My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Wait for Me

35 Comments

Scanning the early morning light.
She slowly climbs the stone stairs.
As another day dawns.
Pale grey horizon.
Sea spray fills the air.
Salt: bitter taste on her parched lips.
Mingles with a wayward tear.
                           
Turbulent, ominous sea.
In control and in command.
To take away
and
hopefully
to
Return.
“Wait for me”
His last words.
Eyes so blue, kind and sure.
But even then….
Sharing their last embrace.
She sensed the darkness.
Drawing near.
Now she stands and stares.
Flaxen hair,
strays wildly from her crimson cloak.
Hands cold with fear.
Clutching the rails of the
 Widow’s Walk.
Breath comes hard.
Fighting her greatest fear.
                                        
Memories.
Holding his love close.
Wrapped in the veins of her heart.
Sensing him.
Wanting him.
Her one and only.
Precious and dear.
“Wait for me”
She whispers in reply.
 Trembling in the cold, biting wind.
Powerful needs of body and soul.
Dreams so fragile.
If only to glimpse his ship.
“Please God, oh please…”
…soon to be here?
Out on the ocean.
Dark and deep.
Furious, mighty waves.
The elements.
Sailors of the deep, calling.
These enemies surround him.
                            
He stands alone.
Stalwart, tall and brave.
Eyes facing.
Heart racing.
Homesick.
Homeward bound.
                    
Drawn…
Clinging to comforts.
Seeing her warm, welcoming smile.
Fragrance of lilies, fading.
Sighs and sorrow.
As another day returns to the night.
“Wait for me”
He shouts in vain;
 to the rain-drenched, thundering skies.
My everlasting promise:
To return to you.
Once again.
              
Love.
Will remain.
            Love.            
Will sustain.
              
“Wait for me”
*

 “Wait for Me” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Photo taken at Craigdarroch Castle, Victoria, British Columbia courtesy of: Flickr

PS: Many years ago, I walked up these same stairs, to the Widow’s Walk of this much-visited castle. Even now, I remember the feeling of being there and standing in the presence of those passed on. Spirits so real, perhaps still waiting.

**

Written for two of this weekend’s prompts:

“Wait for Me” at Search Engine Stories

“Stairway” at One Single Impression

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

35 thoughts on “Wait for Me

  1. Geraldine,
    That is a wonderful piece! Very romantic. I love it.

  2. Hautingly beautiful. You write so well!

  3. A haunting poem, Geraldine. A solemn promise, a desperate prayer. So beautiful, I had to read it again.

  4. Geraldine, this is wonderful! But so sad, I guess the widow walk is always that way. Thank you for checking on mine, I had to do it.
    ..

  5. Geradine, an excellent poem.
    Waiting for those we love ca be difficult.
    Thank You for sharing it.

  6. That eerie sense of spirit you felt on the Widows Walk is certainly alive in your poem! Beautifully written!

  7. There is a such a Celtic feel to this piece. I immediately thought of all the wonderful Arthurian legends I love. Romance, longing, fear of separation, loss, the power of love – so many emotions and states of being come to the fore. What an evocative piece. You really are a fantastic writer. I feel honoured to know you.

  8. Selma said celtic, I was thinking gothic! Great poem, I could feel the sadness in it.

  9. romantic and sad, I like the two viewpoints and how they have the same thought, they might even think of each other at the same time, reminds me of ancient times, King Arthur and such

  10. Hi Sandy, These were both such wonderful prompts from your blog OSI and Selma’s at SES. I immediately felt inspired and believe me, that’s not always the case with prompts LOL. 😉

    Hi TourGuide, You are very kind. Thank you!

    Hi Barb, I do that too when I come upon a written work that really hits home. Thanks so much.

    Hi Chris, Welcome and thanks very much.

    Hi Jim, It is sad but I tried to leave the ending ‘open’ for a happy one as well. Widow’s walks are sad places though, no doubt about that. I’ve walked along a couple of them, over the years.

    Hi Edward, Welcome to MPP. Waiting for loved ones can be a painful experience. In this case it would have been even harder, not knowing the outcome at all.

    Hi Gemma, I was pleased with my results this time. Did quite a bit of ‘tweaking’ before I finished though. Thanks so much.

    Hi Selma, Oh what a sweetie you are. Your encouragement and feedback mean so much. I am honored to know you and to experience and share your talents over at SITC and SES. Wonderful!

    Hi Sandy, I tried to make this a very evocative piece, seems to have worked. Thanks very much.

    Hi Lissa, I started with the thought of only including the woman’s perspective but then I thought that adding the man’s viewpoint out in the middle of the harsh ocean would be a good finish.

    Your feedback, comments and visits at MPP are always appreciated, G 🙂

  11. This should be set in song. It begins a beautiful, bittersweet scene in my mind and then the story unfolds. Super.

  12. Such yearning and sadness…hauntingly beautiful!

  13. I love the old sea shanty feel of this piece. I could hear a minstral singing this.

  14. ..an artistic bath tub or the sea..it’s water after all,but the difference remains ..ur evocative poem explores the hoary depths of emotion..thanks for sharing this..

  15. Oh my goodness…..tears rolling down my cheeks….this was haunting, powerful, beautiful, sad, longing, all at once.

    You have absolutely outdone yourself with this one, G. It’s fantastic.

  16. that is a perfect response to the photo…it seems as though you lived this poem in vivid detail!

  17. An ancient setting with an age old enduring emotional story. The hope at parting, the uncertainty of return, the living on a fringe of despair and destiny all hinged together with your words so wonderfully woven together. Lovely.

  18. so tender, sopoignant

  19. A very evocative poem, Geraldine. Haunting, sad and beautiful!

  20. Beautifully written. The photo is perfect too!

  21. You’ve captured the concept of the widow’s walk in a hauntingly poignant manner. Nice!

  22. Hi Quiet.., Thank you so much. It does have a ‘ballad’ feel to it, doesn’t it?

    Hi Fledgling, Welcome to MPP. Thank you for your kind words.

    Hi Pam, Glad you liked it.

    Hi Zoya, I tried to bring out the emotions of both people. Glad it’s coming through my words.

    Hi Michelle, Dear friend, thank you for your continued support. Glad this poem in particular touched you deeply.

    Hi Qualcosa, Welcome. Perhaps in another life? This was a very easy poem for me to write; the words just flowed. It did feel personal. Amazing but true.

    Hi Ann, All elements that I was trying to convey. Thanks so much for mentioning these specific details that you noted. Very helpful and encouraging.

    Hi DeLi, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Autumn, Welcome and glad you’ve joined Selma’s writing group. Glad to meet you. Thanks for your visit and kind words.

    Hi Teric, I loved this photo as I had walked these steps and remember the experience vividly. Perhaps in another time too?

    Hi Tumblewords, Glad you enjoyed this work.

    Your comments and insights are very much appreciated and always helpful. This was a poem that I loved writing and have also been happy re-reading. Perhaps for more reasons than I previously thought. G

  23. makes me wanna cry… nothing like a wonderful love story and it is so real… i believe what you say about spirits waiting… you caught their love so perfectly… could feel the salty breeze and hear the ocean sounds… the next time im on the water i will remember clinging comforts and catch sight of his fading ship/…

  24. Very melodious and haunting. I can feel their strength together although they’re miles apart.

  25. Romantic. Haunting. Tender. Eerie. Sad. Yearning. Faith and Hope. Doom. You have blended these feelings together to weave a spellbinding, timeless story. We all wait and we all can identify. A widow’s walk can come in many shapes and settings.

  26. Powerful, Geraldine, very powerful. That tie to him. And the pounding sea.

    Widows’ peaks have always fascinating me too.

  27. (Oops. I meant *fascinated*.)

  28. My first time here ..Im touched by the aroma ..feels home …love so intense wrapping us gently

  29. Hi Pie, Thanks for the excellent and helpful feedback. I feel that in writing, if I can convey the sights,sounds and emotions via my words in a tangible way that I’ve ‘nailed it’. Seems to be the case this time.

    Hi Patois, Welcome to MPP. thanks for your kind words. Love your avatar pic btw!

    Hi Annie, Again, as I said to Pie when I achieve these things in a written work, I am very pleased. Thanks so much for your compliments and thoughts on this work.

    Hi Jason, Nice to ‘see’ you again and thanks for your feedback. Always appreciated.

    Hi Nasra, Thanks so much and welcome to MPP.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your comments, G 🙂

  30. a tragically beautiful tale of lost,, but everlasting,, love……

  31. This is a masterpiece,so beautifully written.

  32. I very much enjoyed reading your wonderful poem and agree with the commentors above. Thanks, David

  33. Incredibly moving. Thank you.

  34. Hi Paisley, True love is everlasting, isn’t it? Such a wonderful thought to ponder.

    Hi Joe, Ahhhh….thanks sweetie! 🙂

    Hi David, Thanks for stopping in. I am enjoying your prompt posts too.

    Hi Brad, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much!

    Loved writing this poem.
    Loved reading the comments and feedback too.

    Thanks for your continued support, G

Thank you for your comments!

