My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

More Simple Pleasures…

16 Comments

Some of the best things in life are the most basic of pleasures.

What could be finer or more satisfying than freshly made; lovingly served: Toast, Jam and Tea

Now with cooler temperatures on the way…perhaps after contemplating this photo; the inspiration will follow to head into your kitchen for a baking/cooking session.

Pictured above: Quickie Oatmeal Bread from my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians and homemade blueberry jam to go with.

Recipe for quick and easy jams are included at the link above.

Savor the simple things. Take nothing for granted.       🙂

Photo: 2006 © Geraldine Hartman

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “More Simple Pleasures…

  1. “Savor the simple things. Take nothing for granted”

    Truer words were never – er, typed.

  2. Mmmm that looks yummy. That reminds me it is time to make apple butter…one of my fall pleasures. 🙂

  3. It looks warm and crunchy. 🙂

  4. Great minds must think alike. I miss baking bread in the hot weather. It is time for getting back to all those cozy pleasures.

  5. Looks perfect to me, Geraldine!

  6. Oooh, that looks so good. I just stopped by Noah’s Ark, our little town’s organic boutique, to get some loose raspberry leaf tea. I could use a cup right now as it is mighty chilly down here in our neck of the woods.

  7. Geraldine,

    For a Filipino like me, “Tapsilog” is the simple pleasure I get for a breakfast. It’s a popular filipino combi breakfast meal.

    “Tap” – for “Tapa” or thinly marinated beef and fried

    “Si” – for “Sinangag” or our filipino version of fried rice in garlic.

    “Log” – for “Itlog” or egg – cooked to your choice, scrambled or sunny-side up, or over easy, your choice really!

    And since I’m a coffee drinker at breakfast, a mug of coffee would complete my simple breakfast pleasures.

    Thanks for this salivating tasteful post. It works great in my sense of taste.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Please read my new post:

    “Notice Me”

  8. I think I want to come and live with you, Geraldine. Home made bread and jam, black tea and lots of poetry. Sounds perfect.

  9. I’m jealous… homemade bread and jam sounds delicious! Add tea and the moment is sublime!

  10. Hi Carrie, I’m learning how important the phrase “take nothing for granted” truly is. Glad you liked the post.

    Hi Ruinwen, How lovely to ‘see’ you again dear friend. Yummm….apple butter, that sounds terrific!

    Hi Jason, In my opinion, it doesn’t get much better than homemade bread toasted with a side of fresh preserves and a cup of tea!!! Crunchy indeed. 😉

    Hi Sandy, I am NOT a hot weather person and part of that is all about not being able to cook (ie with oven on etc) for lengthy periods of time. I LOVE to cook and summer is not the time for much of that.

    Hi Sandy C, Thanks so much!

    Hi Chris, Sounds like a great brew coming up. Stay warm.

    Hi Jeques, Interesting combo for breakfast that would be. The coffee part, now that’s what I can’t do without.

    Hi Selma, Aren’t you nice! I love to cook that’s for sure. The Oatmeal Quickie bread from my cookbook is such a popular recipe. Easy to make when a pot of hearty soup or veggie chili is simmering. How does that sound?

    Hi Teaescapade, Welcome. I LOVE your avatar photo. I agree, sounds sublime.

    Thanks for your tasty comments and I wish you all a wonderful day, G 🙂

  11. Very true – and very well put.

  12. I love toast and jam. That’s it, I am so easily led! Forget the oatmeal, its toast and jam for me for breakfast this morning! 🙂

  13. Hello Dave, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your compliments!

    Hello Ann, I can sooooo relate. I love toast especially made from homemade bread. Jam optional but nice. 😉

    Thanks for stopping in, G

  14. Lovely and so soothing. I was stopped by a flower last night. Felt the same experience.

  15. Looks VERY temptingly tasty ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  16. Absolutely lovely sunset!
    (((hugs)))

Thank you for your comments!

