My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

North of 60

15 Comments

                      
The north is calling.
Ever drawing near.
Alaska Highway will bring me to…
the land that I hold dear.
Pristine waters; breathtaking sights.
Northern lights to illuminate the night.
 
North of 60; where I long to be.
Walking the snow-packed trails.
The “good life” for me.
Happy once again.
To bask in glorious,
 Midnight Sun.
                       
Crisp, cool breeze on my face.
Winter wonderland of beauty.
Words don’t do justice,
to this magical place.
Powerful; in stark relief.
This unforgettable, still open space. 
 
Southern ways are not my own.
In my soul; craving “higher ground”.
Out in the wilderness.
Majestic emerald pines.
Tall and lovely.
Set against the surreal sky.
                                                       
Enveloped in your beckoning arms.
Once again,
the silence.
the solitude.
the solace.
Of the forest.
Mine.
 
North of 60.
Back to stay.
A treasure of inspiration.
To be found along the way.
Crowds and noise left behind.
My heart will be blessed.
To see You again.
                               
 
” North of 60″ © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
“Alaska Highway” photo © 2007 Geraldine H. Hartman
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

15 thoughts on “North of 60

  1. what a beautiful poem.. i don’t know if i could ever have a connection with anywhere it is so cold,, but the northern lights and the midnight sun sure do hold my attention….

  2. in addition, i just want to let you know i am posting my new poetry on justpaisley…. now, and i sure would love it if you came over and had a look….

  3. My sister lived in Alaska for ten years. She is about to move back there. Your poem captured the sense of awe you feel in a place like Alaska(and Canada too). There is a sense of grandeur about the place that is breathtaking. Now I want to go and visit again. I loved it there!

  4. Wonderful poetry with enticing lines calling you to the north. And on a side note, I love the gas prices posted at 95.9 on the petro canada sign; if only!!

  5. I’ve never been to Alaska but I understand where you are coming from on this!

  6. Yes, a beautiful, wonderful poem… so filled with yearning. I like it. Thanks.

  7. The longing for home where your heart belongs is apparent in this piece and you expressed the emotions with so much passion I’m carried away.

    I just posted a poem with similar sentiment in my web nook. This is the third time I think that our thoughts are quite alike in our post.

    http://jeques.wordpress.com

  8. Opps, I forgot to say,

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  9. I can feel the yearning and anticipation in your poem. Good work. David

  10. What a magical place and beautifully described in this poem … I can see and feel why you carry it in your heart

  11. Hi Paisley, I am not a hot weather person and perhaps to many people a surprise, the North is not a place of year-round winter. Very pleasant albeit cooler temps. prevail for several months during the summer. It is a magical place. I think you’d love it, even if only for a visit.

    Hi Selma, If we are back up there by that time, you will have to stop in for tea (or maybe a glass of wine) ok! 😉

    Hi Ann, I noted the gas price too LOL. I wanted a pic with the highway so that was my only choice from my own photos, taken in the Yukon in 2007.

    Hi QP, Great to read!

    Hi David, Welcome and thanks so much for your kind words.

    Hi Jeques, “Home” was actually the Canadian Prairies but sadly, I never felt that I belonged there. The North, that was a different story. Yes, we have been on the same wavelength lately. I’m honored, your work is impressive.

    Hi Fenny, Nice to ‘see’ you and glad you liked this poem.

    To quote Jeques, “I wish you well” and thanks for your visits to MPP, G

  12. Lovely poem and the photo, wow!
    …but while I adore the cold, my “ailments” won’t allow me to enjoy it any longer.
    (((hugs)))

  13. Nice shot of a good old-fashioned Northern Canadian winter. I live at the very southern most tip of Canada at the moment, but miss living in the north. For me that was only Alberta, but very different climate than here. Miss those historic gas prices too! Was your title a reference to the Canadian TV show?

  14. Hi Sallee, Ouch…that’s no fun. 😦

    Hi Funnygirl, Welcome and thank you!

    Hi Deborah, Thanks for stopping in. I just visited your blog.

    The true north (North of 60) was a totally different experience for me. I lived in Sask. for (too)many years. Winters there are very cold and harsh. Up north (while living in the Yukon) yes, it was still cold but it was a rejuvenating and energizing place to be. So beautiful, so QUIET and serene. Ref. was to the fact that it was North of 60, where we were. I also enjoyed the series on TV. Loved your firefly post btw. That’s a sight I’d love to see!

    Thanks for stopping by; love to read your comments, G

Thank you for your comments!

