My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Ruby Tuesday: Borscht, Hot or Cold!

14 Comments

Thought this was a good choice for this week’s: Ruby Tuesday  given the fact that borscht is absolutely delish, hot or cold.

The above is a pic of the borscht recipe from my cookbook, Not Just for Vegetarians and if I do say so myself, it’s the best borscht I’ve ever tasted (and believe me, growing up on the Canadian Prairies where the winter weather can plummet to -70C with windchill; you eat a lot of soup to keep warm LOL). Yes, the borscht is definitely served hot, at that time of year!

And yes, you did read that temperature above correctly. Hard to believe but we kept on going, even when it was that bitterly cold: To work, to drive….

They call Prairie folks “hearty” is it any wonder why???          😉

I combined 3 very old family borscht recipes, took out the ham-hocks (yuck), tweaked the spices and herbs and voila: Russian Beet Borscht, my way. Do hope you will give it a try. Truly a meal in a bowl. Don’t forget the rye bread and a dollop of sour cream (regular or vegan) to complete. Yummm…..

Happy Cooking and Happy Ruby Tuesday !  🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

14 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday: Borscht, Hot or Cold!

  1. This looks absolutely delicious. My sister-in-law, also from the prairies makes this dish also. Yum!!!

    Thanks for your visits to my blogs, they are much appreciated!

  2. What a delicious looking dish!
    Clever idea for Ruby Tuesday.

    Thanks for visiting my Blackberry post today.

  3. That looks so good, Geraldine!

  4. I love homemade soups! This looks yummy, Geraldine.

  5. Wow! That looks so delicious…and so RED for a great Ruby Tuesday post! Thanks for participating! 🙂

  6. You don’t have to tell this girl twice that Borsch is good. I’m Russian and grew up on it. Our family recipe does not have beets in it. I have the recipe and photos somewhere on my blog. Probably under Russian Recipes :0)
    Beautiful Ruby post …

  7. I love rye bread!! Would you believe I have never eaten borscht. You sure do make it look good.

  8. Looks delicious! Beautiful photo. Nice to get a recipe with the picture too. Cool.

  9. Hi Ann, I don’t know anyone who’s tried borscht who doesn’t love it! Hope you give my recipe a try and thanks to you too for the visits to MPP!

    Hi Carletta, Welcome! I thought it was a wonderful red photo to share, recipe was the bonus. 😉

    Hi Sandy, IT is so good!

    Hi WTFW, Try it, I think you’ll like it!

    Hi Mary, I’m a lovin’ Ruby Tuesdays! Great idea Mary!!!

    Hi Ellen, Borscht without beets, now this I must investigate. I’ll be stopping in soon.

    Hi Dianne, Rye bread, borscht and sour cream….the stuff of culinary dreams in a very hearty way!!!

    Hi Raven, Glad you liked it Raven. Tastes just as good as the photo too, hot and cold equally delish!

    Thanks for your comments and hope you all stop by again soon, G 🙂

  10. Borscht without beets? How can that be?

    Borscht is comfort food for me, as a descendant of Russian immigrants. Always with beets. Lovely Ruby Tuesday photo.

  11. The temp gets to -70, surely you jest! You wouldn’t be able to go outdoors, would you? I love beetroot but would you believe I have never actually tasted borscht? That photo is making me hungry and now I am determined to make some. Too delicious to pass up!

  12. This is absolutely my favourite soup. I love Borscht… thankfully, there are lots of opportunities here to have it regularly. I like the different variations depending on who is making it… we prairie folk are hardy, just like our gardens!! It’s all in the beets!!

  13. Hi Leora, I agree, how can that be? Borscht without beets, I don’t want to even think about it! 😉

    Hi Selma, It does indeed get that cold on the Prairies (right Kate?) And yes, the people who live there do keep going. I can remember one week a few years back in Saskatchewan when the weather was that cold and we drove around with ‘chuckwagon’ tires, clunking away in the cold. It’s a Prairie thing LOL!!! Do hope you give this recipe a whirl and let me know how your family likes it ok! I know you are always looking for culinary inspiration. You’ve come to the right place. 🙂

    Hi Kate, You got it right!!! All in the beets, I like that. Hope you like my variation too.

    Hugs and Happy Cooking, G

  14. that’s one of my all time fave soups — it’s a staple in the fall when a person can make it from everything in the garden (or everything found at the farmer’s market). I can hardly wait!

    Diane

Thank you for your comments!

