My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Bells

16 Comments

The bells are ringing.
Calling flocks of believers.
Summoning those resolute.
Determined for a cause.
Glorious peals and tolls of doom.
Messengers and harbingers.
Remainders and reminders of centuries past.
 
Bride, radiant and glowing.
A vision in white.
Easter lilies and crimson red roses.
Fragrant cascade and fervent hopes.
Awaiting the first chimes to call her beloved.
Then jubilant, triumphant peals.
As they walk together, hand in hand.
While morning doves soar in flight.
Glorious melodious morning.
A moment in time.
Burnished in their hearts.
Sealed in golden time.
Forever.
 
A young soldier.
Lies in bed as another night closes in.
Listening to his heart.
Frightened.
But from depths unknown.
Eager and ready.
Stalwart; he awaits his call.
That same sad toll his mother dreads.
Off to battle.
Perhaps never to return.
Now, there is no escaping.
As the bell drones on….
 
The Angelus.
Noon-time brings blessed chimes.
A brief pause to reflect and renew.
Soothing, serene sound.
Now the traffic of life swallows up and silences;
this sweet refrain.
No longer time to stop.
To be still and silent.
For little more than the few moments gained.
As we scurry through; yet another day.
 
The bells of December.
Bell-ringers, resplendent in their festive garb.
Call on the angels.
With strains of the Halleluiah Chorus.
And bring a special magic to the season.
Outside; the snow continues to fall.
Frosting the emerald trees.
Painting a scene of wonder and light.
 
Bells…
Small and large.
Gold, bronze and silver.
Smooth metal, shimmering in white towers.
Sometime blackened and cracked.
May they remain.
A special part of our future.
And for all those to come.
Not resigned to the fading, forgotten past.
 
**
 
“The Bells” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

16 thoughts on “The Bells

  1. I liked the December Bells! Your poetry rocks! My poems sound so childish compared to yours! LOL!

  2. G, I love how you conjured up the different emotions connected with bells. Lovely and thought provoking. XXOO

  3. I haven’t heard the different connotations of a ringing bell articulated so well before. The Christmas bells do it for me – so joyful, so full of promise. I also love the Angelus, makes me believe in a higher power. This was a real treat!

  4. The ringing of the bells, its many different forms and the emotions and thoughts and memories it summon with its beckoning sounds – you put them all together here in a fine and lovely entwining of thoughts in a poem , cohesively one sealed together by your gift.

    Each part bring me to different settings – to enchanting thoughts – having the ringing of bells as the soundtrack at the back of my head. You effectively used the sound to make an impact to the sense of hearing to conjure waves of nostalgia and tell stories.

    You succeed to enter my mind, Geraldine, stirring my imagination using my ears as your point of entry to my heart with this poem where it speaks the loudest.

    Thank you.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    My new poem posted:

    “Summer, Gone”

  5. Each stanza of The Bells evoked new meaning and fresh emotions…beautifully written. 🙂

  6. Haunting photo and verse.

  7. Why am I hearing Carol of the Bells, all of a sudden? This poem seems to prophetically symbolize Christmas, which I love. Good job, G.

  8. Hi Tball, Welcome and thanks! I’m glad this poem rocks. 😉

    Hi Tammy, That’s what I was hoping to achieve; thanks dear friend.

    Hi Selma, I love to hear bells ringing but sadly (at least in Canada) seems that is becoming an uncommon occurance. I use to love hearing the Angelus at noon. As a child it seemed so magical to me. Now, no longer heard. To some people (who complained) this beautiful melody of bells was just ‘noise’.

    Hi Jeques, What would I do without you dear friend! Another wonderful comment to contemplate and learn from. Thanks so much.

    Hi Ruinwen, Thanks so much, great to hear!

    Hi Jason, Glad you liked it Jason.

    Hi Chris, Glad I conjured up a wonderful image/memory for you Chris.

    Thanks so much for your visits/comments at MPP, always appreciated, G

  9. Lovely with so much thought within your words. Serious moments in life noted by the ringing of bells.

    I like the December bells and I have memories of my grandfather once hitching up the sleigh in the wintertime and the horse prancing along to the jingle of the bells. To keep warm I was covered with an old bearskin rug.
    ann

  10. You reminded me of how much I love the bells and how much they evoke. This is very, very beautiful.

  11. Hi Ann, Thanks so much. Your beautiful description of a winter remembered is so lovely. So nice you shared this.

    Hi Sandy, Thanks dear friend, much appreciated.

    Long may there be; the ringing of the bells, G

  12. I love this haunting poem, G! The imagery is so exquisite and the contrast between bride and soldier, churchbells and skyline…….sublime. It needs to be read aloud with muted Gregorian Latin chanting in the background.

  13. Hi Carrie, Ahh….what a lovely scene that conjures up. I am so glad you enjoyed this poem.

    Hi Gemma, Nice to ‘see’ you again and thank you.

    Hope you have a great day and thanks for your continued support, G 🙂

  14. Hauntingly beautiful poem, G. Mostly I associate bells with funerals. We lived near a Catholic church when I was young, and the bells always tolled when they were having a funeral service.

  15. This picture of the bells almost qualifies as a monochrome – two colours.
    It’s nice shot.
    Thanks for looking in – you would be very welcome to join in.

Thank you for your comments!

