My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Sun Butterfly

18 Comments

                              
warmth of summer sun
                                     
butterfly basks in the glow
                                                  
breaks free, flies alone
                                                          
***
                                                              
Written for the SES prompt: Sky Full of Butterflies.
                                      
“Sun Butterfly” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
                                  
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

18 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Sun Butterfly

  1. What a beautifully colored butterfly! Never seen one like that before!
    Brenda

  2. Oh what stunning Haiku. I love how you have delicately addressed the idea that freedom may require some time alone. This is so beautifully paired with the image as well – even down to the font color – a very evocative post. Thanks for the wonderful read!!

  3. A lovely haiku and a very nice response to the prompt too.

  4. There is both fragility and strength in this piece. And just sheer beauty. What an exquisite haiku.

  5. What we can do when we are strengthened! This touches my heart, makes me want to take flight. Thanks, Geraldine.

  6. Beautifully worded. That old sun allows such beauty to exist.

  7. What a lovely haiku and photo. I love the idea of ‘busking in the sun’.

  8. Hi Brenda, I thought this was an incredible photo!

    Hi Kayt, Thanks dear Kayt, I really appreciate your continued support and feedback. I love writing haiku and try to make the whole ‘package’ beautiful, tranquil and memorable too. Glad you like what I’ve done with this one.

    Hi Paul, Thank you so much and welcome to MPP.

    Hi Selma, That is exactly what I hoped to convey. Thanks for your very kind words.

    Hi Sandy, And sometimes we need time to recover our strength, to bask in the sun and warm ourselves again. Thanks Sandy.

    Hi Tony, It does indeed!

    Hi Carole, Basking in the sun right now sounds like a good plan. 😉

    Hugs and thanks so much for stopping in, G

  9. What an unusual butterfly and lovely Haiku!
    Hugs and blessings,

  10. What seems delicate can still be strong and beautiful. Yes!

    Cup o noodles, TV dinners and cereal are driving me nuts, you’re hired. Maybe a few EASY & FAST recipes? lol

    HUGS

  11. Geraldine, wonderful haiku. I agree with kayt and would add that as well as freedom requiring alone time it also requires effort “breaks free”
    Thanks. DavidM

  12. one must sometimes has to fly alone to find themselves, freedom is not an easy thing to grasp even if you’re not a butterfly

  13. Hi Storyteller, Thanks so much. It is an amazing butterfly, isn’t it?

    Hi Tammy, Gotcha! I will send over my recipe archives link. If I can’t get there in person, that’s the next best thing in terms of cooking LOL…

    Hi Raven, Thank you and nice to ‘see’ you again.

    Hi David, Sometimes the will to break free is hard to find even if our ‘comfort’ zone is no longer serving it’s purpose. I hear you.

    Hi Lissa, Good points Lissa, thanks.

    Hope everyone has a wonderful day and thanks for your visits to MPP, G

  14. Hi Geraldine,
    Just going for a wander, which I’ve got a tendency to do, I’m sure that I’ve been ‘blessed’ discovering all of this beauty.

    I actually perceived this as pictures of contrast. The Butterfly ‘facing down’ the cold, wintr’y conditions of a frozen landscape (the picture above) and ‘declaring’, “I WILL fly and I WILL bask!”

  15. Definitely a the ‘whole package’ is very beautiful. And I think point out an important truth that we can become so ‘comfortable’ with things and situations not serving us that we just stay put. David’s comment on effort seems right on target as well. Really thought provoking…

  16. Wonderful haiku, Geraldine. Beautiful image and colour. Loved the last line; break free to be alone. Hmmm. Good take on the prompt! Thanks, Autumn

  17. Hi Chris, It is an interesting and beautiful photo, I agree.

    Hi Kayt, I appreciate the feedback Kayt. Staying put and getting ‘stale’ about life is not the best route, ever. Change IS the only thing that truly moves things forward, I believe.

    Hi Autumn, thank you so much.

    Thanks for your continued support and comments, G

Thank you for your comments!

