My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Rest Awhile

31 Comments

                                     

Rest awhile.
Far from the struggles and strains of life.
Find that place and seal it in your heart.
To pause, retreat to.
Where grace always dwells.
Rest awhile.
Put back the smile.
Somewhere lost.
Now: softly, silently returned.
Rest awhile.
Peace:
A beacon in the dark.
Sheltered, nurturing.
Safe and sublime.
Rest awhile.
Treasured moments.
Tranquil dawns.
May your tomorrows.
Outlive life’s storms.
                                                                           
“Rest Awhile” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

31 thoughts on “Rest Awhile

  1. What a beautiful invitation to peace, Geraldine. To rest and so overcome life’s storms. Amazing. Thank you, friend.

  2. Geraldine, just the lovliest poem and photo! Thanks for visiting me. I appreciate it! 🙂

  3. This is lovely and very contemplative. If I were reading this while sitting in my garden, as I was earlier, with a cup of tea, resting between garden chores, I would smile and wonder if you were writing about me at that moment.

    Thank you, for your always appreciate visits and comments on my blogs.
    ann

  4. This is a welcome read for me; it says a lot to me this week taking care of my Mom after her surgery. Thank you. It’s beautiful – in words and photo.

  5. Lovely reflective image … and even lovelier poem! Thanks for sharing both today.
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. Thank you. This is beautiful and feels like both an invitation and a prayer… and a restful comfort to the weary soul.

  7. I have to say that the little icons that add themselves at the end of the posts are so the antithesis of the post. I believe my mouth has been sealed shut and the two people before me are grimacing in pain, though Sandy C and me anne my camera both got to smile. Hmmm.

  8. Hi Sandy, Thanks for your continued support, here at MPP and so many other blogs. You are amazing!

    Hi Mary, Glad you enjoyed it. I loved this prompt.

    Hi Ann, I enjoyed writing this poem and the re-reads have been good too. Sometimes I keep changing words and lines…I’m quite happy with this one, first try!

    Hi Quietpaths, Here’s sending healing thoughts for you and your mom. Speedy recovery to your mom and do take care of yourself too. Hope my poem helped a bit too.

    Hi Storyteller, Thanks so much!

    Hi Raven, Thanks for the compliments. I agree, these avatar icons are too silly. WP is ‘acting up’ again today, I didn’t pick these but they appeared on their own, go figure. My beautiful custom header has gone poof too. I’ll try the quilt squares, maybe that’s a go. WP….where are you!!!!

    Thanks for stopping in. Wishing you all a restful, happy Sunday, G 🙂

  9. Oh, great! Such a serene place to sit down and write.

    I think I prefer chaos, though, to be honest.

  10. Where grace always dwells_a wish and a prayer_beautiful..many thanks..

  11. The graceful swan was the perfect photo to accompany your exquisite poem, Geraldine. “Where grace always dwells” reminds me that I always rest in God’s grace.

  12. yes, wise food for thought Geraldine. Writing can be very contemplative.

  13. What an amazing poet you are G. This is beautiful and serene.

  14. Hi Noah, I like serene even if most days it’s only a place in my heart; what can I say! And I know you like chaos and turmoil.

    Isn’t that what makes life (including blogging) interesting? 😉

    Hi Zoya, Thanks Z, I like that…a wish and a prayer.

    Hi Barb, Thanks so much for the wonderful compliment.

    Hi Diane, What a comfort and pleasure it can be, I agree.

    Hi Tammy, You are so kind. Thanks dear!

    Thanks for your continued support and visits to MPP. Always appreciated, G

  15. I really enjoyed your poem BUT the font was so tiny! I wonder why?

  16. Beautiful tranquil poem and picture! I like your first verse very much.

  17. You are right, Geraldine. . . we both wrote prayer poems this week. Each stanza shows a slightly different perspective on rest and they build on each other. Thank you.

  18. Very calming, Geraldine.

    Your words, the imagery, the thoughts are soothing – like a balm to the heart – calming my every senses.

    What a coincidence that I also posted a poem about resting the mind today.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  19. I enjoy your floating feeling you give you words with the repetitive words of “rest awhile”. It’s good to find your site again. 🙂

  20. Beautiful photo and thoughts. Rest is generally underrated! Nicely done!

  21. Just beautiful!

  22. Hi Joyce, Welcome to MPP! I try to ‘spruce up’ the fonts, colors…to go with the theme of poems I write. Sorry if this was hard for you to read. I checked on a couple of computers, looks fine from my views. Anyone else having a problem with the font being too small?

    Hi April, Welcome! Yours is my absolute favorite female name, the one I’d like to have actually (yes, I was born in April). Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Pam, I thought that was so interesting that we had similar styles, writing about this prompt. I loved yours btw!

    Hi Jeques, And again, how interesting. I really don’t think we can ever have enough said about rest, relaxation and quiet, tranquil moments.

    Hi Texas, Welcome back and I’m glad that my words conveyed this feeling. I wanted to give a peaceful, gentle feel to this poem. Glad I succeeded.

    Hi Tumble, Thanks so much. Rest is SO important!

    Hi Sandy, You are always so kind!

    Wishing you all a restful, relaxing week, G 🙂

  23. An inspirational piece. A safe haven. A place to find solace. I actually feel quite calm after reading this. It is a dream of mine to retreat ‘to a place where grace always dwells.’ Thank you for this – it is a gift.

  24. Such grace and tranquillity flows from both the picture and this poem … really well crafted 🙂

  25. Aaaahhhhh so restful, peaceful. Thank you so much.

  26. Hi Selma, Thanks so much (again and again) for your lovely compliments and continued support. I find this to be calming to as I re-read it. Success!

    Hi Fenny, Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words.

    Hi Lisa, Welcome. Glad you enjoyed this work.

    Wishing you all a peaceful, restful week, G

  27. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    ***I included this poem at the beginning of my new book: Laughing AT the Grim Reaper. ***
    Thought it was a good time to share it again here at My Poetic Path too. I hope you enjoy it!

  28. Sounds like a wonderful place to retreat to, and enjoy the rest.

  29. Rest a while…one of the warmest introduction ever, love this, I think I will read it with great consideration…

  30. And we all need to find a place of peace don’t we Joyce? I hope you are having a better week and that the right answers come to you too. Take care.

    What a nice comment, thanks Lorraine. I thought it was a good poem to include with this book, given the subject matter.

    Happy Mid-week, G

  31. the photo entices one to serenity.. and when I stopped to read… I stopped and read each word….

Thank you for your comments!

