My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Some thoughts on butterflies…

14 Comments

 Is there anything more beautiful than a butterfly?

These lovely creatures symbolize: freedom, grace, rebirth, renewal, letting go and new beginnings; to name but a few reasons for their universal and eternal appeal.

 The origin of the name/word “butterfly” remains a mystery. I found many links interpreting “butter fly” in a variety of ways. I’ve included some of these links at the end of this post.

My most popular post continues to be the following poem.

For obvious reasons, it remains closest to my heart….

Butterfly….
                       
Finally free to fly again.
Up above.
Far from the troubles and sadness.
This world had been for too long.
         
You are with me…
Day by day.
Tangible.
Your presence stronger than ever.
Your touch, always within reach.
               
As you flit among the flowers and the trees.
Sharing your beauty.
A miracle of grace and rebirth.
No longer sadness, only joy and release.
               
As the spring becomes the summer.
May you bask in the warmth you loved so much.
Skim the lake, savor the scents, seeing clearly.
And being all that you were, once again.
              
Up in the blue, blue skies.
And in my heart.
Forever and unchanged.
Butterfly…. 
You shall remain.
        
GHH
                                                               
Dedicated to my mother:
Helen Ruth Hartman, who passed on in May 2007.
                                  
These glorious butterfly photos are courtesy of my blog friend Ann.
Do stop by her blog  to experience many varieties of butterflies and moths and retreat to the wonders of some of New Brunswick’s breathtaking scenery. For me, a visit there is always a welcome opportunity for peaceful reflection and a break during hectic and often stressful days.
Ann vividly captures the magic and diversity of nature in her photos and words and of particular interest for me, the incredible beauty of butterflies.
**
Here are some links with more butterfly facts:
Wishing you all a peaceful, serene and happy day, G
                                  
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

14 thoughts on “Some thoughts on butterflies…

  1. Geraldine,

    How wonderful it is to read a poem as lovely as the subject ~

    this is a very colorful poem visually, descriptive of the butterfly in the surface as represented by the obvious, but what made it more appealing is the true meaning within the poem which is a representation and descriptive of your mother which the TRUE HEART OF THE POEM.

    The poem succeed to capture the mind with its rich imagery

    and the heart with the rich sentiments expressed in honor of the beautiful butterfly in your life : Your mother.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    postscripts: it’s been awhile – work as usual – and ’tis always a great and relaxing experience to return here and hover in your poetic path.

  2. I’ve been enjoying my visits and I wanted to say hi too. 🙂 Beautiful poetry with Ann’s stunning shots! WOW!

  3. Geraldine, this is a wonderful tribute to your mother and poetry that many of us can identify with. Your words are very touching and I can personally identify with them as well for I also lost my mom a few years ago.

    Your have arranged the text and photos in a lovely presentation and I am honoured with your choice and use of butterfly photos. I also appreciate your mention of my blog. Thank you.
    Ann

  4. while i have always thought them beautiful, it was not until i suffered the death of a loved one that i came to share this affinity with butterflies… to this day,, ever time one crosses my path, i think of him,, and hope he is “thinking” of me….

  5. I agree. Gorgeous pictures!

    Wonderful tribute, Geraldine.

  6. Lovely poem, Geraldine. And, I will go look at Anne’s butterfly blog. Thanks for adding me to your blog list. I see I am in very good company.

  7. Geraldine,
    Your friend’s photos are outstanding. They are a beautiful introduction to the very beautiful poem about your mother. Wow.

  8. Hi Jeques, Thank you again for your insightful and thoughtful comments about my work. Always appreciated. My mother IS my butterfly; that is so true.

    Hi Tammy, How wonderful to ‘see’ you dear friend. Glad you are enjoying the posts and yes, I agree Ann’s photos are stunning.

    Hi Ann, I am so glad that you enjoyed how I presented your wonderful photos and the words to accompany. Thank you again for sharing these and for all your amazing posts. I love them all!

    Hi Paisley, I hope your loved one is with you in spirit, always. For me, it’s what makes a loved ones passing bearable.

    Hi Jason, Thanks dear friend. Love to read your comments and glad you’ve enjoyed this post.

    Hi Sandy, Ann has 3 blogs and they are all amazing! Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Sandy C, I’m glad you enjoyed this one Sandy. The photos were such an inspiration.

    Thanks so much for your kind words and visits to MPP, G 🙂

  9. What a wonderful poem. As I read it, I had a feeling there was a link between that poem and your mother. 🙂

    The photos are just stunning!

  10. Ahh, butterflies. What beauty and mystic! A thousand romantic poems on wings. Joyful yet melancholy. Transparent and mysterious at the same time. I love them.

    Love your little ode, as well.

  11. I cried when I read this. I believe butterflies are sent from above as a sign when times are bad. To give us hope. What a beautiful poem. Unforgettable.

  12. Hi Michelle, I know there is. When I read it, I often feel a flutter on my shoulder, as if a butterfly is there with me. Amazing but true. It’s been a very popular post judging by the stats so it seems that many people can relate.

    Hi Chris, Beautiful and mystical indeed!

    Hi Selma, I believe butterflies are magical too. My mother seems to communicate to me, through butterflies. It’s happened many times already. The butterfly was her ‘signature’ piece in jewelry etc…and now her symbol from the other side.

    Thanks for all your visits and wonderful feedback; always appreciated, G

  13. As lovely now as when you first shared it with us, the photos compliment it so well…
    (((hugs)))

  14. I’m WAY behind but doing my best to catch up. I love these butterfly images and your lovely poem dedicated to your Mother. Thank you so much for sharing … and I’m honored you’ve decided to add me to your Blog Roll. Hope you’re having a lovely day ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

Thank you for your comments!

