My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Ruby Tuesday: Sewing Up a Storm…

20 Comments

 

I’ve been sewing up a storm lately!

I haven’t had the opportunity in the past few years to sew much; now I am rediscovering the relaxing, satisfying quality of this wonderful and rewarding  craft.

At one time I was sewing a new outfit every single week (in addition to 1 full time, 2 part-time jobs, a newspaper craft column, freelance writing on a regular basis….and all the regular tasks of the day!!!!)

I’m still looking for that kind of production/energy level again. Don’t know if that’s possible, but I’m trying.    😉

In the meantime , I am truly enjoying my time with the threads, fabrics and patterns.

The pic above: a fun knit fabric I’ve had in my stash for many moons. I love reds and if I do say so myself; a color that suits me very well. This fabric is cut and will soon be transformed into a casual set of capris  and two tops.

Happy Crafting and Happy Ruby Tuesday   🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

20 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday: Sewing Up a Storm…

  1. I don’t sew anymore, but when I did, I, too, had a “stash” of lengths of fabric that had caught my eye. I’d buy them because I liked the pattern, or the texture of the cloth — with no particular project in mind for them.

    I like the cheerful pattern on this piece of fabric. It really works for Ruby Tuesday, too.

  2. You’ll have to show us the finished product in a future Ruby Tuesday!

    The material is very vintage looking.

  3. I look forward to seeing the finished creations. Have fun sewing. Always wish I had a gift for that.

  4. Waiting for more (that is, the end result!). Ireally like your beautiful, previous post as well.

  5. Good luck with meeting your goal. Just reading about made me (yawn) tired… Think I’ll take a nap. 😉

  6. Wow! You were a wonder woman :o) I could probably sew just a pillow. But I’m into scrapbooking :o) Have a great Tuesday!

  7. Wow – are you triplets!! that’s one long list of activities 🙂

    I admire people who can sew. It must be so satisfying to wear your own creations.

    I barely can re-attach a button

    lovely pattern, nice shade of red

  8. A lot of my energy is gone, too. 🙂 I wonder if it’s an aging thing…

  9. I have never been able to sew and I’m envious of your talent. Beautiful colors here. Happy colors.

    My contribution is here

  10. My mom used to sew dresses for me when I was a kid. I never realized how much she did so until I was recently looking at class pictures. Pretty much kindergarten through 5th grade, I’m wearing something she made!

    Tink *~*~*
    My Mobile Adventures *~*~*

  11. Hi Bobbie, Welcome! I like piling up the stash when there are fabric/yarn sales to be had. Right now we are living in a place with no temptations in either dept. so I am using up my stash!

    Hi Carletta, Welcome to MPP! Oh….I don’t know. I’ll have to see about ‘modeling’ on my blog LOL. Maybe put them on a hanger instead. 😉

    Hi Raven, Nice to ‘see’ you again.

    Hi Yrsa, Thanks for your kind words on both posts and welcome!

    Hi Tour Guide, It kind of amazed me too! But I really, really did all that for years actually.

    Hi Ivanhoe, Welcome. Scrapbooking is soooo cool! I’d love to try it.

    Hi Dianne, Welcome and thanks for a great LOL!!!! Triplets, too funny. 😉

    Hi Beth, More laughs….You are a VERY productive lady. I know that from reading your blog. So there LOL!!!!!

    Hi Mimi, Welcome! It is a great hobby, I love it. I’ve got ‘sew time’ scheduled for tomorrow!!!

    Hi Tink, My mom sewed for me too. Mother and Daughter dresses were so much fun. She was a beautiful seamstress. Everything was perfect when she made it. I try…..

    Thanks so much for all your comments. Love to see all the new visitors to MPP too. Hope you stop by again. Now I’m going to check out your blogs!

    Have a great week, G

  12. I don’t sew as well as you, but enjoy some. I’ve been knitting again some, but nothing red at this time.

  13. That’s a great fun fabric, G! I’m so glad you like participating in Ruby Tuesday just as I like visiting “Your” poetic path! 🙂

  14. I think it’s so great to make something tangible with your hands. A concrete sort of reward.

  15. I can sew knots into thread and that’s about it. How rewarding it must be to be able to fashion things from your own hands. Gorgeous fabric!

  16. Hi Amber, Welcome to MPP! I love to sew, crochet and knit but if I had to pick a fav from the three it would be sewing first! Love it. BTW, the capris are done and the first of 2 tops, almost.

    Hi Mary, It is a fun fabric, really pretty red. I am loving Ruby Tuesdays and judging by your increasing numbers of participants (wow!!!) I am not alone. I’m already working on my new RT post!!!

    Hi Aine, It is indeed. Hobbies like sewing are not only relaxing, they also fill up the closet with clothes that fit just right, in no time. Do you sew Aine?

    Hi Selma, It is rewarding Selma, you should give sewing a try. Lessons first are a very good idea, to get started the right way. There’s actually a lot to it, if someone wants to turn out professional results. My mom was a very skilled seamstress, a very good teacher and inspiration for me, in all crafts.

    Hugs and Happy Crafting, G 🙂

  17. Sewing clothes was fun years ago, but I can’t imagine it now….(guess why?)

    It’s all knitting now.
    Hope you model your outfit!
    (((Hugs)))

  18. Relaxing and enjoyable sewing… you don’t know it till you’ve been there and even then it always a welcome return if you haven’t for a while. I hope to catch up on some of that in the fall. Nice post..
    ann

  19. Geraldine,
    You amaze me. it’s as simple as that. This is beautiful.

  20. Hi Sallee, I’m guessing because you are swamped with your totebag biz and many, many, many projects! Talk about wonder woman, you are one!

    Hi Ann, It is great. I forgot how relaxing it can be. Glad I got back to it, hope you do too, soon.

    Hi Sandy, And you amaze me Sandy, thank you for your kind words, always.

    I finished one top and the capris so far, looking good. Maybe Ill get up my nerve and post a pic, wearing these. Maybe not!!! 😉

    Hugs and wishing you a great week, G

Thank you for your comments!

