My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Moonlight and Roses

21 Comments

A call to romance.
Softly sighs….
This time, to surrender.
As we sway to the dance.
Full harvest moon, lights a quiet path.
Surrounded by the scent of fragrant floral notes.
Night falls, to cast it’s magic spell.
As we leave the day behind.
Music of another time.
Yet perfectly in tune.
Velvet and lavish lace.
So fitting and fine in this beautiful place.
Life’s sweet moments of mystery.
Elevating our senses and sensibilities.
Moonlight and roses.
Return to us…
our timeless, treasured memories.
                         
***
  

“Moonlight and Roses” © Geraldine H. Hartman. Written for the October 4th SES prompt: Flowers Under Moonlight. Photo courtesy of:  Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

21 thoughts on “Moonlight and Roses

  1. how romantic, wonderful to read

    thanks for commenting at my blog, I guess the commenting is working now, still no idea why the error before

    you are quick with the prompts/writings

  2. You have me thinking of how mystery elevates our senses. This is a beautiful post, Geraldine. Thanks.

  3. A quaint, refreshing poem.

  4. Ooooo, Geraldine, such a romantic, lovely poem and gorgeous photo accompanying it! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  5. Beautiful imagery accompanying a beautiful picture.

  6. This was such a treat to read. Made me think of the old song ‘Moonglow.’ Your poem is evocative of another time. There is a classic sense of romance about it. If only I could waltz, I would after reading this. Instead I might watch an old black and white movie by candlelight. How lovely.

  7. A wonderful writing that brings warmth inside of me on this chilly fall night. Thank you.

  8. Delightful poetry…! And white roses are my favorite!
    (((hugs)))

  9. Very beautiful, G. I’ll always think of white roses now when I see the moon!

  10. loved this poem, especially these lines:

    Life’s sweet moments of mystery.
    Elevating our senses and sensibilities.

  11. Hi Lissa, We can never have enough romance, can we! 😉

    Hi Sandy, That’s been my experience.

    Hi Gemma, Thank you!

    Hi Mary, I’m so glad you liked it.

    Hi Carrie, I thought the photo was perfect to accompany this romantic poem.

    Hi Selma, I like to be transported to another time and place reading a story or poem. Glad I accomplished this here.

    Hi Bear, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much.

    Hi Sallee, I love them too especially the creamy white ones. Perfect!

    Hi Michelle, Such a lovely combination to consider!

    Hi Tball, That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Being lifted up to a higher place.

    Thanks so much for your comments, much appreciated, G 🙂

  12. Yes, this did feel timeless. Thank you for taking us a step beyond the moment.

  13. What a beautiful poem G! That rose was perfect with your words. XXOO

  14. “Surrounded by the scent of fragrant floral notes”

    Great line. Beautiful poem. Good work. Thanks. DavidM

  15. I feel like I’m floating. Beautiful words to bring out marvelous thoughts.

    🙂

  16. Hi Jason, Thank you so much. I’m glad that’s how this poem made you feel.

    Hi Tammy, Isn’t that a wonderful photo!

    Hi David, Thanks so much David. I’m glad I recently found my way to your blog, via Selma’s.

    Hi Texas, Maybe your dancing!!! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and also for your comments, most appreciated, G

  17. Beautiful words in this one. It take you there.

  18. I really like this Geraldine. Who says romance is dead?

  19. I love the musicality and movement throughout this poem and the lovely alliterations as well – “velvet and lavish” followed by “fitting and fine” are my favorites. Very nice. Thanks!

  20. Hi Tony, I’m glad it did!

    Hi Sandy, Definitely NOT! Long live romance. 😉

    Hi Kayt,Welcome and thanks so much for your kind words.

    May there be a candlelight dinner and dancing til dawn in your future, sooner rather than later.

    Hugs, G

  21. Congratulations on being highlighted on Poets Who Blog! A well deserved tribute!!

Thank you for your comments!

