My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

(Almost)Wordless Wednesday

9 Comments

” Remember to allow yourself “time outs” throughout the day. You might be the only person who does.”

                                                

 

 PS: I’ve been reading several posts lately (at numerous blogs) about how extremely stressed and rushed so many people are these days. I really think it’s extremely important and beneficial to plan breaks during each day, even if that’s only for a: 10 minute walk around the block, a long soak in the tub or a “knit break” that actually happens.

Sometimes it does take planning to make sure personal quality time happens. It’s not selfish but it is essential for continued good health and peace of mind.

I’ve included this tranquil photo to gaze upon for your viewing pleasure. I hope it helps a bit too. Sometimes just looking at a peaceful scene can have a very calming and relaxing effect.

Photo and quote © Geraldine H. Hartman

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

9 thoughts on “(Almost)Wordless Wednesday

  1. I’m grateful to not only love what I do for work, but also to live in a small tranquil town that has work/life balance naturally instilled in its culture. I honestly could say that 99.9% of the time, my days are stress-free. Though I wonder how much longer I can get away with it.

  2. I feel very stressed and rushed a lot of the time. Unfortunately, I have started to have some of the panic attacks that used to plague me in my youth. I need to take your excellent advice on board. What a gorgeous photo. You live in such a lovely area. I would feel tranquil all the time if I lived there. Thanks for the uplifting post!

  3. That’s a wonderful photo and a delightful thought, Geraldine. You are so right!

    I have given up on showers. I bathe at night and relax and read for as long as I feel like it at the end of the day. It is such a treat. So is the morning walk. Just part of what is necessary to love the day.

    You are wonderful. Thanks for the gift of this blog.

  4. I do take small walks with my camera throughout the day. That is usually very relaxing.
    That photo is wonderful. Almost like being there.

  5. That is a wonderful reminder! And the photo is gorgeous.

    I have always preserved little moments for myself through the day. The hardest time to accomplish this (and most stressed period of my life) was during the first year of infancy with each of my girls. Naturally, that is the time when we most need such time outs!

  6. Hi Chris, What a smart and talented guy you are! I am learning a lot, stopping in at your blog. Glad I found my way there, via Selma’s.

    Hi Selma, Panic attacks….been there, done that…just before I became very ill and unable to do anything, due to stress. You need time outs Selma and right now! Take care of yourself friend, it’s worth it. It’s a hard climb back to good health, when you lose this valuable gift.

    Hi Sandy C, You certainly do have some great ideas on taking care of yourself and of others. I am always inspired stopping by your blogs. A nice hot soak in the tub…ahhhh…that sounds perfect!

    Hi Sandy, Another great stress busting tip, thanks Sandy!

    Hi Aine, I don’t think anyone works harder than moms. I bet you are a wonderful mother.

    Thanks for stopping in and leaving a comment, most appreciated, G 🙂

  7. beautiful photo. Yes breaks are vital to recharge the batteries.

  8. Your words ring true for sure! i try to go for a walk each day and if not finding the time to leave home I take a walk around my looking about for signs of changes or just enjoying the beauty found there. The scene you have included is very beautiful!!

  9. This calm and restful scene surely sets the stage for a slow breath and a shoulder roll! Lovely!

Thank you for your comments!

