My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Poem for Autumn

31 Comments

     

Season of splendour.

As Mother Earth gently rests her weary head.

Preparing for the long sleep ahead.

The Stillness:

Harbinger to the winter chill.

                                                   

But for now…

Nature’s paintbrush is busy.

With brilliant palette of crimson and gold.

The forest ablaze with color.

As the late summer sun still warms the days.

                                                                      

My favourite season.

It’s beauty far surpassing the others.

A magical time of awakenings and endings.

Like no other.

A joy to once again rediscover.

                                                                        

We  are reminded of another year’s passing.

Of changes, inevitable.

Required in all things.

And to everything there is a season,

and a reason we will find,

for all.

                                                          

Autumn.

It’s loveliness and wonder endures.

It’s arrival.

Always a feast for the senses.

A gilded gift we receive.

To dazzle and delight.

                     

We put away our thoughts.

Of the cold days ahead.

There is so much to enjoy right now.

Inspiring us.

Autumn’s beauty to behold.

                 **                     

GHH © 2000. Revised 2008.

PS: One of my most popular posts/poems judging by the stats at Veggies…. I thought it was worthy of an encore over here at MPP; at the start of my favorite season.

Hope you are all enjoying a beautiful fall, wherever you are. Here in Interior BC the weather is still very warm so the trees have not changed color yet (hence the file photo).         

Photo courtesy of flickr

The OSI prompt for September 21-27 is: Autumn.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

31 thoughts on “Poem for Autumn

  1. Wow I really liked this one, it reminded me of another poem I had once heard about fall being described the way you did! But I am not looking forward to fall cuz then it is the snow and all that shoveling…

    Here is the link to BONO

  2. You have captured a true Romantic sensibility here. The colours in Autumn are so spectacular it is only the most hardened of hearts that would not be moved by them. One of my favourite times of the year too. A time of inspiration and joy. What a lovely, inspiring piece!

  3. very glad you decided to share it over here… as i read i thought about how many poems must have been written about this very subject,, and how no two are exactly alike.. perspective… it is all in the perspective isn’t it????

  4. Excellent advice in that one stanza – be in the now, enjoy what is present, and don’t think about winter til it gets here!

  5. This is lovely and so true. I too love this season but am counting and wondering how many seasons of “falling leaves” I have left. I so long for the sweet taste of other summers. Beautiful job…………

    love-bd

  6. how beautifully put, there is beauty in autumn, much like summer, oh how we miss summer when it goes away

  7. I love it, Geraldine. Nature is very busy with her brushes before the big nap. This has me wondering if we’re like this, too; all busy and involved while we create and then in deep need of long rest. Beautifully done, friend. Thanks.

  8. A lovely meander through your responses to the change of season. I do like how you have structured the lines of each verse and how you freely range with your imagery. No wonder it receives many responses wherever you post this verse.

  9. Lovely. I especially like that last stanza…

  10. Geraldine, I just love this! Autumn’s beauty does far surpass the other seasons and Nature’s paintbrush is very busy! If it were set to music it would have to be the build up to the orchestra’s final crescendo!

    P.S. You commented on my sister’s poetry and called her Barb. My Bellavia is my sister Janice! While she certainly won’ t mind that you called her Barb (especially since you left her a lovely commentary on her wonderful poem), I just thought you’d want to know her name is Janice!

  11. Such an explosion of colour and beauty at such a time. You captured it well.

  12. ..look outside-autumn is a workshop for interior designers-thank u for the lovely
    perspective..

  13. The stillness of the photo is so well mirrored in your poem. To see stillness as a harbinger is a wonderful thought. I have spent all last week thinking about stillness and silent but this is yet another way of exploring this that I hadn’t thought of. Thank you.

  14. Beautiful scene and I like the cadence you’ve created here.

    Thanks, too, for coming by. Join us for Little Lovin’ Monday

  15. I too am struck by the way nature goes into a period of rest after such an amazing display. I’ve put my Autumn tanka,/a> over on my Disturbing the Dust blog.

  16. Autumn is my favorite season, too. I find it the most energizing season, as temperatures cool, the air clears, and the color stimulates.

  17. Hi Tball, Glad you enjoyed my poem. I do agree though, shovelling snow ain’t the greatest pastime but it sure can be a good workout! 😉

    Hi Selma, Thanks friend. Your continued support and feedback is so helpful and appreciated.

    Hi Paisley, Interesting to contemplate…it does seem to be the season that inspires poets very much. I can understand why, loving Autumn as I do.

    Hi Deborah, I love the change in seasons. I don’t think I’d want to live where there wasn’t four distinct seasons. They all have their beauty, don’t they?

    Hi Dreamer, Your comment made me sad. I hope you have many more of all the seasons to come….

    Hi Lissa, I am not a hot weather person so the challenge of living in a place with extremely hot temps. in summer (due I’m sure to global warming in large part)is not easy. I was glad to see the cooler weather arrive.

    Hi Sandy, I liked this imagery. Mother Nature and the paintbrushes thick with glorious crimson and gold paints….Glad you liked it S!

    Hi Julie, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your interesting comment. Much appreciated.

    Hi Raven, Thanks so much.

    Hi Barb, Thanks dear Barb and oopppsss…sorry about the name mix-up. I visit a LOT of blogs. It had to happen eventually. 😉

    Hi Tony, I’m glad you think so!

    Hi Zoya, It’s easy to be inspired by something or someone you love, isn’t it? Glad you liked this poem.

    Hi Pam, What an interesting comment. I feel that way about true stillness and silence. It’s so rare and hard to find nowadays. It was great to read that this gave you another perspective on these topics to ponder.

    Hi Susan, Welcome and thank you. I will stop by again soon.

    Hi Carole, I’ll be by soon.

    Hi Aine, It does have so much to offer doesn’t it? I feel rejuvenated this time of year. I don’t find Autumn to be a sad time as so many do.

    Thank you so much for your visits to MPP and comments, very much appreciated. Wishing you all a wonderful week, G 🙂

  18. I very much enjoyed your peaceful and pleasant piece.

  19. Lovely work – I’ll return to read it again when I’m feeling a need for color and uplifting!

  20. Very nice, G. And the photo is as contemplative as your words…
    (((hugs)))

  21. Yes, I think autumn is the prettiest season, too. Lovely poem and photo. I can tell you enjoy being outdoors.

  22. Lovely poem. Autumn is my favorite season too.

  23. Hi EG, Thanks so much!

    Hi Sue, I hope you do!!!

    Hi Sallee, I love this photo too.

    Hi Sandy, I love being outdoors. I need to find a way to spend more time outside in the fresh air, enjoying the wonders of nature.

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear!

    Glad you could stop by and thanks so much for your comments, G

  24. Geraldine,

    I arrived in America Autumn of 2006, and it became my favorite season since. It is like the sunset when we could sit back and watch life’s has beens and start dreaming for another day as we prepare to rest our body and soul to a peaceful slumber.

    My article Signs Of Autumn, with link below, is my personal reflections about this season.

    http://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/11/16/signs-of-automn/

    I love how you put together your own reflections of autumn in this poem with rich imagery and so much grace like the graceful descent of autumn leaves stirring my mind to proufound contemplations.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  25. autumn really is a ‘gilded gift’ as you so eloquently say

  26. Each one is just beautiful and makes autumn even more beautiful!

  27. Hi Jeques, Thanks for your continued support and very insightful comments. Most appreciated.

    Hi di Bello, I added that line when I recently revised this poem. Glad you liked this imagery.

    Hi Teric, Thanks Teri!

    Wishing all of my readers a beautiful Autumn, G 🙂

  28. A feast for the senses. You said it perfectly. I walk outside and listen, smell, and feel autumn and all my senses are awakened. I love it! Wonderful poem!

  29. I don’t know how I missed this very lovely, beautiful, totally fitting to the season, poem!!! I love it!
    ann

  30. Hi Melody, Thank you for your lovely compliment! I savor each day of Autumn too.

    Hi Ann, You are so nice, thanks so much for your continued support!

    Thanks to all the readers who continue to stop by to read this poem (hundreds each week, judging by the stats!) It seems that there are so many people who consider Autumn their favorite time of year, as I do too!

    I hope to capture some of the beauty of BC in Autumn in photos, next week. It’s been so warm here that the trees are not changing color as early as expected. How I love the maples when they are in full crimson hue.

    Wishing everyone a beautiful and rejuvenating Autumn, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

