My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

If Only….

18 Comments

If only….
        
There was a way to revisit the past.
With wisdom and experience to lean on.
Just once more.
To chart the course of our destiny.
Wave the magic wand.
A journey:
Re-mapped.
 
If only….
  
Someone had cared enough.
To have talked about consequences.
The years to come and to pay with.
Chances left behind forever.
Not even a consideration.
Blinded by the glow of youth
Our halcyon, carefree days.
They didn’t last.
How could they?
 
If only….
   
We could forgive ourselves.
The “mistakes” along the way.
The fork in the road we were left to ponder.
Alone.
To have chosen the:
Wrong path
Wrong people.
Wrong life to live?
 
If only….
   
We could hold on.
To be ever vigilant.
For new dreams to dream.
Shining, glittering stars to reach for.
Roads still to be travelled.
To find the spirit and perseverance needed.
To hope.
Once again.
 
 
And the Light.
Sweet Light.
To shine upon us.
And on the steps.
Now taken tentatively and with contemplation.
Brilliant, warming, rejuvenating Light
To illuminate.
And guide us through.
All our remaining days.
 
If only….

                                                                                          

Written for the Search Engine Stories prompt for August 30, 2008

“If Only….” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

18 thoughts on “If Only….

  1. an absolutely beautiful poem of longing,, and in its own way acceptance at the same time…

  2. you put it beautifully the longings of our hearts, it’s very hard to forgive and start anew when there’s so much baggage we can’t let go

    nicely written

  3. Beautiful poem. If only I’d listened to the people who did try to tell me the consequences. Ah, youth and immortality.

  4. If only more people contemplated things as you do, the world would be a better place. When I am feeling down I am often besieged by those ‘if only’ moments. So much in life doesn’t turn out as we had hoped, does it? But I do believe that hope is a way of counteracting regret, and that continuing to dream lets the light shine. What a magnificent poem.

  5. Forgiveness is key, isn’t it? It’s a tough wall to break down – yet break it we must in order for Sweet Light to shine through.

  6. Ah, to go back with wisdom. There are many things I would love to set right. Life is a stern teacher sometimes.

  7. Beautiful poem. If only I’d listened to the people who did try to tell me the consequences. Ah, youth and immortality- Chris.

    I,too, didn’t listen. I was once told “you’re not listening now because you’re young. but one day you’ll be my age and you’ll remember converstion- and it all came to pass.

    Wonderful, thought-provoking poem, Geraldine. Thanks, David

  8. Beautiful poem, Geraldine. Indeed very thought-provoking and contemplative. Well done.

  9. Hi Paisley, Thanks so much. I tried to convey not only the regrets but the hopeful (ie accepting) aspect too. Glad this came through.

    Hi Lissa, Baggage! Now that’s a term that I can relate to. Very hard to let go at times when the consequences continue to impact our lives.

    Hi Carrie, Youth and immortality indeed!

    Hi Selma, That’s one of the great things about blogging. All the contemplating and musing happening in cyberspace. It is encouraging isn’t it? Thanks for the lovely compliment.

    Hi Chris, It certainly is a big factor…

    Hi Sandy, I’m guessing you are in the majority. I know I’d re-write a page or two of my life story, to date….

    Hi David, Thanks so much. I guess what age isn’t the whole story, is it?

    Hi Autumn, Thanks so much. Interesting avatar pic!!!

    Thanks for your insightful comments, most appreciated, G

  10. The possibilities of the future begin as a journey to the end of the rainbow and the treasures awaiting them. However rainbows fade and the search for the pot of gold most often leads to mistaken roads and unexpected trials encountered. If only…… so true, true, true.
    ann

  11. I suppose the greatest goal is to live a life without true regrets.

  12. Good philosophy – enjoy and appreciate the simple pleasures and the people in our lives…
    (((hugs)))

  13. Hi Ann, Sounds like this poem struck a chord with you. Good to know these sentiments and thoughts about the past are shared, makes it easier to think about for me, some of my ‘wrong turns’ along the way.

    Hi Jason, Does anyone achieve this? I wonder….

    Hi Knitnana, I think your comment landed in the wrong place. Thanks anyways…simple pleasures are indeed the best!

    Hugs and thanks for stopping in, G 🙂

  14. Geraldine,

    I always believe that it’s not always too late, that what we missed to do in our yesterdays could still be done today, and tomorrow is now.

    Your words just flow so well and gracefully. The emotions laid are almost tangible, I’m carried away. I could almost sense the rhythms of your heartbeats between the lines knowing that your words in this poem are the true language of your heart and it succeed to speak to me, to my heart. After all, poetry is a conversation of the hearts of the poet and the readers. We just had a lovely conversation. Thank you.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Please read my latest post:

    “Notice Me”

  15. Hi Jeques, What a lovely start to my day. I’ve been having a very difficult week. Your complimentary words and heartfelt sentiments (always) mean so much.

    I will definitely stop by soon. G

  16. Pingback: Wishing Things Could Be Different « Search Engine Stories

  17. Hi Geraldine, I really liked this poem – it has a lot of words of wisdom in there!

  18. Ah if only we could know it all … but then again … life wouldn’t be half as exciting 🙂

Thank you for your comments!