My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Life Lesson: To Resolve

20 Comments

 

When life is hard.
To resolve.
To stand firm.
In our convictions and our decisions.
Becomes  a daunting task .
 
When life is easy.
The confidence flows.
Our minds are clear.
No negative, nagging doubts to hold us back.
Resolve comes smoothly and without;
the draining , regretful glance to the past.
 
Decisions:
Without them.
Nothing moves.
Stagnation forms a thick, suffocating film.
Shrouding us in darkness.
Watching in despair as;
the Good Life happens to someone else.
 
To find balance.
That happy medium of:
Caution not fear.
Patience not immobility.
Always to strive for.
Always to search for.
A precious and significant reward.
Worthy of the journey.
The casting aside of our fears.
 
Resolve.
The Promise of…
Cutting through delays .
No  more wasted days.
Drawing our line in the sand.
Soaring up to experience.
A leap of faith.
Yes.
No.
Not,maybe so.
 
To resolve:
I
will
live
and
live
with
my decisions.
    Today.       

GHH 

Written for the OSI Prompt for August 24th: Resolve. Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

20 thoughts on “A Life Lesson: To Resolve

  1. Hey Geraldine, this is neat. Well, not maybe so. BTW, I never like to say “I think … ,” instead make it a positive and say how I stand!
    ..

  2. Ah, to do! What a marvelous poem, Geraldine. Just the inspiration I needed today. Thanks.

  3. Is it universal that women just have a hard time living with their decisions? I do! This piece says so much. I like what you say about balance and fear and faith. Maybe it is because we can perceive so very many sides and options.

  4. Excellent wise words. I am a major league second-guessing, re-thinking, non-deciding fool. I am, however, very good at worry. I have very mixed feelings about resolve. It seems often most freely wielded by crazy fools like Bush. That last statement isn’t true, of course. Lots of wonderful wise people resolve to do, say, think and pursue very wise and good ends. I’m just in a funk today. I like your poem very much.

  5. Inspiring words, there. And so true.

  6. Living with our decisions is hard but once something is done, it’s done. I used to vacillate with my decisions but now I just stick with them. It seems easier somehow.

  7. It is not easy to make certain decisions. However, I try to stick with mine after making one!

    Ruing

  8. Well written! Indeed, resolve is not always easy!

  9. A non-decision is the darkest kind of decision.

  10. Hi Jim, Sounds like you are a ‘take charge kind of guy’!

    Hi Sandy, I love to inspire; glad this was the case.

    Hi Quietpaths, Great prompt this week, thanks! Some good points you’ve brought up. I thought in my case I was just being ‘wishy washy’ in terms of not being able to stand my ground and stick to my first decision, too many times.

    Hi Raven, I hope the ‘funk’ has come and gone. I’m in one too many days but try to get past the feeling as soon as I can. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Anthony, Thanks so much.

    Hi Selma, Good for you. It can be very hard at times though, can’t it?

    Hi Gautami, And same to you. As I said to Selma, sometimes easier said than done.

    Hi Teric, Thanks so much.

    Hi Sue, That certainly is the way it is for me but I am getting better as I get older. A perk of aging LOL!!!

    Hi Jason, Ohhhh…I hear you friend. Been there, done that to grave consequences and not just once. Live and learn, live and learn….sigh.

    Thanks so much for your insightful comments. I am having trouble opening links to other blogs from here today, don’t know why. I’ll visit later on or tomorrow. To those who responded to this OSI prompt, looking forward to reading your take on this one.

    Have a wonderful week, G 🙂

  11. I hate wishy washiness. A decision is always crucial. Good or bad. Right or wrong. How do we know for sure? We don’t. I say, just make one and have faith.

  12. Geraldine, another wise woman poem. I really like this prompt. We all seem to be on the same path, don’t we?

    I am glad I am not the only one having problems with links this week. It seems better this morning.

  13. ..it’s not an easy job to explain a (any) mental process
    -u’ve done that with aesthetics..many thanks..

  14. Hi Chris, I do too Chris (re: the wishy…) but I have been just that on too many occasions. I am working to be more decisive and sure of my decisions now. A life long task that’s worthwhile. Good points you’ve brought up.

    Hi Sandy, We do indeed, with slight variations on the basics eh? THe link problem seems to have been RESOLVED. 😉

    Hi Zoya, Thank you for that. A good prompt but you’re right, tricky to explain a mental process.

    Wishing you all a wonderful day, G 🙂

  15. Wisdom-filled piece, Geraldine.

    And I take every grain of positive thoughts this poem is trying to impart and had successfully achieved.

    Decisions could either make or break us – but contrary to that, I always believe in my heart that there’s is no such thing as right or wrong decision, we just need to stand by the choices we make. For there is no such a thing as bad experience either for a person who sees apportunity even in adversity. All that life lays infront of us are things we need so we become the master piece that God has drawn in the master plan he has prepared for us. And all He asks us is to live.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  16. perfectly titled.. funny but i feel as if my resolve,, has evolved,, and there are so many fewer reasons to take a stand these days….

  17. Hi Jeques, Thank you for a very insightful comment. Standing by our decisions can be hard but it’s worth it, isn’t it.

    Hi Paisley, Another lesson to learn….does it ever end?

    Thanks again to everyone who commented on this poem; always appreciated, G

  18. Absolutely wonderful! I love your poetry and this is so well written. Also I love the photo; to choose the right one is as difficult as sometimes carrying through with the message. Its often so much easier to give the desired response, than to follow up with the carry through sometimes.

  19. Yes it’s hard to keep one’s resolve, Geraldine, whether life is easy or hard, don’t you think? Thanks for your thoughtful poetry! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

