My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Thanksgiving Encore

9 Comments

All together now…..YUMMMMM!!!!!    😉

Wanted to re-visit and share an encore post that I wrote last Thanksgiving Day (the Canadian one in October ) over at my other blog: Veggies, Crafts and Tails. It includes some of my thoughts on Thanksgiving Day and how Joe and I like to commemorate the day. Also, in a more general sense, how I try to be thankful for all the good things and people in my life, every single day.

This post has been getting a LOT of hits again this year and I thought perhaps some of my new readers at MPP would enjoy reading this one too.

I included the recipe for these yummy cookies from my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians. So much better to bake your own and easier than trying to dip one of these in coffee or tea, via your computer screen.   😉

Happy Thanksgiving Day wherever you are!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

9 thoughts on “A Thanksgiving Encore

  1. Hi Geraldine,
    I’ve left a comment on your ‘Veggies’ site, but its awaiting moderation which seems to happen to mine quite often for some reason.
    Anyhow, you have got a lot to ‘answer for’ ‘assailing’ me with pictures of cranberry filled, chocolate chip cookies! 😉
    Whatever happened to your much renowned empathy?

  2. Hi Geraldine,
    Now that this year’s Thanksgiving has passed I would like to give you
    “A Thanksgiving Encore” thought that ‘popped up’ over this morning’s coffee.
    I think that I’ve worked out what the name of our ‘family’ really is…………….”The Light Brigade”.
    “When can their glory fade? O the wild charge they made!”
    “Into the valley of Death”
    “Cannon to right of them, cannon to left of them, cannon in front of them, volley’d and thunder’d.”
    Tennyson must have known about ‘us’!

    The only difference is, this time, the Heavy Cavalry (Anthony) are charging in support.

    Whoa!, this is a strange one, I must have had too many wines last night. 🙂

    In reality, our group (that have gravitated together) are like a tropical island of sanity basking in the sun, a bastion of peace, in a sea of madness.
    Lucky, aren’t we?

  3. They sound delicious!! And I will try them and look forward the yummmy taste test. Thanks so much for sharing!
    ann

  4. They look delicious! I’m getting into the baking frame of mind myself.
    Brenda

  5. Thanks for this touch of warmth and hospitality on a cold end of November day!

  6. They look really delicious, Geraldine. I’m going to try them!

  7. Hi Chris, You’ve lost me there Chris, interesting thoughts though…

    Hi Ann, And do let me know how you like them. These are a fav recipe at book signings. I guess you could call them a real “crowd pleaser” 😉

    Hi Brenda, Ditto Ann’s comment!

    Hi Sandy, Nothing like home baking to feel the love/warmth eh? 😉

    Hi Selma, Hope you do.

    Happy cooking and hope you all have a wonderful, productive week, G

  8. Thanks, these look just yummy. One of those things that you say oh I will have just one and then it turns into four. It’s that time of year to be grateful and enjoy goodies.

  9. Thanks for the great post and it looks like the cookies will be exceptional. I agree – baking some will be much easier than trying to get my monitor into my coffee cup – the photo of them looks delicious though – my stomach is rumbling 😉

Thank you for your comments!

