My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Love is Never Ending

29 Comments

Yesterday, I missed you even more than usual.
 
 
Memories that tug at my heart.
The simple, everyday…
at the time “taken for granted” moments.
                      
Coffee or lunch at our favorite place.
The many, many laughs we shared.
Shopping for that elusive “perfect” pair of shoes.
All the treats that I didn’t really need;
 but you wanted me to have.
Time well spent in the kitchen.
And so much more…
                       
I felt the weight of your absence.
Your photo on the fridge; still smiling at me.
This time; such a sad, small consolation.
                         
Heavy on my mind and heart.
The connection seemed broken.
Too much to bear.
                                                                 
But then you came.
Suddenly and without a doubt.
You were there, once again.
                          
Your spirit soaring free.
So close by.
Blue butterfly beside me.
                
And what could be better.
Inside a store!
A perfectly chosen “our kind” of place.
                                                       
A beautiful miracle.
Wrapped in delicate wings of pale shimmering blue.
You circled me, again and again.
                                   
The wonder of the moment.
I embraced and held your spirit.
Close again to my heart.
                           
Love, is never-ending.
It will sustain, inspire and shelter us.
For as long as we live.
And far beyond this earth.
             
***
  “Love is Never Ending” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Dedicated with love to my mom, Helen xxoo
Submitted to OSI for the October 19th prompt: Never Ending
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

29 thoughts on “Love is Never Ending

  1. This poem I connected with very deeply. Thank you for the words which are beautiful and the story – timeless.

  2. There’s a much I could try say in response to this, the heart-touching warmth of your words, but it’s one of those times when any reply doesn’t seem enough. Thank you for sharing this lovely piece full of truth and beauty.

  3. What a beautiful gift from your mom. Very moving G! BIG HUG

  4. I like this part:

    A beautiful miracle.
    Wrapped in delicate wings of pale shimmering blue.

    ooh, how lovely the description and what a beautiful and sweet dedication

  5. How truly poignant and beautiful!
    Brenda

  6. A poignant interpretation of the prompt. Love is, indeed, never ending.

  7. How romantic, Geraldine. Rest in the safety of love. It will always sustain you.

  8. Hi Christine, I’m glad my words were meaningful to you.

    Hi Deborah, You are so kind. These words and emotions are very close to my heart.

    Hi Tammy, I hope she liked it too.Hugsssss right back to you.

    Hi Lissa, My mom’s best/fav color was pale blue, she looked incredible wearing anything in that shade. Her symbol was the butterfly. I truly believe that what happened was a miracle and it was her way of communicating with me, that particular day.

    Hi Brenda, Thanks so much Brenda.

    Hi Anthony, That is one of the true wonders of love, isn’t it?

    Hi Barb, It does indeed sustain.

    Thank you all for stopping by and for your kind words, always appreciated.
    Hugs, G

  9. There are those who believe butterflies are messengers from the spirit world. This is such a moving poem. Its sentiment is as ethereal and delicate as the wings of a butterfly. Such a lovely dedication to your mother.

  10. Your poem is so significant Geraldine. That which sustains us and re-connects us is a wonder. I lost a brother last April. Your poem somehow is a messenger for me. Thanks, Janice

  11. ..”Dedicated with love to my mom, Helen”-this line makes me proud_
    many thanks for a wonderful poem..

  12. Very beautiful poem. You and I were thinking along the same lines but you said it more beautifuler 🙂

  13. Geraldine,
    This is beautiful, poignant, perfect. It takes my breath away as I think of a loved one who is gone. Goodness, gracious. Thanks for giving words to these feelings.

  14. What a sweet poem! I love the photo that goes with it but the sentiment expressed could apply to anyone in any situation of love and loss.

  15. Memory is what keeps us close to so many in our lives.
    Thank you for sharing this.

  16. Brenda just sent me the link to your blog. I recently lost my Mama, too, so I felt every word of that poem. It was absolutely beautiful!

  17. Before I was halfway thru, I knew you were writing of your mom. How beautiful this is…
    You are a very talented gal, Geraldine, and I know she’s looking down proudly at her daughter!
    (((hugs)))

  18. Hi Selma, Butterflies are so amazing, aren’t they? Their transformation, their beauty….for me, they are even more precious.

    Hi Janice, I am truly sorry to read of your brother’s passing. How lovely to think that my poem helped you.

    Hi Zoya, I hope my mom is watching and enjoying my work and I do hope she is proud of me.

    Hi Teric, Your work is very beautiful Teri. Love your mandalas.

    Hi Sandy, This work is straight from the heart. I wanted to include all the events of the day, even the part about being in a store. I’m glad this work has struck a chord with my readers, including you. Your continued support and feedback are always appreciated.

    Hi Kathie, It could and I hope it does.

    Hi Edward, Memories can be so sustaining and helpful; the happy ones.

    Hi Nola, I am so sorry to hear of your mom’s passing. I do hope my poem helped a bit with coping.

    Hi Sallee, Thanks friend, you are so kind.

    Hugs to everyone and thanks so much for your visit and comments, G 🙂

  19. This was so beautiful, you have me crying here. Thanks for sharing your poem.

  20. A wonderful tribute! Hopeful, inspiring and beautiful!

  21. Your poem conjures up poignant memories of those long ago days when I was on the east coast and he was on the west.

    He just walked by my computer to look over my shoulder and ask what I was posting today. Your writing is a treasure of understanding and remembrance.
    ann

  22. What a lovely poetic tribute to your mother. Thanks for stopping by my place and the kind birthday wishes.

  23. i believe your words with all my heart & soul…thank you

  24. A touch across time. Beautiful. 🙂

  25. Hi Sandy, I’m glad this poem touched your heart.

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much!

    Hi Ann, Are you referring to your dad? I like how you related this poem to something that happened to you.

    Hi Willow, Welcome and thank you. Hope you had a wonderful birthday. As I happened to be reading your birthday post at a public computer and someone next to me was also having a birthday that day. How’s that for a coincidence!

    Hi di Bello, I believe them too, no doubts.

    Hi Jason, We transcend the spaces that we are in, don’t we? I know that’s true in my life. Such a comfort.

    Thanks for your visits and comments, always appreciated, G

  26. Your poem ‘resonates’ with me … and the butterfly photo is lovely as well. Thanks for sharing ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  27. Your poem is so beautiful and delicate like that butterfly…

    gorgeous.

  28. Your poem is what i needed today…lost my Mom on Christmas eve…..your poem touched me to my soul..

    thankyou thankyou thankyou…

  29. Hi Storyteller, Just re-reading this poem today. Thank you for your comment. I’m glad this work touched your heart. It brings a tug to mine as I re-read it.

    Hi TexasBlue, Oh what a lovely comment, thanks so much.

    Hi Sue, I am SO glad my words helped you. I am so sorry about your mom’s passing. She is with you today and always.They never leave us. I have no doubt.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

