My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Old Ways

11 Comments

 
                             
Grandma sits at the treadle machine.
While sunshine pours through veranda screens.
Up and down; the dainty feet.
Moving the needle; deftly and neat.
                   
Palette of calico.
All shades of yellow.
Cottons so soft and threads everywhere!
Soon will be a Sunday frock to proudly wear.
                              
Ruby red jam; bubbling and bright.
The old black pot; one sorry sight.
Kitchen clutter and helping hands.
Jars in line on dark, cellar shelves.
Treasured jewels; come mid-Jan.
 
Kneading the dough.
Arms strong and sure.
Loaves fresh from the oven.
Fragrant and pure.
 
Cookies and conversation.
News of the day.
Tea steaming and strong in lily black cups.
Skies clear and sunny; chasing the grey.
                                      
Supper dishes will wait until morn.
As darkness draws near.
“Goodnight, sleep tight”
And hugs ’til tomorrow.
 
The old ways…
Special times that never fade.
Bring a smile to mind.
On the most difficult of days.
**
 “The Old Ways” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
 
 
 
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

11 thoughts on “The Old Ways

  1. Yes they do. I can taste that tea.

  2. My Mum has an old Singer like that one, only it isn’t a treadle machine, it’s one where you turn the handle. They are so solid and reliable. Old things are sometimes better.

  3. What memories this photo conjures up for me! My mom sewed all my clothes on a machine that looked much like this. Thanks for sharing this wonderful poem as well.
    Hugs and blessings,

  4. This brings back memories of my grandmum and her old Singer with treadle. There was nothing more fun than sitting on the floor and helping make the sewing machine work (probably more bother for my grandmum, but she didn’t mind).

    The poem is lovely…

  5. Enjoyed your poem, Geraldine. I worked a treadle Singer sewing machine when I was very young. My mother had one… 🙂

  6. Geraldine, my Grandmother had an old Singer. She used to make all our clothes. She also used to make her own jam and bread. I remember the sound of the treadle and the jam bubbling on the stove in the background, as well as the smell of the bread baking. This was such a wonderful poem. It reminded me of such a happy time in my life!

  7. I inherited an old White treadle and had to let it go during a move…I miss it – I learned to sew on it.
    Lovely word pictures, Geraldine!
    (((hugs)))

  8. Hi Sandy, My grandma had the most beautiful black china cups with tiger lilies painted on them. They did make the tea taste even better!

    Hi Carole, They are indeed, at least I think so!

    Hi Storyteller, Glad my words brought some good memories to mind.

    Hi Kate, That’s so cute, I’m sure your grandma didn’t mind at all!

    Hi Mary, My mom had one of these machines too for quite awhile. She found it hard to go electric when she finally did. She was a wonderful seamstress. I am just getting back to sewing and what fun thats been.

    Hi Selma, I am so glad that it did! Re-reading it even brings a smile to my face. 😉

    Hi Sallee, As one who sews a lot (I know you do) I’m sure this is especially poignant.

    Hugs and wishing you all a great week, G 🙂

  9. I can’t see the picture but the words were plenty enough to make me miss my grandma’s house. Cosy imagery G

  10. This is a really great write.

Thank you for your comments!

