Anyone?

  1. Wow…. Your pizza looks delicious… And it made me hungry too. Darn.

  2. I used to make pizza from scratch. I can’t say it was amazing, but I never stopped trying to improve it.

    The good old days….

  3. Looks like a good stone. My SIL knows all about these things! The pizza looks delish! Happy Ruby Tuesday! 🙂

  4. My mouth is watering! My DIL makes just about everything from scratch. Me – not so much!

  5. That all looks wonderful, Geraldine.

  6. I am enjoying your Ruby Tuesdays. I love home-made pizza, I will admit that it is one of my specialities. I don’t have a pizza stone, just a tray. I think I will go out and get one. Now you’ve made me hungry……mmmmmm.

  7. Hi Raven, It’s a good food photo if that’s the result!

    Hi Jason, I’m sure you’ll be cooking again. It’s addictive, at least I think so.

    Hi Mary, And thanks again for hosting Ruby Tuedays, such a great prompt idea!

    Hi Ann, Thank you!

    Hi Dianne, Thanks for your visit.

    Hi Sandy, Thanks so much.

    Hi Selma, Ah….so you do like cooking some dishes, good to hear. Perhaps you’ll find some more inspiration at Veggies….My recipe archives await. 😉

    Thanks for stopping by, G 🙂

  8. I like home made pizza’s too especially cooking from scratch…It wonders me sometime that I in fact can create the taste of Italy…ha!ha!

  9. My Dad got a pizza stone, too. He keeps using the metal one… Old habits surrender slowly, if at all.

  10. Love pizza, and would love to know how you like your pizza stone – my sis-in-law loves hers! Guess I should break down and get one…
    (((hugs)))

  11. Geraldine, I missed this one. I make homemade (scratch) pizza year round. In fact we’ve had it twice this month. Why not cook it on the barbecue? Ours definitely gets hot enough and it’s great because we don’t have to heat up the house (that’s why we cook outside pretty much all the time in summer).

    Diane

  12. Hi Cuisines, Scratch is always better isn’t it!

    Hi Will…., I’ll probably take a while to be a convert too. Is that a sign of aging??? 😉

    Hi Sallee, I am looking forward to giving this a whirl too. I just got picked as a finalist in a local pizza contest so I guess my pizza skills are still intact, stone or none. LOL.

    Hi Diane, We don’t have a B-B-Q (it’s a vegetarian thing I guess) and frankly right now, with the ridiculously hot temps. here in BC, I can do without cooking much either. I am sewing up a storm though, so still being productive and it’s lo-cal too. More LOL!!!!!

    Thanks for all your visits and comments. Always very much appreciated,G

Thank you for your comments!

