My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Autumn Haiku

21 Comments

 

the crisp falling leaves
 
nature’s gift of endless hues
 
spellbound by the sight
                              
***
 
 
Written for the OSI prompt for October 26th: gift
 
Please also see “The Forest of My Dreams” directly below this post. Another submission for this and a SES prompt that I wrote a couple of days ago. I love to combine more than one prompt in a poem or story, when that’s possible!
 
This is my first attempt at Haiku poetry. I’ve been enjoying reading haiku poems at so many of the blogs I visit. Such an intriguing and beautiful form of poetry. If you want to give haiku a try, here are some tips that I found helpful: Haiku guidelines
 
Autumn Haiku poem and photo
© 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

21 thoughts on “Autumn Haiku

  1. Spellbound is the perfect word for it – what a lovely poetic and photographic moment!

  2. How rich and beautiful and subtle, Geraldine. You have given us two masterpieces in image and text. Thanks.

  3. Your first attempt? But you accomplished it so masterfully! Just perfect, Geraldine! I suspect it shall not be your last!

  4. Beautiful words and pic. The variation of colours and shades this time of year is truly a gift.

  5. First, let me say what a glorious, luminous photo you’ve chosen for the masthead of your blog! Also thanks for the link to information about Haiku — it was extraordinarily freeing, as I was taught about Haiku by a mathematics teacher 40 years ago, who insisted on the 5-7-5 scheme. Finally, wonderful jewel in the short poem, and a lovely dream in the long poem.

  6. I was in a haiku club. I love them and I knew you would do well with it. There are so many cool types, like Tanka. HUG

  7. Great photo and beautiful haiku, perfect autumn feel!

  8. You’re off to a great haiku start! This is a lovely poem and photo.

  9. I would love to be able to write haiku but sadly, it was not meant to be. This is a glorious piece. You have captured the feeling of Autumn so well!

  10. ..beautiful ..many thanks..

  11. Dear Geraldine–
    I love the photo–the subtly of the purple hue–oh my.
    Loved the haiku as well–
    Thanks!

  12. Your haiku is perfect for this time of year.
    ann

  13. Hi Deborah, That’s how I feel when I am surrounded by the beauty of this season, spellbound. Thank you for your kind words.

    Hi Sandy, What a wonderful and most appreciated compliment. Thanks for your continued support dear friend.

    Hi Barb, Reading your haiku poems has been so inspiring! Part of the incentive I needed to try something new. Thanks Barb!

    Hi Tony, I thought this was an amazing pic with some pale mauve on the leaves as well. Wow! Does it get any better than Autumn?

    Hi Sue, Welcome to MPP and thank you so much. I think haiku has so much to offer and I found reading about the ‘rules’ and all the different types of haiku, so helpful. There’s more to it than meets the eye, isn’t there? 😉 I still need to hone my skills but I think it’s going to be a wonderful new writing experience to enjoy.

    Hi Tammy, I’ll have to check out the Tanka versions of haiku. A club for haiku, how cool!!!

    Hi Fenny, It’s not hard to find inspiration this time of year, is it?

    Hi Raven, I love your haiku poems too. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Selma, I am sure you would do a great job writing haiku. You are a very gifted writer with such a range of talents. You should definitely give haiku a try. I hope to see some haiku poems at your blogs.

    Hi Zoya, Thank you!

    Hi Beth, Isn’t that mauve shade amazing! Thanks for your visit and kind words.

    Hi Ann, Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it Ann.

    Thank you for your encouraging comments and your continued support. Much appreciated. 🙂 Hugs, G

  14. spellbound, for sure…the colors are magnificent and your words are superb!

  15. Great first haiku. You definitely understand the spirit of the haiku. Thank you for the gift of this poem.

  16. That is a good one, Geraldine. You are a natural.

  17. Hi Sue, I thought spellbound was a perfect choice for words. Thanks so much for your kind words, most appreciated.

    Hi Pam, I think haiku at first glance is deceptively simple. It actually has so many ‘layers’ doesn’t it? I like that aspect. Also how succinct and important every single word is. I’ve tried another one already, in my post above.

    No wonder there are haiku blogs abounding on the internet. I already have had many searches for “Autumn Haiku” poems that stopped in at MPP. Always nice to welcome new readers.

    Hi Sandy, So appreciated coming from you. YOU are a natural! I love reading all your haiku poems and other posts too.

    Thanks so much for your visit and comments.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week, G 🙂

  18. I am spellbound by the photograph. Gorgeous, so very gorgeous. And it’s really your first haiku? Spellbinding.

  19. g, it is lovely…you have perfectly placed the haiku… it is truly beautiful in it’s simplicity..capturing autumn just as it is… and, yes, that photo is spellbinding…

  20. wow!!!! if this is your first, i cannot wait to see more! for this southern coast dweller transplanted from the north, i give you much gratitude for your peak of the beauty of autumn, conjuring memories from my childhood of a season i love!

  21. Hi Patois, I loved this photo! The colors were so amazing, especially the bit of mauve. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Pie, Thank you so much. It’s not hard to be inspired by this amazing season!

    Hi di bello, Lovely compliment, thank you so much.

    Hugs and hope you are all enjoying a wonderful Autumn, G

Thank you for your comments!

